Skip to main content

Mary Randolph Blain Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00032

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Scope and Contents

This collection contains two letters written by Mary Randolph Blain during the Civil War. In the first letter, circa 1862 December, Blain wrote about  Union troops patrolling Williamsburg, the College being set on fire, as well as news about local residents such as Mrs. Tucker, Mary Southall, and Thomas Ambler, rector of Bruton Parish Church. The second letter, dated 1863 March 31, described the fire at the Wren Building, news about family, and Union troops stealing goods from Williamsburg area residents. Transcriptions of the two letters provided by the donor are also included.

Dates

  • Creation: 1862, 1863

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Additional Description

Acquisition Information:

Acc. 2015.054 was received by Special Collections from the donor on 3/3/2015.

Related Materials:

See also the Cynthia Beverly Tucker Washington Coleman Papers.

Information about related materials is available at http://guides.swem.wm.edu/civilwar

Processing Information:

Accessioned and minimally processed by Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist, in March 2015.

Subjects

Finding Aid & Administrative Information

Title
Guide to the Mary Randolph Blain Letters
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist.
Date
2015-03-17
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: