Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Slavery--Virginia--History

 Subject
Subject Source: Local sources

Found in 9 Collections and/or Records:

Confederate Currency, Receipts, and Plat

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00060
Scope and Contents Five Confederate Bills, ranging from $5.00 to $100.00 in currency.  All bills are issued 1864.  Also two notes from the city of Richmond for $.50 and $.75 dated April 14, 1862.  Various receipts for dry goods, clothing, and debts.  Also included among these receipts is a promissory note for the sum of $180.00 for the hire of two negro slaves, January 5, 1844.  Land deed plot is for Reuben Jordan's estate dated February 20, 1835. Exact plat location is unknown in Virginia.

Richard Lee Morton Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 90 M84
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1930-1969, of Richard Lee Morton, professor of history at the College of William and Mary from 1919 to 1959. Series 1 includes personal and professional correspondence, lectures and notes relating to his research on Virginia history, and material relating to his community activities in Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence of his wife Estelle (Dinwiddie) Morton, land grants, 1756 and 1774, signed by Robert Dinwiddie and Lord Dunmore, Confederate currency and bonds,...

Nelson and Amherst Counties, Va. Tax Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV T1
Scope and Contents Tax account, 1812, of Nelson and Amherst counties, Virginia. The book contains an account, 1826-1848, of the settling of the estate of Hudson Martin (including the record of the sale of slaves).

Joseph Keith Newell Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00652
Scope and Contents Diary, 19 March 1862 to 24 August 1862, of Joseph Keith Newell, a captain of the 10th Massachusetts Infantry during the Civil War. Diary runs from March to August of 1862, and describes the life of a Union soldier during the Peninsula Campaign. Describes his trip down the Potomac River from Washington, D.C., to Hampton, Virginia. Also includes a description of the Battle of Williamsburg, 5 May 1862, as well as his observations of the College of William & Mary. Newell also describes his...

Perrin Family Bibles

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 93 P42
Scope and Contents Consists of three Bibles owned by the Perrin family; a 1751, 1819, and 1838 editions that contain family information and genealogy back to the 1740s. The 1751 Bible contains a list of slave children births and ages.

E. A. Preston Letter to Judith Merriweather

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01532
Scope and Contents Three page letter to cousin about Preston's slaves being ill, mentioning that they "lost one fine girl" out of their slaves to illness. Addresses inquiries about buying "good land" and "good Negroes" in the country, talks about the settlement of Texas and how "many from Virginia are moving to Texas" and how a fine society might develop there. Preston writes that the slaves "will occasion great distress in this country some time, and not at a distant period." Postscript mentions that land and...

Venable Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 V55
Scope and Contents Chiefly letters, 1801-1809, received by Samuel Woodson Venable of Prince Edward County, Va. Correspondents in the collection incude his brothers, Abraham Bedford Venable, Richard N. Venable and William Lewis Venable. Subjects include tobacco prices, buying slaves and growing hemp.

Virginia Counties Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.

William Coe Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00351
Scope and Contents The diary of William Coe, a minister from the Shenandoah Valley, dates his entries from May 29, 1862 to August 13, 1862. He writes about the Seven Days and Cedar Mountain battles and shifts in area from Confederate to Union control. He discusses slavery, specifically his slave who marries a free woman, as well as the death and burial of a slave who was his servant's mother.