Skip to main content

Conway D. Whittle letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01857

  • Staff Only

Content Description

Letter to Richmond, Virginia slave traders Davis, Deupree and Co., from Virginia physician Conway Davies Whittle inquiring about the rates of sale of 24 enslaved persons owned by Whittle. Age, gender, complexion, and skills are mentioned to describe the enslaved people.

Dates

  • Creation: 1860 November 2

Conditions Governing Access

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Curator of Manuscripts and Rare Books, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical / Historical

Conway Davies Whittle (1809-1891) was the son of Virginia merchant and buisnessman Fortescue Whittle. He was raised on a plantation in Mecklenburg County, Virginia and attended the University of Pennsylvania. After attending university, he returned to Virginia to pratice as a physician and dentist.

Davis, Dupree & Co., was owned and operated by William S. Deupree. The company opened in 1860 for the primary purpose of selling enslaved people. William S. Deupree died in a land mine explosion during the Civil War (1861-1865)

Extent

.01 Linear Feet (1 legal size folder)

Language

English

Arrangement

Collection is arranged by item.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Purchased with the Nelle Richardson Tonkin Fund.

Title
Guide to the Conway D. Whittle letter
Status
Completed
Author
William & Mary Special Collections Research Center staff
Date
2023 November
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: