Skip to main content

Jones Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 J71

Scope and Contents

Papers, 1826-1916, of the Jones family of "Land's End," Gloucester County, Virginia, and related families of Curtis, Taliaferro, Page and Harrison. Includes correspondence, genealogical notes, obituaries, legal files, real estate material, notes concerning Land's End, Petsworth Parish (Gloucester County), Yorktown, and the homes of the Cringan family and the Mackenzie family, ; and Bible records of the Jones and Fauntleroy families.

The first two accessions, which compose the bulk of the material, are gifts of Mrs. Jackson  L. Fray, Jr.

Addition Mss. Acc. 1955.001 was given by Maria Talcott, but the material deals with the same family, so it has been included with the Fray gift accessions.  She was a first cousin of Mary Fauntleroy Cocke Fray and granddaughter of Harriet Jones and Charles Curtis.

Mary Fauntleroy Cocke Fray was the daughter of William Fauntleroy Cocke and great granddaughter of Harriet Jones and Charles Curtis.  The 1969 accessions are family papers and documents from both the Jones and Curtis families with some material relating to the Cocke family.

Harriet's parents were Richard and Martha Washington Throckmorton Jones and her siblings were William Langborne, Mary Lanborne, Lucy Ann (married Mann Page), John James Emanuel, Richard P. (married Maria Greenhow Curtis) and Warner Throckmorton Jones (never married and lived with both his Curtis relations through the years).  Harriet Jones Curtis's children were Martha, Harriet, Lucy, Mary, Fanny and Charles Curtis.

Dates

  • 1826-1916

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

1.75 Linear Feet

Arrangement of Materials:

Subseries were not used with this collection due to difficulty separating papers into their family of origin. When possible, the papers have been grouped either by recipient or creator, whether individual or family. Most of the correspondence is arranged chronologically and is a mix of the Jones, Curtis, Taliaferro, Page and related families. Most envelopes were missing which made it difficult to ascertain not only who received the letters, but who wrote them.

Acquisition Information:

Gifts of 1969 and 1976 were made by Mrs. Jackson L. Fray, Jr. Mss. Acc. 1955.001 is a gift of Maria Talcott.

Related Materials:

Mss. 39.1 J75  Warner T. Jones Papers Mss. 65 Ar6 Armistead-Cocke Family Papers

Processing Information:

Further processing and completion of inventory done by Anne Johnson in 2011.
Title
Guide to the Jones Family Papers
Author
Special Collections Staff.
Date
2007-07-25
Language of description
English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: