Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 28
Papers and correspondence of three generations of the Brown Family of Virginia: Frances (Fanny) Bland Coalter Brown and her husband, Henry Peronneau Brown (1838-1888), J. Thompson and Cassie Tucker Brown (1890-1920) and Frances Bland Brown and Fleming Sanders (1921-1964).
Martin Parks Burks was the deputy sheriff of Bedford County, Virginia. Chiefly accounts, receipts, and business letters of Martin P. Burks, 1798-1866, including records while he was deputy sheriff of Bedford County, Virginia.
Papers, chiefly 1858-1889, of the Calfee family of southwest Virginia. Includes letters written from Texas by Calvin J. Calfee and letters written by Confederate soldiers David H. Calfee, James Calfee, L. S. Calfee and William B. Calfee as well as deeds for land in Pulaski and Wythe counties, Virginia. 431 items.
Correspondence and accounts of Alexander Mathews Davis, lawyer of Grayson County, Va. Includes several Civil War letters.
Papers, 1814-1907, of the Lambert and Sheetz families of Augusta and Shenandoah counties. Include papers of Daniel H. Lambert, Staunton, Va. including his orders as a conscript in the Confederate Army in 1864 and his Oath of Allegiance to the United States in July 1865. Also include letters received by James and Joseph L. Sheetz, Woodstock, Shenandoah County and a single page extra newspaper issued by The Valley Virginian at the time of the riot, 3 November 1883,in Danville, Va.
An artificial collection of manuscripts collected by Francis Little. Includes contract, 1770, binding William Byrd III to payment of money in a case involving Robert Carter (signed by William Byrd, John Jameson, George Wythe and Thomas Walne); letter, 1812, of William Henry Harrison to Return Jonathan Meigs concerning an expedition against Tecumseh; grant, 1822, for land in Ohio signed by James Monroe; grant, 1837, for land in Ohio; and two Civil War letters.
An artificial collection of papers created from material acquired during the 1930's and 1940's. Mostly letters, financial records, published material and official records of individuals in Virginia and elsewhere. Includes documents and signatures of well known people, such as Benjamin Harrison, John Randolph and Franklin D. Roosevelt.
Civil War correspondence, passes and orders relating to 1st Lieutenant William H.E. Morecock of the 32nd Virginia Volunteer Regiment. Legal documents of William H. E. Morecock, mostly concerning the lawsuit in Williamsburg and James City County, McCandlish vs Warburton, during 1851 to 1853. Correspondence and financial records of the Board of Visitors of the College of William and Mary while William H.E. Morecock was Secretary of the Board, 1877-1890.
Photographs, postcards, election material and family material of the Roane Family of Gloucester County, Virginia. Collection centers on the Roane Family, but also has material on Gloucester, Virginia organizations such as the Historical Society and Virginia organizations, such as the Clerk of Courts Association, and regional organizations, such as the Rotary Club.
Letters, receipts and legal papers of U. S. Senator Thomas S. Martin relating chiefly to his law practice in Charlottesville and Scottsville, Va.