Calfee Family Papers
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
Papers, chiefly 1858-1889, of the Calfee family of southwest Virginia. Includes letters written from Texas by Calvin J. Calfee and letters written by Confederate soldiers David H. Calfee, James Calfee, L. S. Calfee and William B. Calfee as well as deeds for land in Pulaski and Wythe counties, Virginia. 431 items.
Dates
- Creation: 1812-1919
- Creation: Majority of material found in 1859-1889
Creator
- Calfee family (Family)
- Calfee, Calvin J. (Person)
- Calfee, David H. (Person)
- Calfee, James (Person)
- Calfee, L. S. (Person)
- Calfee, William B. (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Family History:
Extent
1.0 Linear Feet
Arrangement of Materials:
Arrangement: This collection is arranged into series, then alphabetically by person's name, and finally chronologically by date. Organization: This collection has been organized into 4 series: 1. Correspondence 2. Vouchers 3. Legal Papers 4. Other Papers.
Acquisition Information:
Purchased: 431 items, 07/02/1938.
General
Other Information:
Additional information may be found at http://ead.lib.virginia.edu/vivaead/published/wm/viw00033.frame
Subject
- Calfee family (Family)
- Title
- Guide to the Calfee Family Papers
- Author
- Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
- Date
- 2007-06-09
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository