Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 326 - 350 of 433

Parke Shepherd Rouse, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 71 R75
Scope and Contents Professional and personal papers of Parke Shepherd Rouse, Jr. who was a newspaper writer and columnist and an author of books on Virginia. His personal correspondence covers his college years at Washington and Lee University; his years in the Navy during World War II; his early career while working in Richmond, Virginia and Newport News, Virginia; and his business affairs. His college and Navy letters include not only the letters he wrote home, but the letters he received from...
Dates: 1930-1998

Sara Spotswood Royall Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1996.27
Scope and Contents Notebook of newspaper clippings and jottings of Sara Spottswood Royall of Petersburg, Va. Clippings pertain to the Business and Professional Women's Club of Petersburg, Va. Collection includes correspondence, speech, photograph, copies of her obituary and materials relating to Samuel F. Royall's service in World War I in the United States Army. Additions to the collection are the obituaries of Samuel F. Royall, Jr., a Williamsburg, Va. printer, correspondence, clippings, publications, and...
Dates: 1900-1983

John Ruskin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00926
Scope and Contents

Letter, 27 January 1887, from John Ruskin to Eva Layton concerning a visit by Layton; photograph of "Brentwood," Coniston, Eng.; photograph of John Ruskin; and a typescript concerning Constance Layton and Eva Layton.

Dates: 1884-1887

Mary Mackey Sainsbury Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.077
Scope and Contents

The collection includes three scrapbooks Mary Mackey Sainsbury compiled during her years at the College of William and Mary. The scrapbooks include various material related to sororities and Greek life on campus, athletic tickets, postcards, news clippings, correspondence, photographs, and related material.

Dates: 1936-1940; Majority of material found in 1936-1940

Sarah Stetson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00136
Scope and Contents

Correspondence, 1947-1955, with libraries, historical societies, and descendants about Samuel Vaughan (1720-1802) and his sons Benjamin Vaughan, Charles Vaughan, and John Vaughan. The collection includes photostats, microfilm, and slides. Sarah P. Stetson collected material with the intention of writing a full-length biography.

Dates: 1947-1955

Harry and Anna Saxer Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.136
Scope and Contents In 1949 Harry Saxer, a Pennsylvania steel executive, and his wife Anna Saxer traveled to Germany to assist U. S. military officials with the restoration of Germany's steel industry after World War II.  The Saxers were in Germany for much of 1949.  Harry Saxer was a civilian employee of  the U. S. Army, and worked with the Combined Steel Group in Germany.They assembled two scrapbooks (Acc. 2009.136) to document their stay in Germany. Some of the predominant formats included are...
Dates: 1949

Rev. Samuel Huntting Sayre, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.43
Scope and Contents Personal, family and ministerial correspondence of Rev. Samuel H. Sayre.  His personal diaries from 1918 to 1963, his sermons and notes are included in this collection.  There are family and other personal photographs and many postcard and tourist packet photographs from his trips to Europe and his automobile trips from California to Virginia.  Publication material includes church bulletins, news clippings, tourist pamphlets, magazines and others.  His family correspondence possibly has more...
Dates: 1874-1989; Majority of material found in 1920-1960

Howard Scammon Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1992.38 and additions
Scope and Contents This collection consists of correspondence, clippings, photographs, programs, playbooks and other material collected by William and Mary Theatre professor Howard Scammon. The bulk of the material is correspondence between Scammon and his former students, but the papers also include documentation related to the William and Mary Theatre, The Common Glory, the Jamestown Festival of 1957, other Williamsburg theatre groups and famous William and Mary alumni such as Glenn Close and Linda Lavin. ...
Dates: 1917-1994; Majority of material found in 1940-1970

Science Fiction and Fantasy Club Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.062
Scope and Contents This collection contains the records of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Club at William & Mary, also known as "Skiffy." Included in the collection are announcements, fliers, scrapbooks of dance parties and events; copies of the newsletters "A" and "Semi-Colon;" photographs of club events; and several issues of the comic "FAANS," created by T. Campbell, a William & Mary alum who based some of the elements in the comic on Skiffy. More information about the club can be found on its...
Dates: 1975-2002; Majority of material found within 1990-2002

Scientific Inventions and Natural History Oddities Photographs

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01162
Scope and Contents Six photographs with typed descriptions on the reverse. Photographed by Underwood and Underwood of New York and Washington, D.C. Appear to be part of press releases. Includes "A tree-climbing fish" (Queer Fish 8x10), "Human Skulls 20,000 Years Old" (Skulls 8 x 10), "Famous Diamonds of History Reproduced" (Famous Diamonds 8x10), model of the first all steel lighthouse: "Lighthouse" (5x7), testing automobile headlights: "Testing Headlights" (5x7), supplies standards for lamp...
Dates: 1924-1926

Scottish Coalition USA Archives

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.13
Scope and Contents

The Scottish Coalition USA Archives is a collection of ephemera, publications and records of the eight Scottish Heritage organizations. The 8 groups are:  Association of Saint Andrew's Societies; The American-Scottish Foundation; The Caledonian Foundation, USA; Scottish Heritage, USA; International Association of Tartan Studies; The Living Legacy of Scotland, Inc. and The Association of Scottish Games and Festivals.  This collection is ongoing.

Dates: 1980-2011

Scrapbook of Campus Life

 Collection
Identifier: UA 78
Scope and Contents

A soft black leather album with a stylized "W&M" on the cover containing pictures of William and Mary students, faculty, buildings, and events.

Dates: 1915-1920

Scrapbook of the Portait  William III Arrives at Torbay

 Collection
Identifier: UA 332
Scope and Contents

This collection is a scrapbook describing the history and development of the historical portrait William III Arrives at Torbay. The painting hangs in the Board of Visitors meeting room in Blow Hall and was executed by Pete Peltison. The album includes a typed account of the making of the work.

Dates: 1997

Molly Elliot Seawell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1995.36
Scope and Contents The papers of American writer Molly Elliot Seawell include personal diaries, correspondence, memoirs, photographs, news clippings, and other materials. Also included are photocopies of Seawell's business papers housed at the New York Public Library and at the Columbia University Library. The collection also contains other records from the Seawell family, mostly relating to Molly's aunt Maria Seawell Edwards, John T. Seawell and wife Isabella Josephine Brady, and Philip Hairston Seawell. The...
Dates: 1859-2001; Majority of material found in 1889-1916

S. Louise Seymour Scrapbooks

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.051
Scope and Contents Acc. 1983.028: Loose pages of an unbound scrapbook that include newspaper clippings, theater programs and tickets, convocation programs, a ticket to a lecture given at Phi Beta Kappa Hall by Robert Frost, a handbook of the Women Students' Cooperative Government Association, a registration card for spring 1940 classes, a program from the 1943 inauguration of John E. Pomfret as President of the College, and other materials. Acc. 1994.079: Scrapbook containing news clippings, a...
Dates: 1939-1943

Frank Shatz Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00361
Scope and Contents Correspondence and papers of Frank Shatz of Lake Placid, New York and Williamsburg, Virginia, 1965-2009. Subject matter of the collection is foreign policy, the Lake Placid Council on Foreign Policy, public funding for libraries and public television and radio, the endowment of the Reves Center for International Studies at the College of William and Mary and more. Includes Frank Shatz's World Focus columns from the Virginia Gazette.Cassette tapes in all the accessions have been...
Dates: 1965-2014

Shaw Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.460
Scope and Contents Papers of the Shaw family of Skidmore, Missouri. Included are a scrapbook, 1941, of Edna Shaw (b. 1920) documenting her travels through some of the southern states where she directed the comedy "Bubbling Over," which was sponsored by the American Legion. It includes postcards and extensive handwritten descriptions by Edna Shaw, programs, and news clippings reviewing the play. Also included are a class photograph, 1900, presented to Edna's mother Hazel by her teacher, a 1904...
Dates: circa 1900-1963

Charles Mills Sheldon Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 S3
Scope and Contents Correspondence, clippings, photographs, and papers of Charles Mills Sheldon (1866-1928), British illustrator and war correspondent. Letters were written primarily to his wife, Grace, of London, and often contain detailed descriptions of his experiences abroad. Some of the topics discussed in his correspondence include the Sudan (1896), Cuba (1898), the Spanish-American War, Egypt during the opening of the Aswan Dam (1902), the Durbar in India (1903), and Spain (1906) during the royal wedding...
Dates: 1862, 1895-1928; Majority of material found in 1895-1928

Caroline Baytop Sinclair Scrapbook, 1923-1924

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.089
Scope and Contents

The scrapbook of William & Mary student Caroline Baytop Sinclair includes photographs of campus life and buildings including the visit of President Warren Harding to campus, news clippings, programs, tickets, corsages and other memorabilia, and related material compiled by Sinclair.

Dates: 1923-1924

Sinfonicron Light Opera Company records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.046
Scope and Contents

This collection contains clippings, programs, photographs, and other material produced by the Sinfonicron Light Opera Company at William & Mary. Included in the records are photographs of productions such as 42nd Street, City of Angels, Gondoliers, and Iolanthe. A scrapbook of programs from the first production in 1965 through 1992 is also included in this collection. Sinfonicron is a student-run company that puts on one opera production a year, usually during the Spring Semester.

Dates: 1965-[ongoing]

Sixty-Seventh Field Hospital Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.35
Scope and Contents

The 67th Field Hospital Collection contains documents and photographs depicting the history of the 67th Field Hospital during the European Theater of World War II and the 17 reunions of the 67th Field Hospital held from 1986 to 2002.

Dates: 1943-2002; Majority of material found in 1943-1946 and 1986-2002

Stan Skalski Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00078
Scope and Contents This collection consists of letters, 1966-1968, written by Stan Skalski to his fiancee Caren Brereton in Philadelphia. The majority of the letters concern Skalski's basic training as a Private First Class for the U.S. Army at Fort Jackson, Georgia and Fort Gordon, Georgia, and later his airborne training at Fort Benning, Georgia and Fort Bragg, North Carolina. Skalski describes various training exercises and his overall acclimation to army life, but also writes at length about personal...
Dates: 1966-1968

Robert Skipwith Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Sk4
Scope and Contents Diaries, 1834-1898, of Robert Skipwith kept in Goochland County, Va., Richmond, Va. and Powhatan County, Va. Much of Skipwith's life is documented by these 14 diaries and topics include weather, personal affairs (the loss of his wife, and his aging), farming, social life in his neighborhood, the Civil War, Reconstruction, and Virginia politics. He often included genealogical information on individuals when he recorded their deaths. Skipwith's 1862-1865 diary has been digitized...
Dates: 1834-1898

Robert Skipwith Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01265
Scope and Contents Letters, photographs, and genealogical information, ca. 1900, concerning the Bolling family and deafness. Includes letter, 1900, of Robert Skipwith to Mrs. Annie C. Pratt, employee of Dr. Alexander Graham Bell who was studying deafness as connected with education and the Bolling and Skipwith families; twentieth century copy photographs of older images of Mary R. Bolling, deaf-mute daughter of William Bolling, Jane Rolfe Bolling Skipwith, and Robert Skipwith; and data concerning Bell's work...
Dates: 1900

Martha Virginia Sleet Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.037
Scope and Contents The Martha Virginia Sleet Collection contains correspondence, photographs, and student publications collected by Martha Virginia Sleet while she was a student at William & Mary. Included in the collection are various issues of the student newspaper, The Flat Hat, an issue of The Scalper that contains information about fraternities and sororities on campus in 1925, and William & Mary football programs from the 1920s. In addition, the collection includes donations of materials that...
Dates: 1925-1936

Filtered By

  • Subject: Photographs X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Photographs 399
Correspondence 203
Scrapbooks 89
Programs 61
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 57
∨ more
College of William and Mary--Students 55
Diaries 52
Clippings (information artifacts) 50
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 49
Financial records 48
Letters (correspondence) 37
Legal documents 36
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 34
Reports 33
Certificates 29
Minutes 29
Postcards 28
Printed ephemera 28
Publications 28
Notebooks 27
Newspapers 26
Receipts (financial records) 24
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 23
World War, 1939-1945 23
Fliers (printed matter) 21
Pamphlets 21
Genealogy 19
Negatives 18
Account books 17
Slides (photographs) 17
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 17
Manuscripts (document genre) 16
Speeches 16
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 16
Virginia--Genealogy 15
Women college students 15
Invitations 14
Newsletters 14
Poems 14
Photocopies 13
Agendas (administrative records) 12
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 12
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 11
World War, 1914-1918 11
Athletics 10
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 10
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 10
Typescripts 10
Women--Diaries 10
Carte de visite photographs 9
Maps 9
Posters 9
Speeches, addresses, etc. 9
Video recordings 9
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 9
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 9
African Americans 8
African Americans--Virginia--Photographs 8
Business records 8
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 8
Jamestown Festival (1957) 8
Sound Recordings 8
Student Life--1920s 8
United States--Politics and Government 8
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 8
Broadsides 7
Cabinet photographs 7
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 7
Greeting cards 7
Obituaries 7
Photograph albums 7
Playbills 7
Press releases 7
Research notes 7
Stereoscopic photographs 7
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 7
Virginia--History--20th century 7
Virginia--Religious history 7
Women--Education--Virginia 7
Women--History--Virginia 7
Women--Travel 7
Yearbooks 7
Booklets 6
Class materials 6
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 6
Engravings (Prints) 6
Plays (document genre) 6
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 6
Student Activities--Dances 6
Student Life--1930's 6
Student Life--1940's 6
Theater 6
Transcripts 6
Virginia--History--19th century 6
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 6
Virginia--Social life and customs--20th century 6
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 6
World War, 1939-1945--European Front 6
World War, 1939-1945--Women--United States 6
Yorktown (Va.)--History--20th century 6
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 429
German 10
French 8
Chinese 3
Japanese 3
∨ more  
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 45
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 42
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 13
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 13
College of William and Mary. 11
∨ more
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 9
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 9
College of William and Mary 8
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 7
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 7
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 5
Choir and Chorus 4
College of William and Mary. School of Business Administration 4
College of William and Mary. School of Education 4
Democratic Party (U.S.) 4
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 4
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 4
Republican Party (U.S.) 4
Scammon, Howard, 1911-1999 4
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
American Red Cross 3
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities 3
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 3
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 3
Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 3
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 3
Landrum, Grace Warren, 1876-1951 3
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 3
Office of the President 3
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 3
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Swem family 3
Verkuil, Paul R 3
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Barksdale, Martha, 1900-1974 2
Barlowe, Cynthia Beverly Tucker Kimbrough 2
Bland family 2
Booth family 2
Boy Scouts of America 2
Bozarth family 2
Bushnell, David Ives, Jr., 1875-1941 2
Catlett family 2
Cheek, Leslie, 1908-1992 2
Close, Glenn, 1947- 2
College of William and Mary--Baseball 2
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors. 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Biology 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Fine Arts 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Psychology 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Sociology 2
College of William and Mary. Staff 2
Colonial Echo 2
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 2
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969 2
Episcopal Church 2
Ford, Gerald R., 1913-2006 2
Galt family 2
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 2
Gary Alonzo Barranger 2
Godwin, Edwin Mills, Jr., 1914-1999 2
Goodwin, William Archer Rutherfoord, 1869-1939 2
Green, Paul, 1894-1981. Common Glory 2
Gregg family 2
Grigsby, Hugh Blair, 1806-1881 2
Guy family 2
Hall, John Lesslie, Jr., 1891-1978 2
Hamilton, Frances H., 1928-2008 2
Hampton College (Hampton, Va.) 2
Hansbrough family 2
Harrison, William Henry, 1773-1841 2
Hart, John, 1860-1937 2
Holton, A. Linwood (Abner Linwood), 1923- 2
Hunt, Althea, 1890-1971 2
Jackson, Comer Clarke 2
Jamestown Corporation 2
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 2
Jones, W. Melville, 1901-1992 2
Joseph and Margaret Muscarelle Museum of Art 2
Kimbrough, Janet C 2
King's Daughters (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Lee Family 2
Lee, Elizabeth Mallory, 1902- 2
Luce family 2
Myers, Barton, 1853-1927 2
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 2
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 2
Readjuster Party of Virginia 2
Roosevelt, Franklin D. (Franklin Delano), 1882-1945 2
Rouse, Parke Shepherd, Jr. 2
Saunders family 2
School of Education 2
Skipwith, Robert 2
Smith family 2
Society of the Alumni 2
Sons of the American Revolution 2
Space Shuttle Program (U.S.) 2
Student Organizations--Colonial Echo 2
Swem Library 2
+ ∧ less