Skip to main content

Scientific Inventions and Natural History Oddities Photographs

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01162

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Scope and Contents

Six photographs with typed descriptions on the reverse. Photographed by Underwood and Underwood of New York and Washington, D.C. Appear to be part of press releases.

Includes "A tree-climbing fish" (Queer Fish 8x10), "Human Skulls 20,000 Years Old" (Skulls 8 x 10), "Famous Diamonds of History Reproduced" (Famous Diamonds 8x10), model of the first all steel lighthouse: "Lighthouse" (5x7), testing automobile headlights: "Testing Headlights" (5x7), supplies standards for lamp manufacturers and the public: "Measures candle Power of Lights" (5x7) and survey boat which carried Birdsye down the river: "Colonel Birdseye and Family" (5x7).

Dates

  • Creation: 1924-1926

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Additional Description

Acquisition Information:

Gift before 1950.

Processing Information:

Processed by Anne Johnson.

Subjects

Finding Aid & Administrative Information

Title
Guide to the Scientific Inventions and Natural History Oddities Photographs
Author
Anne Johnson.
Date
2011-05-19
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
English

Repository Details

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: