Scottish Coalition USA Archives
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
The Scottish Coalition USA Archives is a collection of ephemera, publications and records of the eight Scottish Heritage organizations. The 8 groups are: Association of Saint Andrew's Societies; The American-Scottish Foundation; The Caledonian Foundation, USA; Scottish Heritage, USA; International Association of Tartan Studies; The Living Legacy of Scotland, Inc. and The Association of Scottish Games and Festivals. This collection is ongoing.
Dates
- Creation: 1980-2011
Creator
- Association of Scottish Games and Festivals (Organization)
- Scottish Coalition (Organization)
- Scottish Tartans Authority (Family)
- St. Andrew's Society of Williamsburg, Virginia (Organization)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Historical Note:
Extent
0.55 Linear Feet
Arrangement of Materials:
Arranged into series with Series 1 for framed 1998 Proclamation, Series 2 for the Scottish Coalition and the remaining series given to each of the eight Scottish Heritage organizations when material is received.
Acquisition Information:
Acc. 2008.195 is a gift of G.A. Hamilton, secretary of the Association of Scottish Games and Festivals. Includes gift of 4 books by Duncan A. Bruce. Acc. 2009.365 is a gift of of Byron A. Adams, 105 Willoughby Dr., Williamsburg, VA 23185, received on 8/20/2009.
Accruals:
Additions are being made to this collection on an ongoing basis. Some accessions comprise materials collected from several different groups, so the same accession number may be found in different series.
Separated Materials:
CD of the quarterly newsletter of the Saint Andrew's Society of Williamsburg (The Spectator) was accessioned with 2009.365 and transferred to the Manuscript Audio-Visual Collection.
- Title
- Guide to the Scottish Coalition USA Archives
- Author
- Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
- Date
- 2009-09-23
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English.
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository