Skip to main content

S. Louise Seymour Scrapbooks

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.051
Acc. 1983.028: Loose pages of an unbound scrapbook that include newspaper clippings, theater programs and tickets, convocation programs, a ticket to a lecture given at Phi Beta Kappa Hall by Robert Frost, a handbook of the Women Students' Cooperative Government Association, a registration card for spring 1940 classes, a program from the 1943 inauguration of John E. Pomfret as President of the College, and other materials.

Acc. 1994.079: Scrapbook containing news clippings, a graduation program, and photographs. The photographs depict campus, Williamsburg, the movie set for The Howards of Virginia, Seymour, her friends and roommates, and other students. This accession also includes a collar from a 1943 graduation gown.

Dates

  • 1939-1943

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

0.70 Linear Feet

Title
Guide to the S. Louise Seymour Scrapbooks
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
Date
2007-07-26
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: