Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 226 - 250 of 434

Clara L. Lawrence Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.299
Scope and Contents This collection primarily concerns Clara Louise Walde Lawrence's career as a nurse in the period before, during, and after World War I.  Materials in the collection include correspondence, scrapbooks, diaries, photographs and negatives, pamphlets, medical supplies, and other publications.  Most of the correspondence, photographs, and publications relate to either WWI or nursing.  Notable correspondents include a letter from Julia Cherney (Bateman) to Clara Walde while serving as a missionary...
Dates: 1763, 1883-1888, 1909-1939

League of Women Voters of the Williamsburg Area records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 76 L47
Scope and Contents

Records of the League of Women Voters of the Williamsburg Area (LWVWA). Includes minutes, agendas, correspondence, publications, reports, photographs, memorandums, newsletters, president's files, video recordings and newspaper clippings. Topics covered include among others arms control, national security issues and domestic legislation, information relating to lobbying, etc.

Dates: 1932-2021

Lee Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01 and Mss. Acc. 1995.27
Scope and Contents Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01, Series 1 - 4: Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Lee graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children.  An album has photos of a May Pole in front of the Williamsburg Court House on Duke of Gloucester St. The papers include material for some of his children, particulary Elizabeth Mallory Lee (Mrs. John Walston Henderson), Peticolas Lee (Mrs. Robert Edward Lee), Mary King Lee, and Edward M. Lee. ...
Dates: 1858-1976; Majority of material found in 1900-1950

Robert E. Lee Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 L52
Scope and Contents

Letter, 4 May 1861, to Robert E. Lee from T. Rowland of Fairfax County, Va. desiring a commission with the Virginia forces, bearing endorsement of Lee. Includes printed material regarding Lee, such as his farewell address to the Army of Northern Virginia, his will, and  photographs and engravings of Lee.

Dates: 1829-1937

John M. Levy Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.107
Scope and Contents

The papers of William & Mary Law School Professor Emeritus John M. Levy include speeches given at various events by Dr. Levy, newsclippings either written by Levy or pertaining to Levy, as well as coursework and research during his tenure at the Law School.

Dates: 1993-2007 and undated

John W. Lewis and Lewis P. Olds Papers, 1808-1902

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.022
Scope and Contents Collection consists of the papers of three Southerners, dating predominantly from the 19th century. John W. Lewis lived in Virginia, Mississippi, and North Carolina and the portion of the collection from this Methodist minister and farmer includes references to religion including sermons, farming, and slavery. Lewis P. Olds was a North Carolina lawyer and politician and the collection includes evidence of his career as well as poetry and short stories he wrote. The remainder of the...
Dates: 1808-1902; Majority of material found within 1840-1879

Linda Carol Friend Adams Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.197
Scope and Contents The collection includes the genealogical research of Linda Carol Friend Adams.  It contains a number of state and county records, family documents, biographical information, emails, message board posts, research notes, and photographs that concern Adams' family history. The majority of Adams' ancestors were located in Virginia and West Virginia.  The information included here pertains to the following families (not a complete list): Adams, Allen, Barnett, Blake, Brasfield, Brock,...
Dates: 1998-2008; Majority of material found in 2000-2008

Charles E. Lipscomb Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.093
Scope and Contents

The papers of Charles E. Lipscomb include photgraphs, news clippings, certificates and a volume of dedications from friends and colleagues on the occasion of his retirement.

Dates: 1890-1930

Living Wage Campaign Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 253
Scope and Contents This collection contains materials on the Tidewater Labor Support Committee (TLSC), TLSC's Living Wage Campaign, and the Living Wage Coalition (LWC). Much of the collection consists of material collected by James Spady including correspondence from 2000-2001, articles, reports, studies, and other resource materials related to labor relations in the U.S., Virginia, the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, and the College of William and Mary. The first box contains meeting notes,...
Dates: 1991-2012; Majority of material found in 1999-2002

William Ivey Long Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.063
Scope and Contents

The collection includes four sketches of costumes by William Ivey Long including two dresses for the character Edna Turnblad in Hairspray, one sketch from The Producers, and another sketch of costumes from the ballet The Blue Necklace. The collection also includes photographs, a fabric sample of from Edna Turnblad's Pucci dress, and other items.

Dates: 2000-2004

Carter Lowance Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 94 L95
Scope and Contents The personal and professional papers of Carter Lowance, executive assistant to six governors of Virginia: William M. Tuck, John S. Battle, Thomas B. Stanley, J. Lindsay Almond, Albertis S. Harrison and Mills Edwin Godwin. Papers also concern Harry F. Byrd, Sr. and Harry F. Byrd, Jr., and John N. Dalton. There are speeches, papers relating to Lowance's military career (including correspondence with his wife, Elizabeth Austin Lowance), awards received by Lowance, photographs, and papers...
Dates: 1860-1993; Majority of material found in 1942-1988

Emily Harrell Lynch Papers, 1938-1946

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.040
Scope and Contents Twenty-seven photographs and four newspaper clippings belonging to Emily Harrell Lynch, William & Mary class of 1942. Typical student activities are documented include sports such as football and Homecoming Parades, May Day, Christmas, initiations, college buildings, and other typical college activities. Box 1 contains the newspaper clippings and box 2 contains the photographs. Acc. 2012.337 includes a photograph of Lynch, Dorothy Griffin, Frances Poarch, and Harriet Murray,...
Dates: 1938-1946

James Madison, Sr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 M26
Scope and Contents Dates; 1792-1831, 1931; document and correspondence (some are copies). Includes letters between James Madison, Sr. (1723-1801) and his son President James Madison, Jr., his brother Bishop James Madison, Josiah Quincy, Robert Walsh, and others. Also includes engravings and prints of Madison and a "Report of the Overseers of Harvard University" commenting of the new constitution recently submitted to the people of Virginia. Letters discuss politics, family life in Virginia, religion, and other...
Dates: 1792-1832, 1931

Stephen R. Mallory Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 75 M29
Scope and Contents

Includes correspondence and research papers of English professor Reginald A. Kenney relating to Stephen R. Mallory, Confederate Secretary of the Navy. Collection also contains photostats of Mallory's correspondence (location of originals unknown), a few original papers relating to Mallory and an original photograph of Mallory's daughter, Margaret Mallory Bishop (Mrs. Henry Bishop), nd.

Dates: 1853-1970

Manuscripts Photograph Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.18
Scope and Contents

Artificial collection of photographs obtained from various sources. Please see container inventory for more information.

Dates: circa 1864-1949

Matthew Whaley School Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 0/2 Mss. 1.11
Scope and Contents

This is an artificial collection of material from and about Matthew Whaley School in Williamsburg, Virginia including material from the annual fifty year reunions. The school newspaper, The Powder Horn, 1930-1937 and 1946-1948, is available in Rare Books call number AN47 .W54 P68.

Dates: 1850-2012 and undated; Majority of material found in 1880-1960

Maupin-Washington Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 M44
Scope and Contents Papers, 1732-1932, of the Maupin and Washington families. The bulk of the papers, 1850-1870, are letters received by Peter Grayson Washington who served as Assistant Secretary of the U. S. Treasury from 1853- 1857. Most of the letters relate to political patronage, Democratic Party politics and the various responsibilities of the Treasury Department. Later letters relate to Washington's work as a claims agent in Washington, D. C. and to his investments in New York City. The collection also...
Dates: 1732-1932

Maury Family papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 97 M44
Scope and Contents The Maury family papers contains materials documenting the lives of the Maury Family of Virginia, New York City and Liverpool, England from 1777-1977. The collection includes the letters and business papers of James Maury (1746-1840), the first American consul to Liverpool, England, and the letters of his second wife, Margaret Rutson Maury (1805-1882), of Liverpool. Letters, business papers, legal papers, and diaries of  the next two generations of the Maury family, including Ann Maury...
Dates: 1777-1977

Hortense Brigham Mayer Photograph

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00886
Scope and Contents

Photograph of Hortense Brigham, later called Dr. "Robin" Mayer and Mrs. Alden Brigham Mayer.  Photograph is undated, but of a young woman in her late teens or twenties.

She was in the Class of 1951 at Smith College.

Dates: undated

Muriel McCormick Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.779
Scope and Contents

Diaries and photographs, 1937-1949, of Muriel McCormick.  McCormick was a staff member at the United States embassy in Paris, France, from 1945-1946, and much of the collection chronicles her travels through Europe.

Dates: 1937-1949

Bruce T. McCully Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1989.42
Scope and Contents

Material of Bruce T. McCully relating to his teaching at the College of William and Mary and to his lifelong research on the career of Francis Nicholson, Virginia Colonial Governor.

Dates: 1940-1970

Doris Ann McFarland Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00739
Scope and Contents Papers, circa 1933-1943 of Doris Ann McFarland of Reedville, Virginia and later Washington, D.C.  and possibly Philadelphia, Pa. Included are a diary, 1933-1934,  kept while Doris McFarland was a 4th and 5th grader in the Reedville School in Reedville, Virginia; a report card for the 1933/34 school year; a photograph, circa 1940s of McFarland in Uniform, greeting cards, postcards, concert programs, ticket stubs, church fliers and news clippings.  Many of the concert programs and tickets...
Dates: circa 1933-1943

Mozelle DeVonne McNeil Papers, circa 1940-1960

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.594
Scope and Contents

Papers, circa 1940s-1960s, of Mozelle DeVonne McNeil, includes correspondence, photographs, diaries, educational records, newspaper and magazine clippings, and other ephemera. These papers represent a view of everyday life in mid-twentieth century America from the perspective of a soldier's wife.

Dates: circa 1940-1960

Samuel H. McNutt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00143
Scope and Contents

Sixty-six letters home from Corporal Samuel H. McNutt of Company H, 12th Pennsylvania Reserves from camps in Maryland and Virginia. Includes comments on battles of Mechanicsville, Gaines Mill, Malvern Hill and Gettysburg. A history of the 12th Regiment Reserves Infantry can be found in Folder 1 of this collection.

Dates: 1861-1864

Elizabeth A. Meyer Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.094
Scope and Contents

This collection contains correspondence, photographs, and publications collected by Beth Meyer, a member of the class of 1958 at William & Mary. The bulk of the material dates from when Ms. Meyer was a student from 1955-1958. Included are copies of various issues of the Flat Hat, Alumni Gazette, and programs from productions of the William & Mary Theatre. The photographs mostly consist of different reunions of the class of 1958 from over the years.

Dates: 1955-1983; Majority of material found in 1955-1958

Filtered By

  • Subject: Photographs X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Photographs 400
Correspondence 203
Scrapbooks 89
Programs 61
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 57
∨ more
College of William and Mary--Students 55
Diaries 52
Clippings (information artifacts) 50
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 49
Financial records 48
Letters (correspondence) 37
Legal documents 36
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 34
Reports 33
Certificates 29
Minutes 29
Postcards 28
Printed ephemera 28
Publications 28
Notebooks 27
Newspapers 26
Receipts (financial records) 24
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 23
World War, 1939-1945 23
Fliers (printed matter) 21
Pamphlets 21
Genealogy 19
Negatives 18
Account books 17
Slides (photographs) 17
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 17
Manuscripts (document genre) 16
Speeches 16
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 16
Virginia--Genealogy 15
Women college students 15
Invitations 14
Newsletters 14
Poems 14
Photocopies 13
Agendas (administrative records) 12
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 12
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 11
World War, 1914-1918 11
Athletics 10
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 10
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 10
Typescripts 10
Women--Diaries 10
Carte de visite photographs 9
Maps 9
Posters 9
Speeches, addresses, etc. 9
Video recordings 9
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 9
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 9
African Americans 8
African Americans--Virginia--Photographs 8
Business records 8
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 8
Jamestown Festival (1957) 8
Sound Recordings 8
Student Life--1920s 8
United States--Politics and Government 8
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 8
Broadsides 7
Cabinet photographs 7
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 7
Greeting cards 7
Obituaries 7
Photograph albums 7
Playbills 7
Press releases 7
Research notes 7
Stereoscopic photographs 7
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 7
Virginia--History--20th century 7
Virginia--Religious history 7
Women--Education--Virginia 7
Women--History--Virginia 7
Women--Travel 7
Yearbooks 7
Booklets 6
Class materials 6
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 6
Engravings (Prints) 6
Plays (document genre) 6
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 6
Student Activities--Dances 6
Student Life--1930's 6
Student Life--1940's 6
Theater 6
Transcripts 6
Virginia--History--19th century 6
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 6
Virginia--Social life and customs--20th century 6
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 6
World War, 1939-1945--European Front 6
World War, 1939-1945--Women--United States 6
Yorktown (Va.)--History--20th century 6
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 430
German 10
French 8
Chinese 3
Japanese 3
∨ more  
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 45
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 42
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 13
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 13
College of William and Mary. 11
∨ more
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 9
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 9
College of William and Mary 8
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 7
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 7
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 5
Choir and Chorus 4
College of William and Mary. School of Business Administration 4
College of William and Mary. School of Education 4
Democratic Party (U.S.) 4
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 4
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 4
Republican Party (U.S.) 4
Scammon, Howard, 1911-1999 4
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
American Red Cross 3
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities 3
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 3
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 3
Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 3
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 3
Landrum, Grace Warren, 1876-1951 3
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 3
Office of the President 3
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 3
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Swem family 3
Verkuil, Paul R 3
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Barksdale, Martha, 1900-1974 2
Barlowe, Cynthia Beverly Tucker Kimbrough 2
Bland family 2
Booth family 2
Boy Scouts of America 2
Bozarth family 2
Bushnell, David Ives, Jr., 1875-1941 2
Catlett family 2
Cheek, Leslie, 1908-1992 2
Close, Glenn, 1947- 2
College of William and Mary--Baseball 2
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors. 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Biology 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Fine Arts 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Psychology 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Sociology 2
College of William and Mary. Staff 2
Colonial Echo 2
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 2
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969 2
Episcopal Church 2
Ford, Gerald R., 1913-2006 2
Galt family 2
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 2
Gary Alonzo Barranger 2
Godwin, Edwin Mills, Jr., 1914-1999 2
Goodwin, William Archer Rutherfoord, 1869-1939 2
Green, Paul, 1894-1981. Common Glory 2
Gregg family 2
Grigsby, Hugh Blair, 1806-1881 2
Guy family 2
Hall, John Lesslie, Jr., 1891-1978 2
Hamilton, Frances H., 1928-2008 2
Hampton College (Hampton, Va.) 2
Hansbrough family 2
Harrison, William Henry, 1773-1841 2
Hart, John, 1860-1937 2
Holton, A. Linwood (Abner Linwood), 1923- 2
Hunt, Althea, 1890-1971 2
Jackson, Comer Clarke 2
Jamestown Corporation 2
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 2
Jones, W. Melville, 1901-1992 2
Joseph and Margaret Muscarelle Museum of Art 2
Kimbrough, Janet C 2
King's Daughters (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Lee Family 2
Lee, Elizabeth Mallory, 1902- 2
Luce family 2
Myers, Barton, 1853-1927 2
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 2
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 2
Readjuster Party of Virginia 2
Roosevelt, Franklin D. (Franklin Delano), 1882-1945 2
Rouse, Parke Shepherd, Jr. 2
Saunders family 2
School of Education 2
Skipwith, Robert 2
Smith family 2
Society of the Alumni 2
Sons of the American Revolution 2
Space Shuttle Program (U.S.) 2
Student Organizations--Colonial Echo 2
Swem Library 2
+ ∧ less