Skip to main content

James Madison, Sr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 M26

Scope and Contents

Dates; 1792-1831, 1931; document and correspondence (some are copies). Includes letters between James Madison, Sr. (1723-1801) and his son President James Madison, Jr., his brother Bishop James Madison, Josiah Quincy, Robert Walsh, and others. Also includes engravings and prints of Madison and a "Report of the Overseers of Harvard University" commenting of the new constitution recently submitted to the people of Virginia. Letters discuss politics, family life in Virginia, religion, and other topics. Also includes a 1931 invitation to the unveiling of the bust of James Madison at Richmond, Va. and photographs of the Madison bust.

Dates

  • 1792-1832, 1931

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

James Madison, Sr. (March 27, 1723 - February 27, 1801) was a colonel in the American Revolutionary War and the owner of a tobacco plantation in Orange County, Virginia.

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Acquisition Information:

Gift of Mrs. Frances Duffy and additional purchases (1975 and 1986).

Processing Information:

Box and folder list compiled by Amanda Hayek, SCRC staff, in December 2011.
Title
Guide to the James Madison, Sr. Papers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
Date
2007-07-19
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: