Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 53

W.A. Archer Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Tr8
Scope and Contents

Typescript copy of diary, 1931, of W. A. Archer's anthropological and biological expedition to El Choco, Colombia. The volume includes black and white photographs of the region and of its people.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Ball Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.674
Scope and Contents Papers, 1887-1976, of the Ball family, chiefly Hugh Ball and Mary Pierce Ball who operated a dairy farm in Vergennes, Vermont. Dairy farming account books and receipts are included in the collection. Mary Ball (née Mary Lucy Pierce) grew up in Shelbourne, Vermont and her eleven diaries, written between the ages of eighteen and thirty-two, detail the weather, social engagements, sewing projects, books read, school, and in the last diary, baby care. Also in the collection are...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Harlan H. Ballard, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.091
Scope and Contents Set of 5 journals and a few single letters, poems, postcards and photographs. The journals document vacations and visits to Harlan H. Ballard, Jr.'s  cabin, referred to in one of the journals as 'Arbutus Lodge.' Arbutus Lodge was located in Nichewaug, near Barr, both Worcester County, Massachusetts. The entries were written both by the host and guests and detail their visits and activities. Several of the volumes contain photographs. Some of the names mentioned are: ...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Martha Barksdale Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.004
Scope and Contents

The papers include Martha Barksdale's diary for 1918-1919, recording her experiences as a member of the first class of women at William and Mary. The bulk of the collection consists of photographs that document student activities and women's sports at the college from her student years to her teaching career. The bulk of the photographs date from the 1920s-1940s.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Charles H. Bell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B41
Scope and Contents The collection includes the correspondence, certificates, photographs, accounts, and journals of Rear Admiral Charles H. Bell. Naval journals cover Bell's service in the Mediterranean Sea from 1855-1858. The photographs are a mix of personal and souvenirs, which largely depict men and women from Peru. There is also material related to his role as executor for the estate of Samuel Swartwout. The collection also includes papers related to the Smith family, particularly Bell's executor and...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Mae Alvan Belt Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00155
Scope and Contents 3 Diaries, 1933, 1936-1940 and 1941-1943 of Mae Alvan Belt of Rockville, Maryland. The 1933 girl scout diary was written while Mae Belt was a teenager and contains brief entries that mention school, house work, and social life. The 1936-1940 diary contains brief daily entries. Mae Belt seems to live with her parents and mentions going to work, working some evenings, helping with Red Cross work, doing house hold chores, but also comments on her social life and particular her courtship with a...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John Boyd Bentley Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 82 B44
Scope and Contents Personal and professional papers, 1896-1987, of Bishop John Boyd Bentley, Bishop of Alaska and Director of Overseas Missions for the Protestant Episcopal Church and personal papers, 1895-1983, of his wife Elvira Carr Bentley. Includes comprehensive records of his ministerial career including records of his official acts and texts of sermons and invocations. There is some correspondence relating to Bentley's career, including letters from W. A. R. Goodwin (1869-1939), Rector of...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Bozarth Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2003.13
Scope and Contents Business and family papers of the Bozarth family. Acc. 2003.13 Scrapbook of Mary Hockaday Bozarth, Worthy Grand Matron of the Virginia Order of the Eastern Star with a list of Matrons and Patrons from 1941 to 1942 and certificates of membership for members of the Pocahontas Chapter 103 located in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1941.  Other related items in the collection is a photograph of Eastern Star women on the way to Bermuda and the Proceedings of the Grand Chapter...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Benjamin Bray Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.35
Scope and Contents

One box plus oversize diploma of Benjamin Bray, William and Mary class of 1949.  He was a Common Glory actor, poet, playwright, teacher and social worker. Papers consist mostly of his poetical writings plus one play written with his brother James.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Broome Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.296
Scope and Contents Papers of the Broome family of Richmond, Virginia. Includes 2 diaries of Louise B. Taliaferro from a 1924 European trip and one diary of an unknown woman from a 1924 European trip.  Includes photographs, genealogical material, legal and business papers and correspondence, including letters of Talbot Broome during voyages to South America. The connection between Louise B. Taliaferro and the Broome Family has not been established.  Louise B. Taliaferro was married to William M....
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

David Ives Bushnell, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B96
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1917-1941, of anthropologist David Ives Bushnell, Jr., including correspondence concerning his research on Indians in North America; diaries, address lists, specimen lists, photographs, magazines, pamphlets, and maps pertaining to his work. Also includes correspondence of his mother, Belle Johnston Bushnell.The collection also contains a typescript of the journal of Rudolph Friederich Kurz; letters written by William Cullen Bryant (concerning Thanatopsis), William...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Jay Call Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.324
Scope and Contents Diaries, photographs, and printed material, 1930-1985, of Jay Call of San Luis Obispo, California. Diaries primarily concern Call's work and personal life, including jobs working for an ice producer and working with water pumps. There are also entries about trips that Call and his family take to places such as Charlestown, New Hampshire, as well as entries about the sickness and death of Call's father. Also includes 41 photographs, primarily of Call, his family members, and trips that he...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Lane Carlson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00004
Scope and Contents Papers, 1937-1972, of Colonel Bonnie "Lane" Carlson, originally from Scotts Bluff, Nebraska. Colonel Lane Carlson was one of the first five female colonels in the United States Army. Primarily includes letters written to and from her parents throughout her life, beginning with her time at Sullins College in Bristol, Virginia, various military bases, postwar Japan and West Germany. Some of the topics discussed in the letters include base life during the war, the experience of a commissioned...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Anne T. Chapman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C37
Scope and Contents Papers, 1884-1954, of Anne T. Chapman of Madison, Wisconsin and Williamsburg, Virginia.  She was a civic and social leader in the community of Williamsburg who served as librarian of the Williamsburg Public Library from 1910-1942. Papers include correspondence, diaries, photographs, and newspaper clippings and concern Gamma Phi Beta, the Williamsburg Civic League, the Williamsburg Public Library, the Williamsburg Garden Club, Bruton Parish Church, and public health.Additions...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

G. Glenwood Clark Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 77 C55
Scope and Contents Papers of G. Glenwood Clark, professor of English who taught American Literature at the College of William and Mary. The collection iIncludes correspondence, 1921-1965, with former students, faculty and administration of the College, personal acquaintances, publishing companies, clubs and organizations as well as newspaper clippings, typescripts of books, articles and talks, lecture notes, scrapbooks and materials relating to his two sabbaticals in Brazil including photographs, letters,...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Charles H. Dimmock Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 D59
Scope and Contents Papers, 1826-1872, of Charles Dimmock and Charles Henry Dimmock. Includes sketch of the life of Charles H. Dimmock; a manuscript volume containing a journal of a voyage from Norfolk to Madeira and farm journal of "Shabby Hall," Gloucester County, Va.; travel diary, 1826, of Charles Dimmock concerning travels in Venice and Germany; and papers concerning the service of Charles Henry Dimmock in the engineer's corps in the Confederate Army, some of which include work at Yorktown, Va. and having...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

June A. Dowling Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00198
Scope and Contents

Papers of Sergeant June A. Dowling, consisting of a diary, 1917-1919, photographs, postcards, a French magazine, and a travel permission, all documenting Sergeant Dowling's World War I tour of duty in France. 

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Margetta Hirsch Doyle Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.005
Scope and Contents

This collection contains diaries, photographs, and other material related to Margetta Doris (Hirsch) Doyle. The bulk of the collection consists of material related to Margetta Doyle's days as a student at Mary from 1941-1945. The collection also includes a diary, photographs, and financial information concerning a trip to China, Japan, and Hong Kong in the fall of 1984 by Margetta Hirsch Doyle, her husband, and two friends. The diaries contain summary notes compiled by Margetta Doyle.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Galt Papers (V)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G73 (V)
Scope and Contents Diaries, personal correspondence, and genealogy, 1900-1979, concerning Louise Alberta West Galt (b. 1876) and Howard Spilman Galt (1872-1948), who were missionaries to China between approximately 1899-1940, and their daughter Mable Mildred Galt (b. 1900), a social worker and minister's wife living in the United States. Of special interest is the diary of Louise A. W. Galt written during the summer of 1900 during the siege of Peking during the Boxer Rebellion. The relationship of...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Augustus C. Golding Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 94 G56
Scope and Contents This collection contains the papers, dated 1859-1934, but mainly 1862-1864, of Augustus C. Golding (also spelled as Goldin and , Golden). It includes letters, a letterbook, diaries, documents, pension papers, printed materials, and photographs. All items relate to Golding's service in the Union Army, 1861-1864, in Northern Virginia, on the Virginia peninsula, and in Maryland. Golding's letters to family and friends describe troop movements, battles, camp conditions, his health, a hospital,...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Goodwin Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G63
Scope and Contents Letters, memoirs, journals, sermons, monographs, genealogical material concerning the Goodwin, Archer, Silvester, Ballard and Smith families.The bulk of the collection is comprised of the papers of Frederick Deane Goodwin, an Episcopal minister.  Bishop William Meade is a correspondent.  Correspondence between Frederick Deane Goodwin's immediate family is included and papers of his son, Edward Lewis Goodwin, an Episcopal minister and his granddaughter, Mary Frances Goodwin, a...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Gregory Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00027
Scope and Contents The Gregory Family papers follow the family of Virginia Governor John Munford Gregory and wife Amanda Wallace through three generations with letters dating from the 1820’s to the 1920’s. Most items are letters between family members and grant insight into the daily activities and concerns of the Gregory family. The collection also includes correspondence between members of the Gregory family and other acquaintances, including members of the John Tyler family. While most letters are of a...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Hamilton Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2009.139 and 2011.520
Scope and Contents

Papers pertaining to the Hamilton Family of Norge, James City County, Virginia and related families. Among the formats included are diaries, scrapbooks,  correspondence, Norge High School records, church records, photographs, slides, CD-Roms, certificates, financial records, a Langley Air Force base photo album, and news clippings and ephemera.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Fairfax Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H25
Scope and Contents Papers, 1736-1945, of and collected by Fairfax Harrison. Papers collected include colonial era documents, deeds, surveys, the diary of Sally Fairfax (1771-1772), legal papers, a copy of the Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) vestry book which contains minutes, indentures, and other (1745-1802), and photostat copy of the letterbook (1801) of Col. John Tayloe of Mount Airy, Va. Fairfax Harrison's papers include his correspondence with individuals and institutions concerning his...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Frances G. Hoppin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00121-Mss. Acc. 2007.108
Scope and Contents The papers, 1917-1918 of Frances G. Hoppin who opened the Red Cross Grenelle Dispensary in Paris, France in 1917, which was one of about 30 civilian dispensaries administered by the Red Cross in Paris at that time. This accession consists of both personal papers and records relating to the dispensary.Included are two journals in which Frances Hoppin recorded both her personal experiences as well as business items relating to the dispensary. Also included is a 3-page report on the...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Photographs X
  • Subject: Diaries X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Diaries 52
Correspondence 33
Scrapbooks 10
Women--Diaries 10
Clippings (information artifacts) 9
∨ more
Financial records 8
Genealogy 8
Legal documents 8
Postcards 8
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 8
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 7
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 6
Letters (correspondence) 6
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 6
American diaries--Women authors 5
Newspapers 5
Programs 5
Virginia--Genealogy 5
Account books 4
France--Description and travel--20th century 4
Maps 4
Printed ephemera 4
Receipts (financial records) 4
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
Women--History--Virginia 4
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 4
World War, 1939-1945 4
College of William and Mary--Students 3
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Manuscripts (document genre) 3
Pamphlets 3
Poems 3
Publications 3
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 3
Reports 3
Speeches 3
Virginia--History--19th century 3
Virginia--Social life and customs--20th century 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Women--Travel 3
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 2
China--Description and travel 2
Episcopal Church--Clergy 2
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 2
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Germany--Description and travel--20th Century 2
Greeting cards 2
Japan--Description and travel 2
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Minutes 2
Newsletters 2
Notebooks 2
Orders (military records) 2
Personal narratives 2
Philippines--History 2
Photostats 2
Recipes 2
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Sermons 2
Spanish-American War, 1898 2
Typescripts 2
United States--Alaska--History 2
United States--Slavery 2
United States--Women--History 2
United States. Navy--History--19th century 2
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 2
Virginia--History--18th century 2
Virginia--Politics and Government 2
Virginia--Religious history 2
Watercolors (drawings) 2
Women college students 2
Women travelers--Diaries 2
Women--Education--Virginia 2
World War, 1914-1918 2
World War, 1914-1918--France 2
World War, 1914-1918--France--Paris 2
World War, 1914-1918--France--Personal narratives 2
World War, 1914-1918--France--Pictoral works 2
World War, 1914-1918--Medical care--France 2
World War, 1939-1945--European Front 2
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 2
World War, 1939-1945--Women--United States 2
Yearbooks 2
Young women--Diaries 2
Admission tickets 1
Africa--Description and travel 1
African Americans 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 1
Alabama--History--19th century 1
Alaska--Description and travel--20th century 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
American literature--20th century 1
American newspapers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Anthropology 1
Antietam, Battle of, Md., 1862 1
Art (sketches) 1
Athletics--Football--Scandal of 1951 1
Athletics--Study and teaching 1
∧ less
 
Language
French 5
Japanese 2
Arabic 1
Chinese 1
Dutch; Flemish 1
∨ more
Hindi 1
Norwegian 1
Russian 1
∧ less
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 6
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Bushnell, David Ives, Jr., 1875-1941 2
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 2
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
∨ more
American Chemical Society 1
American Red Cross 1
American Red Cross in France 1
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 1
Ball family 1
Ball, Hugh 1
Ball, Mary Pierce 1
Ballard family 1
Ballard, Harlan H., Jr. 1
Ballard, James William, 1875-1920 1
Barksdale, Martha, 1900-1974 1
Bell, Charles Heyer, 1798-1875 1
Belt, Mae Alvan, b. circa 1916 1
Bentley, Elvira Carr, d. 1983 1
Bentley, John Boyd, 1896-1989 1
Bernard Family 1
Blankenship family 1
Booth family 1
Bowers, Rosina 1
Bozarth family 1
Bray, Benjamin F., b. circa 1926 and d. 2002 1
Broome family 1
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 1
Bryant, William Cullen, 1794-1878 1
Bushnell, Belle Johnston, b. 1859 1
Call, Jay 1
Carey family 1
Carlson, Lane, 1919-2010 1
Carmalt family 1
Cary, Wilson Miles, 1838-1914 1
Chaffee, Sarah Lamb 1
Chamings, Dorothy Thurza Louise, d. 1958 1
Chapman, Anne T., 1868-1954 1
Chouteau, Rene Auguste, 1749-1829 1
Clark, Graves Glenwood, 1894-1967 1
Clark, Jefferson H., b. 1890 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 1
Corr, L.P. 1
Crozer Theological Seminary 1
Culpeper family 1
Democratic Party (U.S.) 1
Democratic Party (Va.) 1
Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) 1
Dimmock, Charles H. (Charles Henry), 1831-1873 1
Dimmock, Charles Henry, 1831-1873 1
Dimmock, Charles, d. 1863 1
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 1
Dornin family 1
Dowling, June A., 1893-1990 1
Doyle, Margetta Hirsch 1
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 1
Edwards, Maria Seawell, b. 1815? 1
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 1
Fairfax, Sally, fl. 1771-1772 1
Fauquier, Francis, 1704?-1768 1
Ferguson, Elizabeth A. 1
Ford, Worthington Chauncey, 1858-1941 1
Freeman, Douglas Southall, 1886-1953 1
Galbraith family 1
Galt, Howard Spilman, 1872-1948 1
Galt, Louise Alberta West, b. 1876 1
Galt, Mildred Mable, b. 1900 1
Golden family 1
Goodwin family 1
Goodwin, Benjamin Lewis, 1819-1852 1
Goodwin, Daniel LeBaron, 1800-1867 1
Goodwin, Edward Bryam, 1810 - 1
Goodwin, Hannah LeBaron, 1814-1852 1
Goodwin, Henry Bradford, 1802-1859 1
Goodwin, James Briggs, 1806-1886 1
Goodwin, Mary De Wolf, 1812-1841 1
Goodwin, Mary Frances (Archer), 1817-1900 1
Goodwin, William Archer Rutherfoord, 1869-1939 1
Gordon, Elizabeth Gordon Biddle 1
Greeley, Horace, 1811-1872 1
Greene family 1
Greene, Cloe Tyler Whittle, 1843-1925 1
Greene, John Newport, 1842-1902 1
Gregory family 1
Gregory family. 1
Grenelle Dispensary (Paris, France) 1
Hamilton family 1
Hamilton, Frances H., 1928-2008 1
Harrison, Fairfax, 1869-1938 1
Harrison, William Henry, 1773-1841 1
Hipkins family 1
Hobson, R.P. 1
Hoppin, Frances G. 1
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 1
Kalichevsky, Anatole, 1870-1937 1
Kalichevsky, Vladimir, 1895-1958 1
Keller, Helen, 1880-1968 1
Kurz, Rudolph Friedrich, 1818-1871 1
Lamb, Sarah Anne Chaffee, b. 1837 1
Lamb, William, 1838-1909 1
∧ less