Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 19 of 19

Alumni Association Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 80
Scope and Contents

The records of the Alumni Association of the College of William and Mary include office files, material from select Executive Secretaries, meeting minutes, publications, correspondence, and other material documenting the activities of the William & Mary Alumni Association as well as the College of William & Mary's history and alumni more generally.

Board of Visitors Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 1
Scope and Contents The records of the Board of Visitors of the College of William and Mary includes meeting minutes and agendas, matriculation books, correspondence, material from Board of Visitors Rectors Oscar L. Shewmake and Roy Harvey Chappell, Jr., publications, and audio recordings of meetings from 1961-1999. An index to Board of Visitors meetings for the period 1947-1984 is available in the Special Collections Research Center. Researchers are also encouraged to consult the University...

University Archives Bound Volumes Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 15
Scope and Contents

This collection contains information about the College of William and Mary from the Eighteenth Century to the present. Included in the collection are faculty lecture notes from a variety of classes, scrapbooks, research notes, correspondence, textbooks used at the College of William and Mary, minute and account books, poetry books, student notebooks, a literary manual, and various other miscellaneous bound volumes.

Office of the Bursar Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 72
Scope and Contents The records of the Office of the Bursar are some of the earliest and most comprehensive records of the College of William and Mary from the 18th century surviving to the present day.  Of particular note are various references to individuals enslaved by the College as well as to the Brafferton Indian School.  The collection includes Bursar's reports, financial statements, statements of rents due to the College, accounts with individuals, lists of tenants, receipts and expenditures, revenues...

College Papers Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 14
Scope and Contents

This collection includes a variety of material formats and subjects from throughout the College's history.

Commencement Exercises Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 314
Scope and Contents

This collection includes programs, scripts, remarks, addresses, speeches, invitations, and other related material from commencement exercises at the College of William and Mary. Events and ceremonies related to graduation would also include the baccalaureate service and other events.

Faculty Assembly Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 133
Scope and Contents This collection consists of records pertaining to the modern Faculty Assembly at the College of William and Mary and earlier faculty bodies and organizations. The records spans from 1729 to the present. The bulk of the collection contains minutes of faculty meetings from 1729 to 1945 and, with only a gap in the minutes from 1784-1817, continue to the present. Other Faculty Assembly records include memos to faculty about various policies at William and Mary, faculty surveys,...

Susan H. Godson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.015
Scope and Contents Contains Susan H. Godson's notes from her contributions to The College of William & Mary: A History (1993).  Most of the notes are handwritten on yellow legal or letter-sized paper and relate to the college's history beginning around 1888 and continuing throughout the twentieth century.  The papers include research-related correspondence, including several letters from the late College President Paschall.  The papers also include reproductions of numerous archival documents and news...

Hall Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...

John Lesslie Hall Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.021
Scope and Contents

Collection of John Lesslie Hall, a William and Mary faculty member from 1888-1928. The collection includes biographical material; notebooks; publications; pictures; speeches and addresses; Notes on Bruton Parish Church; correspondence; and tax levies.

William Lamb Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L16
Scope and Contents Diaries, 1855, 1859-1861, 1864-1909, (52 volumes) of Col. William Lamb (1835-1909), written while a student at the College of William and Mary, newspaper editor, Civil War commander of Fort Fisher, N.C. (1862-1865), coal merchant, Norfolk businessman and mayor (1880-1886), and member of the Board of Visitors and Rector of William and Mary. Collection also includes diary, 1861, and some letters of his wife Sarah Annie Chaffee Lamb as well as page proofs and other material relating...

Robert Hunt Land Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.012
Scope and Contents

This collection contains materials relating to Robert Hunt Land's work on the history of the College of William and Mary. It includes a published description of Land's proposed history of the college, notes and correspondence about the proposed history, and biographical information about alumni (1814-1881). It also contains correspondence between Herbert Ganter, Earl Gregg Swem, and Robert Hunt Land about Ganter's research on William and Mary at the Library of Congress.

Lemon Project Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 82
Scope and Contents

The collection consists of reports and projects supported by the Lemon Project. Projects include student papers and oral histories.

Phi Beta Kappa Records of John Lesslie Hall and Charles Washington Coleman

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.022
Scope and Contents

Primarily Phi Beta Kappa correspondence of Charles Washington Coleman and John Lesslie Hall, both of whom served as Secretary of the Alpha of Virginia chapter. Also includes some meetings of minutes, poems, addresses, and bylaws; a notebook listing "Distinctions awarded in English and in History;" obituaries of Hall; English examinations (questions only)' documents from George Willis Guy about his high school and college course work.

Phoenix Literary Society Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.005
Scope and Contents

This collection contains minutes, official correspondence, treasurer's books, and financial records of the Phoenix Literary Society, a College of William & Mary student group in the 19th-20th centuries.

Office of the President. Lyon Gardiner Tyler Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.07
Scope and Contents Acc. 1980.123: One box containing biographical material; engravings; lectures; addresses; publications; an article about the Gardiner Manor in New York; Tyler's application for the William and Mary presidency; testimonials; a calling card; correspondence, including a letter to Mrs. Alex S. Porter (circa 1917), possibly referring to Bound Volume no. 13. Acc. 1984.019: This accession is composed of fifteen boxes of Tyler's correspondence and other material as President and...

Robb-Bernard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R54
Scope and Contents Papers, 1800-1901, of and relating to John Hipkins and John Hipkins Bernard (mostly accounts); of and relating to members of the Hipkins, Bernard and Robb families; and relating to the Hipkins-Bernard-Robb home "Rose Hill," Caroline County, Va. (later renamed "Gay Mont") and to Bernard's lands in Alabama, Texas and Arkansas. Includes diaries, correspondence, poems, accounts and account books of women (Elizabeth Hipkins, Jane Gay Robertson Bernard, and Helen Struan Bernard Robb); and legal...

University Archives Photograph Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 8
Scope and Contents The collection includes print and some digital photographs of campus buildings, events, activities, subjects, and individuals, including alumni, faculty and staff, administrators, and visitors to campus. It is important to note that if looking for a specific person, such as Margaret Thatcher, to look not only for that person's name but to also look at photographs from events that person likely attended, such as Charter Day and Commencement. The same should be said for subjects,...

William G. Stanard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00579
Scope and Contents Letters, 1888-1928, written to William G. Stanard, secretary of the Virginia Historical Society and editor of the Virginia Magazine of History and Biography concerning historical and genealogical matters. Includes letters from Benjamin Stoddert Ewell, J. Franklin Jameson, Lyon G. Tyler, and W. A. R. Goodwin. Some of the letters concern the College of William and Mary and the history of Williamsburg, Va. June 15, 1925, letter from W. G. Stanard to E.G. Swem concerning a portrait of General R....

Filtered By

  • Subject: College of William and Mary--History--20th century X
  • Subject: College of William and Mary--History--19th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 11
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 7
College of William and Mary--Students 6
Minutes 6
Manuscripts (document genre) 4
∨ more
Account books 3
College of William and Mary--History--21st century 3
Financial records 3
Notebooks 3
Photographs 3
Publications 3
Reports 3
Scrapbooks 3
Speeches, addresses, etc. 3
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 3
World War, 1939-1945 3
Bylaws 2
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 2
College of William and Mary--History--17th century 2
Diaries 2
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 2
Genealogy 2
Legal documents 2
Memorandums 2
Poems 2
Universities and Colleges--Finance 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
African Americans--History--19th century 1
African Americans--History--20th century 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Alabama--History--19th century 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
American diaries--Women authors 1
American newspapers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
American periodicals--Virginia--History 1
American poetry--19th century 1
Athletics 1
Awards and scholarships 1
Battleships--United States--History 1
Booklets 1
Buildings and Grounds 1
Buildings and Grounds--Fires--1859 1
Canada--Description and travel 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Certificates 1
Chandler Court (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Charter Day 1
Chemical warfare--United States--History--20th century. 1
Church of England--Virginia--History 1
Class materials 1
Clubs--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Coeducation--United States--History--20th century 1
Coeducation--Virginia 1
College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
College sports--United States--History--20th century 1
Course work 1
Curriculum 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--18th century 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 1
English language--Study and teaching--United States--History 1
English literature--Study and teaching--United States--History 1
Engravings (Prints) 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--19th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Fort Fisher (N.C.) 1
Germany--History--Allied occupation, 1945- 1
History of the College--Reconstruction efforts after the war 1
Homecoming 1
Indians of North America--Virginia 1
Invitations 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History 1
Lecture notes 1
Literature--Societies, etc 1
Maine--Description and travel 1
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Natural and Experimental Philosophy 1
North Carolina--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Orders (military records) 1
Petitions 1
Philippines--History 1
Photostats 1
Plays (document genre) 1
President's House (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Programs 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Rosters 1
Slavery--Virginia--18th century 1
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 1
Sound Recordings 1
Student Government 1
Student Plays 1
Surveys (documents) 1
∧ less
 
Language
French 2
Latin 2
Dutch; Flemish 1
German 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 6
College of William and Mary. 3
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 3
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 3
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
∨ more
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 2
Office of the President 2
Society of the Alumni 2
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 2
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 2
Alumni Band Organization. 1
American Chemical Society 1
American Red Cross 1
Belk, George Washington, III 1
Bernard Family 1
Bolling, Maurice Landon 1
Catron, Louis E. 1
Chaffee, Sarah Lamb 1
Chandler, Alvin Duke 1
Chandler, J. A. C. (Julian Alvin Carroll), 1872-1934 1
Chappell, R. Harvey (Robert Harvey), 1926- 1
Childress, Cecil Marcia 1
Coleman, Charles Washington, 1862-1932 1
College of William and Mary 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors. 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Chemistry 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Government 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Home Economics 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
College of William and Mary. General Cooperative Committee 1
College of William and Mary. Lemon Project. 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the Bursar. 1
College of William and Mary. University Archives. 1
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 1
Croghan, John, 1790-1849 1
Dew, Thomas R. (Thomas Roderick), 1802-1846 1
Faculty Assembly 1
Faculty--Meetings 1
Fund for William and Mary 1
Garrett, Robert M., 1807-1885 1
Godson, Susan H. (Godson, Susan Hall), d. 2013 1
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 1
Griffin, James Lewis Corbin, 1814-1878 1
Hackley, William Randolph 1
Hall, Channing Moore, III 1
Hall, John Lesslie, Jr., 1891-1978 1
Hipkins family 1
Hope, James Barron, 1829-1887 1
Hughes, Robert M. (Robert Morton), b. 1855 1
Jones, Warner Throckmorton 1
Key, Francis Scott, 1779-1843 1
Koontz, Amos Ralph, 1890-1965 1
Lamb, Sarah Anne Chaffee, b. 1837 1
Lamb, William, 1838-1909 1
Literary Societies--Phoenix Literary Society 1
Maddox, William Arthur 1
Madison, James, 1749-1812 1
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 1
Mercer, Hugh T.W. 1
Millington, John, 1779-1868 1
Order of the White Jacket 1
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 1
Phi Beta Kappa 1
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 1
Pollard, John Garland, 1871-1937 1
Preston, William 1
Robb family 1
Robb-Bernard family 1
Rogers, William Barton, 1804-1882 1
Ryland, Archie Garnett 1
Scarburgh, George Parker 1
Shewmake, Oscar L., 1882-1963 1
Smith, John Augustine, 1782-1865 1
Stanard, William G. 1
Student Activities 1
Student Organizations--Dramatic Club 1
Student Publications--William and Mary Literary Magazine 1
Swem, E. G. (Earl Gregg), 1870-1965 1
Taliaferro, Edwin, 1835-1867 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
Taliaferro, William R., Jr. 1
Taylor, John Herbert 1
Taylor, John, 1753-1824 1
Taylor, Waller 1
Tompkins, Sally Louisa, 1833-1916 1
Topping, Katheryn M. 1
United Nations Food and Agricultural Organization 1
Upton family 1
Verkuil, Paul R 1
Warren, William H. 1
William and Mary Quarterly 1
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Wise, George Douglas 1
Wright, Ernest L. 1
∧ less