Showing Collections: 276 - 300 of 756
Henry Clay letter
A letter from Henry Clay to Josiah Bigelow. In it, Clay responds to a rumor Bigelow heard about a General Harrison joining the Antimasons. The letter is one page long, and is housed with a cover sheet that served as an envelope, as well as a typed transcription of the text.
Henry N. Kagey Ledger
Ledger, 1834-1871, of Henry N. Kagey, merchant, at or near New Market, Shenandoah County, Virginia, including pages used as a ledger, 1832-1840, by George M. Pennybacker, Rockingham County, Virginia.
Henry Robinson Journals
Journals, 1803-1804, of Henry Robinson, merchant and mill owner, [Brunswick Mills, Virginia?] which contains accounts of a grist mill, foundry, saw mill, and a general store. Per 1810 census, many names from the Botetourt County area of Virginia.
Herbert George Bond Letter
The collection consists of one letter written by a Union soldier named Herbert George Bond at Union Mills, Virginia to his brother in Dummerston, Vermont. It describes the illness and death of a fellow soldier, the arrival of a slave fleeing from Richmond at their camp, and Bond's expectation that his troop will travel to Fredericksburg.
Frederick Herman Collection
George W. Hershberger Journal
Journal, 1873-1875, of George W. Hershberger, merchant, of Luray, [Page Co.], Va.
Abraham Hewes Journals
Journals, 1795-1805, of Abraham Hewes, merchant, of Alexandria, Va.
Hibble and Stubbs Account Books
Journal, 1854-1856, and daybook, 1856-1857, of Hibble and Stubbs, merchants, at Cappahosic, Gloucester County, Va.
Hickory Neck Church records
Records of Hickory Neck Episcopal Church located in Toano, Virginia. Most of the material in this collection is from the Hickory Neck Church with a permanent loan or deposit agreement. Other material is from members of Hickory Neck Church or Williamsburg, Virginia area residents.
Collection includes additions.
D. H. Hill Letters
Letters written by D. H. Hill of the 46th North Carolina Infantry Regiment to an unidentified addressee and to Nancy C[aroline?] Nance expressing affection and describing the Battle of Bristoe Station.
Daniel Harvey Hill Papers
Letters, 28 May 1861 and 15 April and 11 May 1862, written by Daniel Harvey Hill to his wife Isabella (Morrison) Hill, describing preparations for battle at Yorktown, Va. and building fortifications over Lord Cornwallis' earthworks; the Peninsular Campaign; morale of his soldiers; and his children. Includes a printed circular, 19 April 1865, to Hill, urging soldiers not to desert during truce negotiations.
Minnie A. Hill Papers
This collection consists of letters from supervisors or sponsors to Minnie A. Hill, a northern female teacher, who was in Norfolk and then Petersburg, Virginia teaching at freedmen’s schools in the late 1860s.
Sarah Virginia Weight Hinton Diary
Diary, 1855-1862, of a child in Norfolk, Va. (apparently dictated to or copied over by her mother) and of her mother. Concerns trips to North Carolina and New York City and to springs in Virginia and records the family's move to a plantation near Richmond, Texas. Includes reports of friends dying in Norfolk during the yellow fever epidemic of 1855 and records the mothers ill health (possibly tuberculosis).
Hirshes & Webb Ledgers
Ledger, 1840-1864, of Hirshes & Webb, Mt. Solon, Augusta County, Virginia. One volume (MsV Ame56) contains accounts and a memoranda of James F. Clarke, physician, Mt. Solon, Virginia and a poem concerning the Civil War, "The Soldier's Dream."
Note: MsV Ame57 is filed in Oversize.
History of the Case of the Commonwealth vs. Lee and Burwell Reynolds
Holland Family Papers
Papers, 1795-1835, of the Holland family of Nansemond County, Va. and Jasper County, Ga. Includes a manuscript volume, ca. 1795-1800, used by George Washington Holland for arithmetic exercises; diary, 1832- 1835, kept by William S. Holland to record farming activities, descriptions of Fourth of July celebrations, a meeting concerning states' rights, and the sighting of a comet. Also includes genealogical information of the Holland family.
Holmes Family photograph album
Photograph album, circa 1930s, of the Rufae Holmes and Samuel B. Holmes families of Richmond, Virginia. Includes photographs of family members, including A.B. Holmes; schools, including Douglas High School in Baltimore; students; and activities including football and a road trip taken on the Skyline Drive in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. In 2014, family descendant Carole Osmet added six additional photos of the family.
George Frederick Holmes Papers
Charles Howard Papers
Papers, 1865-1879, of Charles Howard, sheriff of Hanover County, Va. concerning estates for which he was administrator. Includes a memorandum book of accounts, loose accounts and legal documents concerning two lawsuits.
Maude A. Howdershell and Milton F. Kerrick Papers
Letters, 1909-1919 between Maude A. Howdershell and Milton F. Kerrick, a courting couple of Alexandria, Virginia who were engaged toward the later part of their correspondence. Milton F. Kerrick seems to have worked for a railroad since at least one letter-head is that of a railroad brotherhood.
Philip Howerton Papers
Hughes, Stubbs & Co. Account Books
Journals, 1844-1847, and day book, 1846-1847, of Hughes, Stubbs & Co., merchants, at Stubbs, Gloucester County, Va.
Thomas Jefferson Hughes Facsimiles
Facsimiles were likely made in 1965. Photocopies of letters, 1835-1845, to Dr. Thomas Jefferson Hughes of Gloucester County, Va. and Connorsville, Ind. chiefly from his brother Skaife W. Hughes, Jasper C. Hughes, and H. Yates Hughes, all from Gloucester County, Va. Includes photocopies of two essays by Mrs. Sarah Hughes, "What Qualities Should Be Cultivated by the Teacher" and "Forest Trees."
I. S. Meanley Ledger
Ledger, 1919-1923, of I. S. Meanley, merchant of Toano, James City County, Va.
Lawrence I'Anson Papers
Papers, circa 1938-1983, of Lawrence I'Anson, lawyer and justice of the Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals. Includes correspondence, invitations, programs, speeches, judicial opinions, certificates, newspaper clippings, magazine articles, photographs and scrapbooks.