Skip to main content

Thomas Jefferson Hughes Facsimiles

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01237

Scope and Contents

Facsimiles were likely made in 1965. Photocopies of letters, 1835-1845, to Dr. Thomas Jefferson Hughes of Gloucester County, Va. and Connorsville, Ind. chiefly from his brother Skaife W. Hughes, Jasper C. Hughes, and H. Yates Hughes, all from Gloucester County, Va. Includes photocopies of two essays by Mrs. Sarah Hughes, "What Qualities Should Be Cultivated by the Teacher" and "Forest Trees."

Dates

  • circa 1965

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Dr. Thomas Jefferson Hughes of Gloucester County, Va. and Connorsville, Ind. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Acquisition Information:

Gift

Electronic Format:

Originals in possession of Mrs. Charles Starke, Norfolk, Va.
Title
Guide to the Thomas Jefferson Hughes Facsimiles
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
Date
2007-07-25
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: