Skip to main content

George Frederick Holmes Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 H73

Scope and Contents

The papers of the Holmes family. Chiefly letters, 1842-1887, received by George Frederick Holmes, educator, concerning the College of William and Mary, the University of Mississippi, and the University of Virginia. Correspondents include William Campbell Preston, Andrew Steele Fulton, Robert Saunders and Charles Minnigerode. The collection also includes papers of the Floyd and Preston families; an album kept by Eliza Lavalette Floyd Holmes consisting of plant leaves, newspapers and memorials to her son and a drawing by Thomas C. Milington of the grave-site of John Floyd Holmes; and papers, concerning the estate of George Frederick Holmes.

Dates

  • 1790-1898
  • Majority of material found in 1842-1887

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

George Frederick Holmes was born August 2, 1820 at Straebrock, Demerara, British Guiana, the son of Mary Anne Pemberton Holmes and Joseph Henry Herndon Holmes. He married Eliza Lavalette Floyd, sister of John Buchanan Floyd. He was appointed professor of ancient languages at Richmond College in 1845 and in 1847, he was appointed professor of history and political economy at the College of William and Mary. In 1848, he was chosen the first president of the University of Mississippi. He was recalled to Virginia due to the illness of a family member, suffered an accident, and never returned to Oxford, Mississippi. Holmes was called to the University of Virginia and spent the rest of his life there until his death November 4, 1897.

Extent

0.50 Linear Feet

Acquisition Information:

Purchased from Miss Constance Moore (1/26/1942) and a gift of J. D. Carneal (Sept. 1952)

Processing Information:

Processed by Tim Silver in 1980.
Title
Guide to the George Frederick Holmes Papers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Tim Silver.
Date
2007-07-26
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: