Herbert George Bond Letter
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
The collection consists of one letter written by a Union soldier named Herbert George Bond at Union Mills, Virginia to his brother in Dummerston, Vermont. It describes the illness and death of a fellow soldier, the arrival of a slave fleeing from Richmond at their camp, and Bond's expectation that his troop will travel to Fredericksburg.
Dates
- Creation: 1863 April 12
Creator
- Bond, Herbert George, 1846-1928 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Administrative History:
George Herbert Bond was born in 1846 and served as a private in the 16th Vermont Militiamen during the American Civil War. After the war, Bond was a doorkeeper of the United States Senate Chamber in Washington, D.C.
Extent
0.01 Linear Feet
Acquisition Information:
Acc. 2014.245 was received by Special Collections in February 2014. The letter was purchased from the Dulin fund.
Physical Description
20.5 cm x 12.5 cm
Processing Information:
Accessioned and minimally processed by Tim Eklund, Special Collections staff, in February 2015.
Genre / Form
Geographic
Topical
- Title
- Guide to the Herbert George Bond Letter
- Author
- Finding Aid Authors: Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist.
- Date
- 2015-07-30
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository