Showing Collections: 26 - 50 of 118
Thomas R. Daley Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1994.09
Scope and Contents
Portfolio of correspondence to Thomas R. Daley of Porto Bello Farm, ca. 1914-1920. Business records. Letters written to and from Thomas R. Daley regarding land and property investments in Minnesota, Virginia and Florida. Includes property descriptions, business records,orders for shares in the Metropolitan Milk Company in Minneapolis, Minnesota and orders for farm materials. Thomas Daley's properties in Virginia included Porto Bello Farm, Bassetterre and property on Queen's Creek...
Dates:
1914-1920
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Eastern State Hospital Records
Collection
Identifier: SC 01415
Scope and Contents
The collection is composed of material, chiefly 1862-1868, relating to Eastern Lunatic Asylum (now Eastern State Hospital), Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence, a list of female patients and "coloured" female patients, patient reports, and requisition orders of Dr. Peter Wager, director of the hospital during the Union occupation of Williamsburg. There are also replies, 1956-1957, to inquiries for information about Dr. John de Sequeyera [or Sequeyra], a physician at the hospital from...
Dates:
1862-1868, 1956-1957; Majority of material found in 1862-1868
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Ew3
Scope and Contents
This collection contains materials dated 1784-1934. It includes correspondence, legal papers, and accounts, chiefly 1830-1892, of Benjamin S. Ewell, professor at the U.S. Military Academy, Hampden-Sydney College, Washington and Lee College, and the College of William and Mary (which he served as acting president, 1848-1849, and president, 1854-1888). Letters from Ewell during the Civil War when he was assistant adjutant-general to Gen. Joseph E. Johnston are included as well. Among the...
Dates:
1784-1934; Majority of material found in 1830-1892
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
W. C. Ewing Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Ew4
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, programs, minutes, reports, and clippings; 1935-1936; concerning the Virginia Court season in Williamsburg for 1935 and plans for 1936.
Dates:
1935-1936
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
B. Floyd Flickinger Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.341
Scope and Contents
Papers of B. Floyd Flickinger, Superintendent of the Colonial National Historic Park. Letters, memos, reports, speeches, documents, photographs, and other material related to the creation and operation of the Colonial National Historic Park in Yorktown, Virginia. Material on archaeology at Jamestown and the expansion of the National Park Service. Personal papers which include Flickinger's position at the Technical Training Service at the Quartermaster School during World War II, his...
Dates:
1927-1950
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Rosa Marie and James A. Fuller Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.F95
Scope and Contents
Collection includes letters, citations, scripts of plays, photographs, slides and videos concerning Rosa Marie Fuller's teaching career and James A. Fuller's employment with the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation and his service with the Boy Scouts.
Dates:
1948-1989
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Galt Papers (I)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G13
Scope and Contents
Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates:
1745-1892
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Galt Papers (II)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G13 (II)
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1840-1862, of John M. Galt II concerning his work at the Eastern State Hospital in Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes correspondence, reports, clinical notes, medical diaries, financial papers, and printed material. Two scrapbooks of newspaper clippings were added to the collection in 2011 and are in Box 17. The subject matter is mental health with topics such as insanity, murder, suicide and criminal behavior. Some clippings are about Eastern State Hospital (Virginia...
Dates:
1840-1862
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Galt Papers (III)
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 78 G73
Scope and Contents
The collection covers the dates 1750-1982 and consists chiefly of the personal and business correspondence, financial and legal documents, literary documents, and family history and genealogy notes of the Galt family. The collection also contains clippings, photographs, and personal mementos such as artifacts. Negatives have been added to Galt III, Group XI, Box IV, folder 44. Some material pertaining to William R. Galt is filed in 78 G73 Galt Family Papers III,...
Dates:
1750-1991
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Garrett Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 G19
Scope and Contents
Correspondence of the Garrett family of Williamsburg, Va., concerning family and social news, politics, and the Civil War. Earlier letters deal mainly with business and political news, as several Garrett family members, including Richard R. Garrett, Alexander C. Garrett, and Dr. Robert M. Garrett, were involved in the politics of 19th century Virginia. Correspondence of Dr. Robert M. Garrett and his brothers Alexander C. Garrett and B. F. Garrett concerning the sale of "Yardley," Northampton...
Dates:
1786-1928
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Geddy-Harris Archive Records
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2013.112
Scope and Contents
This collection contains deeds, abstracts of title, wills, and other legal documents from the law firm of Geddy, Harris, Franck & Hickman in Williamsburg, Virginia. The bulk of the material consists of abstracts of title to real property located in Williamsburg, Virginia, and nearby counties, including the Historic Area of Colonial Williamsburg, from the 1920s to the 1950s, as well as deeds to properties in Williamsburg and nearby counties from the 1880s to the 1950s.
Dates:
1773-1959; Majority of material found in 1890-1940
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Mollie M. Graves Letters (Photostats)
Collection
Identifier: SC 01249
Scope and Contents
Photostatic copies (likely made circa 1965-1970) of letters written to Mollie M. Graves in Charles City Courthouse, who recently left Williamsburg, Virginia, from friends and relatives who reside in Williamsburg. The letters are addressed in care of Robert W. Graves.
Signatures of letter writers include E.B. Bowman, Martha and Cousin Sallie. 4 letters.
Dates:
circa 1965-1970
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Guy Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents
Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett. Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates:
1900-1988
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Channing M. Hall III Williamsburg, Virginia Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1999.19a and Additions
Scope and Contents
The collection includes personal as well as offical papers of Channing M. Hall III of Williamsburg. Hall was a member of the Williamsburg City Council and most of the collection concerns the government of the Williamsburg, Virginia.
Dates:
1996-2004
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Channing Moore Hall Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1992.66, 2005.16
Scope and Contents
Professional and personal papers of Channing Moore Hall (1890-1953) attorney and mayor of Williamsburg. A box and folder list for accession 1992.66 of the collection is available in the Special Collections Research Center. A description of accession 2005.16 is available below in the finding aid/inventory.
Dates:
1920-1953; Majority of material found in 1930-1953
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hall Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...
Dates:
1810-2007 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Martha W. Harrison Letter to Thomas Randolph
Collection
Identifier: SC 00669
Scope and Contents
Letter written by Martha Harrison to Thomas Randolph about dances and jubilees, dated May 15, 1807. 19.5 cm x 23 cm. Transcript included.
Martha Harrison may be Martha Wayles Skipwith Harrison who was married to Edmund Harrison and lived in "Genito" in Amelia County, Virginia. The festivities may be part of the 1807 Jamestown celebrations.
Dates:
1807 May 15
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Virginia B. Haughwout Papers
Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1997.17
Scope and Contents
Correspondence and legal papers, 1951-1955, of Mrs. Virginia B. Haughwout of Williamsburg, Virginia, about the construction of a "Virginia Gazette" building on her property on the Duke of Gloucester Street. Correspondence is chiefly with her lawyer Robert T. Armistead and Kenneth Chorley, President of the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. Includes memorandum of argument on behalf of Colonial Williamsburg, Inc., prepared by the firm of Hunton, Williams, Gay, Moore and Powell, 6 June 1955,...
Dates:
1951-1955
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Helen Jones Campbell Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 C15
Scope and Contents
Papers; 1936-1973; of author and Yorktown, Va. resident Helen J. Campbell (1894-1979). Includes photographs, notes, correspondence, clippings, photostats, and manuscript versions of short stories, essays, articles, and books. Her papers concern Yorktown and York County, Va., such as Yorktown National Park, Coleman Bridge, Bruton Parish, the Syms & Eaton School, and other local interest topics. Material also relates to Abraham Lincoln's assassination surrounding Mary E. J. Surratt, John...
Dates:
1936-1973
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Turner Henley Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 H39
Scope and Contents
Chiefly letters, 1916-1921, received by John Turner Henley, while a student at the College of William and Mary and the University of Virginia Law School. The letters are from female and male friends from Williamsburg, The College of William and Mary, and The University of Virginia. They write about their studies, student life, fraternity activities, work, and social life. Other correspondents include Turner Henley's father, Novell L. Henley, Virginia Congressman and Williamsburg, Virginia...
Dates:
1857-1921; Majority of material found in 1918-1921
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Leonard Henley, Jr. Account Book
Collection
Identifier: SC 00935
Scope and Contents
2002.59 This collection is composed of an account book, 1872-1873, kept by Leonard Henley, Jr. a druggist in Williamsburg, Virginia. The account book includes names of residents who had accounts. Henley's store sold other merchandise as well as medicine. 160 p. ; 35 cm. x 21 cm. 2005.19 Leonard Henley artifacts. Civil War artifacts of Dr. Leonard Henley, of Williamsburg, including candle, shoulder strap, $5 Confederate bill, minie ball, Tredegar Iron Works...
Dates:
1872-1873
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Henry C. Hoar Memorial Collection
Collection
Identifier: SC 01283
Scope and Contents
Manuscripts purchased in memory of Henry C. Hoar, a volunteer in the Manuscripts Department of Swem Library, College of William and Mary from 1966 to 1976. Includes letters, 1861, written to Jane Margaret (Winfree) Brown by Catherine Virginia Winfree concerning the coming of the Civil War and by Virginia A. Brown Winfree concerning the evacuation of Hampton which bears letter of C. V. Winfree concerning the vulnerability of the Peninsula; letters, 1861-1863, from Civil War soldiers such as...
Dates:
1861-1886
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Herman Recht Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.31
Scope and Contents
This collection is comprised of more than 700 letters written by Herman Recht (1908-1971), a Navy yeoman, from Camp Peary (U.S. Naval Construction Training Center), near Williamsburg, Virginia, between October 1943 and February 1946, to his wife, Esther, in Clairton, Pennsylvania. There are no letters from Esther because, as he wrote her, saving them would make him homesick.Recht had been a lawyer for eight and a half years before joining the Navy. He was very well read, and...
Dates:
1943-1946
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Historical Pageant of Colonial Jamestown, Williamsburg, Yorktown, Inc. Records
Collection
Identifier: SC 00624
Scope and Contents
Plans, correspondence, pictures of a proposed historical pageant planned by the "Historical Pageant of Colonial Jamestown, Williamsburg and Yorktown, Inc." in 1939. The pageant never happened. Correspondence with Clark Robinson of New York, President General of the SAR, and others. Includes prospectus which explains the object of the pageant. Pageant script called "Symphonic, Out-door Play, Depicting the Colonial Days of Jamestown and Yorktown, Virginia" by John C. Temple. Copies.
Dates:
1939
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Caroline Homassel Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 H75
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, 1796-1811, of Mrs. Caroline Homassel of Williamsburg, Va. to family and friends with comments on Williamsburg.
Dates:
1796-1811
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center