Showing Collections: 26 - 50 of 68
Mary and Hannah Gibbons Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.51
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1793-1890, of sisters and Quaker educators, Mary and Hannah Gibbons. A small number of papers are directly related to their brother, Joseph Gibbons. Correspondence predominantly discusses relatives, friends, travels, and religious sentiments. The second series of items is family and personal papers, consisting of poems, copied scripture, drug prescriptions, and family records. The papers relating to the Infant School established by Mary and Hannah Gibbons make up the third series and...
Dates:
1743-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hall Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...
Dates:
1810-2007 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Henkel Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 H38
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, papers, and ledgers of the Rev. Paul Henkel (1754-1825), who was a Lutheran missionary, and David Henkel, Ambrose Henkel, and Solomon Henkel of New Market, Shenandoah Co., Va. Includes woodcuts and watercolor sketches, Ambrose Henkel's account ledger (1807-1813), notebooks on the study of Hebrew, memorandum book, indentures, certificates, and other. Topics include Lutheranism, printing, Shenandoah County, immigration, merchants, and education. Mss poem with a hand...
Dates:
1783-1874
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Leonard Henley, Jr. Account Book
Collection
Identifier: SC 00935
Scope and Contents
2002.59 This collection is composed of an account book, 1872-1873, kept by Leonard Henley, Jr. a druggist in Williamsburg, Virginia. The account book includes names of residents who had accounts. Henley's store sold other merchandise as well as medicine. 160 p. ; 35 cm. x 21 cm. 2005.19 Leonard Henley artifacts. Civil War artifacts of Dr. Leonard Henley, of Williamsburg, including candle, shoulder strap, $5 Confederate bill, minie ball, Tredegar Iron Works...
Dates:
1872-1873
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
George A. Hise Account Books
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad101-102
Scope and Contents
Kept as a blacksmith in Mt. Solon, Va. Includes correspondence of Hise with Fred Hise and John P. Hise as well as other correspondence and accounts.
Dates:
1886-1901
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hodgson-Estes Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 H66
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1805-1874, of the Hodgson family of Columbia (Fluvanna County), Va.; Buckingham County, Va.; and Goochland County, Va. Includes correspondence, accounts and legal documents of Joseph Hodgson, William B. Hodgson, Jr. and Hodgson & Estes, Columbia, Va. There are nineteen manuscript volumes, mostly account books of Joseph Hodgson (trading as Hodgson & Ellis and Hodgson & Son), but also including a letterbook, 1850-1852 and 1860-1863, of Hodgson. Includes memorandum, 1856, of...
Dates:
1805-1874
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Philip Howerton Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H84
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1812-1870, of Philip Howerton and his family of Halifax County, Va. Includes a letterbook, 1829-1853; account books, 1825-1857, of the store and blacksmith's shop of Philip Howerton and tobacco manufacturing company of Philip Howerton and W. M. Howerton. The collection also includes accounts, 1852-1859, for transporting tobacco; sermons, 1832 and n.d., of Charles Busser; constitution and minutes of the Branch Bible Society of Halifax County, Va.; letter, 1834, from...
Dates:
1812-1870
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Ivy House Restaurant Records
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.51
Scope and Contents
The records of the Ivy House Restaurant in Williamsburg, Virginia include business records, guest registers, customer and business correspondence, legal documents, and a variety of ephemera from the local business including menus. This mid-20th century collection documents the history of this restaurant during a time when Williamsburg was going through changes and growth in the tourism industry.
Dates:
1906-1985; Majority of material found in 1948-1960
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
James Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 81 J23
Scope and Contents
Correspondence of Cyrus Rosser James (1855-1937), Methodist minister in Virginia (on the Buckingham, Heathsville, North Mecklenburg and Whitestone Charges), with his family including his wife, Annie (Shields) James and his children. Also includes account books, accounts, photographs, scrapbooks, printed books and postcards.
Dates:
1826-1914
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Jerdone Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 J47
Scope and Contents
This collection contains papers of the Jerdone family, 1753- (1771-1845) -1890. It includes letters, letterbooks, and account books of immigrant Francis Jerdone (1721-1771), Scottish factor who lived in Hanover County, Yorktown and Louisa County, Virginia, and letters of his wife, Sarah (Macon) Jerdone. Most of the collection consists of letters, accounts, and diaries of the next two generations of members of the Jerdone family including Francis Jerdone (1756-1841), planter of...
Dates:
1753-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
King William III and Queen Mary II Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 75s W67
Scope and Contents
This collection contains items relating to King William III of England (1650-1702) and his wife Queen Mary II (1662-1694) spanning 1689 to 1710. There is also research material, dated 1986-1988, relating to King William III and Queen Mary II. The collection consists of three letters of appointment to office, a commission (written in Latin), a warrant for payment of services, and a manuscript volume of public revenues and expenditures during the reigns of William III, Mary II, and Queen Anne...
Dates:
1689-1710
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Amos Koontz Papers I
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 K83
Scope and Contents
The collection consists mainly of certificates presented to Amos R. Koontz, M.D., by the army, together with his medals in a frame, and membership certificates in organizations. Included is a competition for designs for National Military Dress (1809); and shoemaker’s account books of Harden Keyser (1849-1861), one of which Mattie Keyser used as a scrapbook at a later period and in which she wrote autograph poems; a souvenir booklet of the Panama Pacific Exposition (1915); and genealogical...
Dates:
1809-1965; Majority of material found in 1936-1965
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Lassiter Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L33
Scope and Contents
Papers (including correspondence and speeches); 1861-1928; of Francis Rives Lassiter and Charles Trotter Lassiter. Correspondence concerns Virginia Democratic Party, Prohibition, the Good Roads Movement, agriculture, and the presidential campaign of 1928. The collection includes a list of Petersburg, Va. volunteers in the American Civil War; letter copybooks of both men; and papers, 1910, relating to the death of Francis Rives Lassiter. 962 items and 8 volumes. Acc. 2011.613...
Dates:
1861-1928
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Abner Johnson Leavenworth Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L48
Scope and Contents
Correspondence and papers of Rev. Abner J. Leavenworth, Presbyterian clergyman relating to his theological studies at Andover, Massachusetts and New Haven, Connecticut and his ministry at Waterbury and Bristol, Connecticut, Charlotte, North Carolina and Warrenton and Petersburg, Virginia. Includes correspondence and accounts, 1835-1838, with Turner & Hughes, booksellers in Raleigh, North Carolina. Includes correspondence with his wife Elizabeth M. Peabody Leavenworth and a letter, 1832,...
Dates:
1825-1850
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Millington Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 M59
Scope and Contents
Papers including correspondence concerning Millington's experiences as directing engineer of the Anglo-Mexican Mining Association, as professor at College of William and Mary where he lived in the Wythe House, as professor at University of Mississippi, and at Memphis Medical College. Includes diaries covering 1832, 1835, and 1861-1867; letters of his family members; and Blankenship family land records and letters concerning the Spanish-American War.
Dates:
1801-1951
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Mongle-Hughes Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 M74
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, 1857-1895, of members of the Mongle and Hughes families of Holston, Washington County, Va. and Evergreen, Tenn. Among the correspondents are J.J. Hughes, his sons William A. Hughes and Oliver F. Hughes and his daughter Sarah A. Hughes Mongle; and Samuel A. Mongle and James Mongle of Abingdon, Va. Includes papers, 1874-1884, concerning the registration of voters in Washington County, Va.; and accounts, 1832-1916, of Hughes & Co., Mongle & Hughes and J.B. Mongle &...
Dates:
1832-1916
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Nicolson Family Ledgers and Journals
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 N52, 76 N52 and 93 N52
Scope and Contents
Collection contains account journals, some papers and other items of James M. Nicolson, a general merchant in Gloucester County, Virginia (1802-1869), an account book kept by Nicolson and Capt. John L. Hibble as Assistant Quarter Masters of the 26th Virginia Regiment, 1861-1864 (discusses slaves labors); a letter book of H. Yeatman & Co., merchants of Gloucester Court House, 1869-1870, which also contains some of Nicolson's correspondence; and ledger accounts, 1892-1899, for farming at...
Dates:
1802-1914
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Charles Triplett O'Ferrall Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Of2
Scope and Contents
Papers (including business and personal correspondence and accounts), chiefly 1867-1893, of Charles T. O'Ferrall, member of the Democratic Party, lawyer, judge, Congressman and governor. His papers include a daybook, 1865-1866, of the American Hotel, Staunton, Va.; his fee book, 1869-1873; and papers concerning legal cases. Collection includes letters, 11 December 1868-18 February 1869 and 1877, of O'Ferrall's first wife, Annie McLain Hand O'Ferrall ; his brothers, R.H. O'Ferrall, and I....
Dates:
1856-1904; Majority of material found in 1867-1893
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Tayloe Perrin Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 P42
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1770-1931, of the Perrin family of Gloucester County, Va. Chiefly the diaries and writings of John Tayloe Perrin. Includes farm books, scrapbooks, accounts, wills, and articles by Perrin.
Dates:
1770-1931
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Person Family papers
Collection
Identifier: MSS ACC 2005.56
Scope and Contents
The collection contains papers ranging in date from 1872 to 2002 documenting the Person family. Materials includes account books including those of both Charles Person and William Person, Sr. Other papers and photographsd illustrate family life in the city of Williamsburg, Virginia in the early-to-mid 1900s. Artifacts, including fans, Williamsburg Laundry thermometer and a charcoal drawing of a residence are also included.Box 5 (oversize) includes material from the addition...
Dates:
Circa 1872-2002
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 7.003
Scope and Contents
This collection contains account books, statements, receipts, and checkbook stubs from the Peninsula Bank and Trust Co. and the Treasurer's book for the William and Mary chapter (Eleanor Calkins, Treasurer).
Dates:
1925-1937
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the President. Thomas Roderick Dew Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 2.05
Scope and Contents
This collection includes correspondence from Dew as well as an account book.Note, dated October 16, 1837, written by Dew to Judge Abel P. Upshur, concerning the granting of credit to students by merchants. The note is handwritten on a printed Resolution by the Board of Visitors, adopted July, 1836.Letter, dated October 18, 1837, written by Dew to William H. Harrison, principal of the Academy at the Wigwam in Amelia, Virginia, and defends the institution of slavery in...
Dates:
1833-1852
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Robert Preston Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 P92
Scope and Contents
Papers of Robert Preston, surveyor of Washington County, Virginia, dated 1780-1864. Includes on site notes of land surveyed, without plats. Mostly unprocessed and the vast majority of items has not been described yet.Includes letters, from relatives in Ireland; financial and legal documents; surveys; plats; and memorandum books. Includes certificate, 22 December 1779, issued by the College of William and Mary appointing Robert Preston surveyor of Washington County,...
Dates:
1770-1864
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Rembert Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00019
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of approximately 1,400 total items including approximately 550 letters from 1944 to 1955 between John Patrick Rembert and his wife Sarafan, as well as other correspondence regarding homelife and the military and World War II. Also included in this collection are photo albums and loose photographs, including many portraits of John Patrick Rembert and Sarafan Rembert, relatives of the Remberts, friends and family and the Rembert's travels. There are several 8x10...
Dates:
circa 1885-1965; Majority of material found in 1910-1955
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
L. S. Rhodes & Sons Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R34
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1886-1923, of L. S. Rhodes and Sons, Linnville, Rockingham County, Va. Chiefly accounts with suppliers, local producers, manufacturers, and wholesale houses, but including bank statements, canceled checks, tax and license receipts. Consists of 5,810 items and about 100 manuscript volumes.
The ledgers are stored off-site and require a 72 hour notice for retrieval.
Dates:
1886-1923
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center