Charles? C. Johnston, Washington City, to My Dear Sir [John B. Floyd], 1832 March 7
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents
Send two notes of $2000; things going badly in Richmond; agitation due to slavery question; "blunder of Calhoun in bringing Van Buren back among us by rejecting him"; Northern party carrying on war with South; hopes this will unite Southern party in "common sense of wrong and determination of resistance"; when struggle starts those like Ritchie [Van Buren] who betray party will be put down; "we must shoot all deserters and spies". 2pp. ALS.
Dates
- Creation: 1832 March 7
Creator
- From the Collection: Preston Family (Family)
- From the Collection: Floyd, John Buchanan, 1806-1863 (Person)
- From the Collection: Hughes family (Collector, Family)
- From the Collection: Hughes, Robert William (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Humboldt, Alexander von, 1769-1859 (Person)
- From the Collection: Johnston, Joseph Eggleston, 1807-1891 (Person)
- From the Collection: Preston, Francis (Person)
- From the Collection: Preston, John, 1764-1827 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 0.75 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository