Preston, John, 1764-1827
Person
Found in 3 Collections and/or Records:
Carrington Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 C22
Scope and Contents
Includes letter, 1816, from John Preston to Daniel Putnam concerning estate of Edward Carrington; release (draft), 1817, of Elizabeth Ann Carrington Preston's interest in land; survey, 1785, of 1,000 acres on Cumberland River surveyed for Mayo Carrington as part of military warrant; letters, 1828-1833, of Cadwallader Wallace to Richard A. Carrington; deed, 1830, from John Coulter to Richard A. Carrington; and power of attorney from Richard A. Carrington to Cadwallader Wallace.
Dates:
1785-1830
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Floyd-Johnston-Preston Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.37
Scope and Contents
Letters and papers of the Floyd, Johnston, and Preston families, as well as newspaper articles principally concerning Gen. Joseph E. Johnston and Judge Robert William Hughes. The central figures in the collection include Gen. John Preston, his brother Gen. Francis Preston, Gen Joseph E. Johnston (1807-1891), his niece, Eliza Hughes (1825-1908), and Harriet Lane, niece of President Buchanan. The collection also contains the correspondence of or papers relating to Congressman Charles C....
Dates:
1753-1940
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Preston Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 P91
Scope and Contents
This inventory, chiefly 1786-1815, represents three generations of the Preston family, and likewise can be divided into the following: Items relating to William Preston (ca. 1729-1783), 1755-1782, primarily photostats of appointments to various county offices (coroner, sheriff and surveyor) and to positions in the Virginia militia; but also including original appointments, 1763 and 1776; a surveyor's entry; 1774; and letters, 1773-1782, to Preston concerning land, the Cherokee...
Dates:
1755-1836; Majority of material found in 1786-1815
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Additional filters:
- Subject
- Indians of North America--History--19th century 2
- Architecture, Domestic--Virginia 1
- Buckingham County (Va.)--History 1
- Carriage and wagon making 1
- Certificates 1
- Cherokee Indians 1
- College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
- Cumberland River (Va.) 1
- Dueling--Virginia 1
- Financial records 1
- Freedmen--Virginia--History 1
- Legal documents 1
- Petitions 1
- Photostats 1
- Slavery--Virginia--History--18th century 1
- Tariff--United States--History 1
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
- United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 1
- United States--History--War of 1812 1
- United States--Politics and Government 1
- United States--Politics and government--1789-1815 1
- United States--Slavery 1
- Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
- Virginia--Militia 1
- Virginia--Politics and Government--18th century 1
- Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 1 + ∧ less
∨ more