Scope and Contents From the Collection: Letters and papers of the Floyd, Johnston, and Preston families, as well as newspaper articles principally concerning Gen. Joseph E. Johnston and Judge Robert William Hughes. The central figures in the collection include Gen. John Preston, his brother Gen. Francis Preston, Gen Joseph E. Johnston (1807-1891), his niece, Eliza Hughes (1825-1908), and Harriet Lane, niece of President Buchanan. The collection also contains the correspondence of or papers relating to Congressman Charles C....

Scope and Contents

2pp. D.

Scope and Contents

Settling books of late partnership; owed money by Preston. 2pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Survey of 200 acres of land in Montgomery County for William Foster. 1p. D.

Scope and Contents

Next meet at Botetourt; will introduce new relation; invite Sally and Francis to Botetourt; need Col. Cabell in order to appoint diem falcium; want certificates from Pelhan but cannot reach him; also includes newspaper clipping concerning John D. Blair. 2pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents Scope and ContentsPreston only officer present; "Indians hovering near my lines"; W. Breckenridge's family at Smithfield; Bluestone fired on by three Indians; W. Crockett then Preston search for Indians; Indians retired to the Henides?; hard to surprise; assembly called early; prepare to leave before expected; sent Jim home to put horses in order; instruct brother to take care of horses; send book Vatell's Law of Nations; did not send sugar; also includes a morning report of...

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents

Arrived at Colstee?; boats delayed; projects disagreeable voyage due to low tide; regained deserters for reward; deserters confined; General Wayne moved down river; Wayne killed Indians [Miami?] with bayonets; Wayne desires 15 or 20 hundred militia for battle; unlikely as militia unwilling to serve under him; Indians enjoy peace this spring and summer; Indians "live in dread in their small forts in the most wretched manner". 2pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Not heard from family since leaving Smithfield; expected Tamy? who was delayed in seeking money at home; dispirited but hope to soon return to good state of health; Francis fears a relapse; wants to be kept abreast of family's welfare; urges Francis to think first of his health; offer loan; prevented from going to Philadelphia in winter so won't see Francis; requests names of merchants to whom Francis is indebted; lottery. 4pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents

Congratulate on birth of son; serpent of faction threatens brother's election; opponent on circuit in G. Briar of Paris; opponent has agents in different counties throughout district; brother has a chance to mortify his enemies; "those that appear to be his well wishers appear distressed at the head"; can't come visit but willing to meet in Rockbridge of Botetourt; young ladies have French tutor; request Vistoe's[?] French Grammar. 2pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Bond for title. 1p. D.

Scope and Contents Scope and ContentsHeading to Philadelphia from Richmond; decide to return home; send stage copies of several surveys; in order to dispose of the acreage in Mrs. Mirret's[?] name he desires the right of inspection and ability to reject if necessary; directions for sale of plots by Francis will come in W. Taylor's letter; send 100 dollars of collected debt money to Preston; unsuccessful at hiring Negroes; advertised and attended Henrico and Hanover court; "seen number hired, but...

Scope and Contents Mr. Lennard quit and hired a new man; cannot sell land entrusted to him but will continue to try; ask bother to collect 1000 dollar debt owed him by Evans; hold onto land; doesn't know if Mr. Price the register has disposed of certificates; ask if again a candidate for senate; opposition Smyth attended congress; Smyth merciless; treaty rescued by president; proposal to present all information before treaty comes before Congress; resolution oppoesd on grounds it is unneccessary and...

Scope and Contents

Accept invitation to visit; mother will also come and travel to Sweet Springs for health; congratulate on birth of second son; likely will be brought up in military school and instructed in reality of war; mortified he has no son; wants nephew William to visit him in winter; will give him a sword; public doubts nephew's courage; he personally has no doubt will succesfully use sword on proper occasion. 3pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Draft to executor accepting position of commisioner to provide for opening of road from upper James River to the Kanawha River. 1p. Df.

Scope and Contents

Expect the arrival of Francis; pay seventy-five pounds cash out of annuity to Peggy; Johnny and children ill. 3pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Had Aglae purchase a shawl; will send money for shawl; possibly visit, but have four children and forty to fifty in family; want her certificate for claim of turnpike shares, also includes typewritten transcript of letter. 3pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents

Introduce William Preston; ask for him to receive William; future gloomy; live among strangers; region being settled by cold-hearted Pennsylvanian immigrants; "the Rowdy" also taking over; the Rowdy come from no particular state but are native; life only supportable because of chases [horse races] and climate; friends are General Preston's family; Morton has strong ties to keep him in France. 3pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents

Want to borrow after having been paid thirty to fifty thousand dollars; sale of property to Mr. Coallen; will send Mr. Sallworks? to help in sale; Coallen sold Negroes in South Carolina and got 500 dollars; can get a good price but don't pressure too much; "He's an old Augusta man will I imagine treat the Negroes kindly". 3pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents Court case shifting against them; Marcellus Smith brought forward to prove Preston Smith authorized to settle treasury business with Mr. Baker; attorneys seek right to ask how much money John Preston usually let in the treasury; commonwealth wants bank books to prove 39,000 cannot have been part of money in bank which was turned over to Baker; case may go to appeals; Call? would not communicate plan of foreclosing the literary fund; $6,200 unaccounted for from literary fund; was a law in...

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents

Send two notes of $2000; things going badly in Richmond; agitation due to slavery question; "blunder of Calhoun in bringing Van Buren back among us by rejecting him"; Northern party carrying on war with South; hopes this will unite Southern party in "common sense of wrong and determination of resistance"; when struggle starts those like Ritchie [Van Buren] who betray party will be put down; "we must shoot all deserters and spies". 2pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Send a profile of himself; profile made by a woman without arms; will soon return home; will write to Pres[ton Johnston] who is now student at an academy. 2pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents

Announce death of Charles; body found in creek; he was eating at an inn in Alexandria; heard steamboat bell and attempted to return to "this place"; supposedly missed the wharf and fell in the water; lost his life by a "scrupulous endeavor to be at his post in the performance of his public duty". 2pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

William's business injured by amounts taken from the capital of the store and other debts; Harriet will take John; good place for him as Harriet's mode of government strong and uniform; business slow because so many druggists; Devotion and Osgood draw away customers; Doctr. Vail is 87 and still doing business. 3pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Preamble and resolution from Washington respecting death of her brother [Preston Johnston]; victories by army under Genl Scott over Mexican forces; in battle Lieutenant John Preston fell; son of Charles Johnston who died in the Potomac River; Eliza only immediate family left; give condolences; also includes introductory letter to the preamble and resolution. 3pp. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Give the particulars of Mr. Johnston's unexpected death; Johnston had intended to return home from Columbia but postponed; friends visit that evening and he sent them away saying he would be better in the morning; died around 2 a.m.; doctor believes was inflammation of the bowels; was well loved; will erect tombstone; give love to Eliza. 2pp. ALS.