Special Collections Research Center

This collection contains one bound album of 18 photographs of African Americans, including children, women, as well as men in military uniforms. Photographs were taken by multiple studios in Virginia including the E.C. Leath Photograph Gallery in Petersburg and the Virginia, Evans and Son Gallery in Norfolk, virginia. Other photographs were produced by New York based studios including Adams Studio and Richard Ward Studio. The photographs include carte de visites, tintypes and postcards.

1918 Ledger of Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen for Cockade City, Lodge No. 905, Petersburg, VA. Printed volume with hand-printed completions.

Kept while a law student at the University of Virginia. Also includes notes made while practicing law with his brother Francis Rives Lassiter in Petersburg, Virginia.

Letters, 1945, of Elizabeth Williams, of Petersburg, Virginia, to her husband, Earl. Her first letter describes her reaction to the surrender of Japan on 14 August 1945. She also describes her social life in Petersburg, Virginia, movies she saw, friends with which she interacted, and other events. Earl Williams was in the United States Navy and stationed aboard the USS Indiana.

A hundred page handwritten diary kept by G. B. Keeler. Keeler worked and lived in Petersburg, VA. The diary contains details of his home life and mentions of his work as a contractor and mason.

Content warning for derogatory language directed towards Black individuals.

This collection consists of letters from supervisors or sponsors to Minnie A. Hill, a northern female teacher, who was in Norfolk and then Petersburg, Virginia teaching at freedmen’s schools in the late 1860s.

Ledger, 1826-1848, of Dr. John Bragg, Petersburg, Va. concerning his medical practice.

One letter from John M. Kirkpatrick to Rev. E.D. Saunders, written on February 10, 1845. Kirkpatrick, a resident of Farmville, Virginia, is inquiring about a teaching job in the math department at Rev. Saunders' school in Petersburg, Virginia. E.D. Saunders was the first President of the Petersburg Classical Institute, a first-class boys preparatory institute. Kirkpatrick would become a teacher at the school.

A four page letter from a woman who lived in Petersburg named Maria to her aunt, Flavia Converse. The letter is signed M.S. with the last name illegible.

An artificial collection of papers created from material acquired during the 1930's and 1940's.  Mostly letters, financial records, published material and official records of individuals in Virginia and elsewhere.  Includes documents and signatures of well known people, such as Benjamin Harrison, John Randolph and Franklin D. Roosevelt.

Diary, 1858 September 11-25, of Mary Levick Simpson of Petersburg, Virginiaa.] kept during her trip to New York, a brief stay in New York, an ocean voyage to England and her stay in England.

Handwritten memoir by Anna Eliza Caroline Partin about her experiences in Petersburg and Richmond, Virginia during the Civil War, particularly the siege of Petersburg.  Biographical information on Anna Eliza Caroline Partin, John William Partin, the Bunkley Family and the Ferrebee Family.  Copy of picture who may be Anna Eliza Caroline Partin. The biographical and genealogy folders are photocopies of a handwritten scroll.

Papers and photographs, 1871-1913, bulk 1873-1904, of the Peebles, Watson and Arrington families of Norfolk and Petersburg, Va. Includes letters, primarily from Joseph Littleton Peebles to Kate S. Watson during their courtship and marriage. Also includes genealogical notes. The Peebles farm is a part of the Petersburg National Battlefield Park.

From the library of Charles Trotter Lassiter. Scrapbooks, circa 1804-1901, containing a series of articles entitled,"Petersburg in the Olden Time," by Moratock. One scrapbook has handwritten copies of numbers 1-5; and the other scrapbook has newspaper clippings of the entire series.

Ledger, 1854-1863, of Joseph C. Swan, Petersburg, Va. book dealer.

A letter from Will H., Battery B, 1st NY Artillery, 5th Army Corps, to "Esteemed Friend Jenny," describes the Petersburg mine assault. It was written the day after the Battle of the Crater.

Artificial collection of papers relating to various cities in the Commonwealth of Virginia.