Skip to main content

Vito L. Bianco collection of African American photographs

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00325

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Content Description

This collection contains one bound album of 18 photographs of African Americans, including children, women, as well as men in military uniforms. Photographs were taken by multiple studios in Virginia including the E.C. Leath Photograph Gallery in Petersburg and the Virginia, Evans and Son Gallery in Norfolk, virginia. Other photographs were produced by New York based studios including Adams Studio and Richard Ward Studio. The photographs include carte de visites, tintypes and postcards.

Dates

  • Creation: circa 1875

Conditions Governing Access

The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

0.375 Linear Feet (1 Hollinger box)

Language

English

Additional Description

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Donated by Vito L. Bianco in honor of daughter Jillian Taylor Bianco

Processing Information

This collection received container level processing. This finding aid may be updated to reflect new descriptions and acquisitions to the collection.

Subjects

Finding Aid & Administrative Information

Title
Guide to the Vito L. Bianco collection of African American photographs
Status
Completed
Author
William & Mary Special Collections Research Center Staff
Date
November 2022
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin

Repository Details

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: