Skip to main content

Diaries

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 333 Collections and/or Records:

Richard B. Buckner Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D8
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1829-1838, of Richard B. Buckner, "St. Bernard," Fauquier County, Virginiaa.], discussing farm work and the weather.

Dates: 1829-1838
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Marie Rifenburg Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00689
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1934, of Marie Rifenburg of Rhinebeck, New York. Primarily concern her day to day activities, which often take place with a person named Elmer. She mentions many trips "after supper" to a place called The Hill Top. Many entries also concerns various movies which Rifenburg went to see, often including their names, the names of actors and actresses in the movie, as well as her opinions on them. There are also three advertisements for movies that were clipped out of local newspapers.

Dates: 1934
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Ritchie-Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R51
Scope and Contents Papers, 1807-1938, but mainly 1830-1870, of the Ritchie and Harrison families. Includes letters, documents and a diary of members of the family of Thomas Ritchie, his wife Isabella (Foushee) Ritchie and ten of their twelve children of Richmond, Va., "Brandon," Prince George County, Va. and Washington, D.C. There are letters, 1847-1848, of Dr. Robert Ruffin Ritchie in Mexico and letters, 1849-1860, of George Ritchie while serving in the United States Navy. Many prominent...
Dates: 1807-1938; Majority of material found in 1830-1870
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Robb-Bernard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R54
Scope and Contents Papers, 1800-1901, of and relating to John Hipkins and John Hipkins Bernard (mostly accounts); of and relating to members of the Hipkins, Bernard and Robb families; and relating to the Hipkins-Bernard-Robb home "Rose Hill," Caroline County, Va. (later renamed "Gay Mont") and to Bernard's lands in Alabama, Texas and Arkansas. Includes diaries, correspondence, poems, accounts and account books of women (Elizabeth Hipkins, Jane Gay Robertson Bernard, and Helen Struan Bernard Robb); and legal...
Dates: 1665-2001; Majority of material found in 1850-1950
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Robert Bolling Willcox Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D35
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1890-1893, of Robert Bolling Willcox of "Flowerdew Hundred," Prince George County, Virginia. which discusses plantation life, Virginia politics, weather, neighbors, and family.

Dates: 1890-1893
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Robert C. Towles Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D28
Scope and Contents Collection consists of a typescript of the diary of Sgt. Robert C. Towles, Company A, 4th Virginia Cavalry, Confederate Army, from August 5, 1863-June 20, 1864. It was kept while Towles was a prisoner of the Union Army in Warrenton, Virginia and Washington, D.C. The diary also details his escape from Carroll Prision, an annex to the Old Capitol Prison, in Washington D.C.The collection also includes a typed copy of his furlough, dated November 14, 1863, which was signed by...
Dates: 1863-1864
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Robert W. Campbell Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00902
Scope and Contents Robert Campbell lives near Reliance, Virginia in Warren County, Virginia. He is likely a high school student since he usually notes whether he attended school, which he often does not. He begins writing in November 1906 with one or two line entries of his activities, which consist of school, work, events such as butchering or marriages, visits to area towns, visits to neighbors, playing, hunting, fishing, work in the garden and church. He also gives the weather for most entries....
Dates: 1906-1910
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Johann C. Roehlke Farm Journal

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Co5
Scope and Contents

Journal, 122 pages, of Johann C. Roehlcke, a farmer, containing a variety of information, such as how to plant and care for trees, recipes, dates of birth of his children, etc.  Written in German script.

Dates: 1791-1825
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Rogers-Angevine Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.047, 2009.080, 2009.173
Scope and Contents This collection consists diaries of mother and daughters from New York (State). There are seven diaries of Lidorna A. Rogers, 1895-1896, 1896-1897, 1900-1901, 1912 and 1914-1915, and five diaries of her daughter Una L. Angevine for the years 1916 and 1921-1923. Acc. 2009.047 consists of two diaries, 1902-1903, 1904,  of L. A. Rogers (Lidorna A. Rogers) living near Maine, New York.  Many of her entries deal with weaving, particularly carpets and curtains.  Other entries concern...
Dates: 1895-1923
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Sybil Marie Rossman Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00965
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1928, of Sybil Marie Rossman, a nurse at several hosptials in upstate New York.

For more detailed description provided by the seller, click on the Finding Aid link below.

Dates: 1928
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Rowena Goddard Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01211
Scope and Contents Contains the diary of Rowena Goddard of Portland, Maine kept while traveling in Germany with her mother in the spring and summer of 1889. Goddard spends most of her trip in Dresden taking drawing lessons from a Herr Schinker. Some some other sites she visited while in Germany include Berlin, Bohemia, Karlstad and Bayreuth. In her diary, Goddard wrote of taking German lessons and socializing with other students and friends, wandering and observing the city she is in, her extensive travels by...
Dates: 1889
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Lucy P. Ruddy Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00741
Scope and Contents Lucy P. Ruddy’s journal is a small one, only covering the period from January 1 - August 3, 1893. The faintly lined pages are unnumbered, except for a few that Lucy numbered at the beginning (pages 1 - 13). She began this journal as a young woman living in late 19th century New England, apparently in or near Lynn, Massachusetts. On her title page, she displayed her name “Lucy P. Ruddy,” the year “1893,” and a solemn declaration, ”This year for Christ,” followed by her initials....
Dates: 1893
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Gladys Ryan Travel Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00908
Scope and Contents Diary of Gladys Ryan written during her trip to Europe. She begins her trip on a train from Oakland, California via Chicago to New York. She sails June 25, 1929 on the Saturnia of the Casculisch line. She describes life aboard the ship. Her first stop is Algiers, then she visits Capri, Naples, Amalfi, Pompeii, Rome, Florence, Venice, Vienna, Prague (where a man in a tavern spat at her and her friend), Munich, Lucerne, Interlaken and Montreaux. She describes the tourist sites and...
Dates: 1929
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Sailor's Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01187
Scope and Contents

Diary, kept January 1 to March 30, 1918 on board the U.S.S. Vestal by an unidentified sailor who worked in the blacksmith shop. He mentions letters from Cam [or C.A.M.], owing taxes in British Columbia, weather, airing mattress, his 27th birthday on March 18, and other topics. It also includes an English-French dictionary.

Dates: 1918
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Rev. Samuel Huntting Sayre, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.43
Scope and Contents Personal, family and ministerial correspondence of Rev. Samuel H. Sayre.  His personal diaries from 1918 to 1963, his sermons and notes are included in this collection.  There are family and other personal photographs and many postcard and tourist packet photographs from his trips to Europe and his automobile trips from California to Virginia.  Publication material includes church bulletins, news clippings, tourist pamphlets, magazines and others.  His family correspondence possibly has more...
Dates: 1874-1989; Majority of material found in 1920-1960
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Scrapbook (Harpers Ferry, West Virginia)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00656
Scope and Contents Diary, 1860, of an unidentified person from what was then Harpers Ferry, Virginia, and is now Harpers Ferry, West Virginia. Includes a handwritten timeline of the life of Stephen A. Douglas, newsclippings dealing with slavery, the Kansas Territory, and the separation of Virginia and West Virginia, articles with handwritten comments about Charleston, South Carolina, and clippings with handwritten comments about the election of Abraham Lincoln and how his election will affect the United...
Dates: 1860
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Theodocius Joshua Scurlock Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 81 Scu4
Scope and Contents The collection is primarily composed of letters received by Dr. Theodocius Joshua Scurlock (1828-1887), a graduate of Tulane University and a resident of Texas and Mexico, 1855-1888, from family members in Alabama and Texas, and friends in Alabama, Mississippi, and Texas. The letters reflect the restlessness of the pre-Civil War years, and the difficulties and disillusionment felt by many people during Reconstruction. The diary included was kept by Scurlock on his journey to Mexico, December...
Dates: 1855-1888
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Marie Katherine and Oliver E. Seegelken papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00389
Scope and Contents The papers of Marie Katherine and Oliver Seegelken consist of a 1934 diary of the couple's South American sea voyage kept by Marie Seegelken, and of love letters between husband and wife, 1918, 1943, and undated. During WWI, Oliver Seegelken served in the USNRF (United States Naval Reserve Force) in San Pedro, California.The diary is filled not only with an account of each day, but with hand-drawn illustrations of passengers, crew, and ports.  Marie Seegelken also wrote vignettes...
Dates: 1918-1943; Majority of material found in 1934
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John Armistead Selden Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D12
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1841-1848, of John Armistead Selden, farmer and landowner, of "Westover," Charles City County, Virginiaa. The diary includes farming records and weather data.

Dates: 1841-1848
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Sixty-Seventh Field Hospital Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.35
Scope and Contents

The 67th Field Hospital Collection contains documents and photographs depicting the history of the 67th Field Hospital during the European Theater of World War II and the 17 reunions of the 67th Field Hospital held from 1986 to 2002.

Dates: 1943-2002; Majority of material found in 1943-1946 and 1986-2002
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Robert Skipwith Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Sk4
Scope and Contents Diaries, 1834-1898, of Robert Skipwith kept in Goochland County, Va., Richmond, Va. and Powhatan County, Va. Much of Skipwith's life is documented by these 14 diaries and topics include weather, personal affairs (the loss of his wife, and his aging), farming, social life in his neighborhood, the Civil War, Reconstruction, and Virginia politics. He often included genealogical information on individuals when he recorded their deaths. Skipwith's 1862-1865 diary has been digitized...
Dates: 1834-1898
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Mary Slawson Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00712
Scope and Contents Diary, 1907, of Mary Slawson of Boonville, New York. Slawson seems to have worked in some sort of cheese processing facility or diary farm, as she mentions that she works with cheese. She also mentions that she has to leave her son, Willie, with other family members during the day while she and her husband, Frank, work and how she is lonely without him. The diary also concerns her daily activities, people with whom she meets, and the weather. The following excerpts were provided...
Dates: 1907
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John Cleveland Sloan Baby Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01009
Scope and Contents

Four diaries, 1893-1894, describing the first 18 months of the life of John Cleveland Sloan. Sloan was born on 9 January 1893. For more detailed description provided by the seller, click on the Finding Aid link below.

Dates: 1893-1894
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Daniel J. Smith Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00654
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1890, of Daniel J. Smith of Aultman, Ohio on a trip to Corvallis, Oregon. Includes the names of hotels at which Smith stayed, his expenses during the course of his trip, conditions of the roads on which he traveled, and the names and addresses of people that he met along the way. Also included is discussion of local politics in various locations which Smith visited.

Dates: 1890
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William C. Somerville Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Tr3
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1817, of [William C. Somerville ?] describing his journey from Baltimore [Md?] to Saratoga and other points in New York. The volume includes a St. Memin engraving of Somerville on the front fly-leaf.

Dates: 1817
Found in: Special Collections Research Center