Skip to main content

Marie Rifenburg Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00689

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Scope and Contents

Diary, 1934, of Marie Rifenburg of Rhinebeck, New York. Primarily concern her day to day activities, which often take place with a person named Elmer. She mentions many trips "after supper" to a place called The Hill Top. Many entries also concerns various movies which Rifenburg went to see, often including their names, the names of actors and actresses in the movie, as well as her opinions on them. There are also three advertisements for movies that were clipped out of local newspapers.

Dates

  • Creation: 1934

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Additional Description

Processing Information:

Accessioned and minimally processed by Benjamin Bromley in April 2012.

Subjects

Finding Aid & Administrative Information

Title
Guide to the Marie Rifenburg Diary
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Benjamin Bromley, Public Services Archives Specialist.
Date
2012-04-06
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: