Skip to main content

Rogers-Angevine Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.047, 2009.080, 2009.173

  • Staff Only

Scope and Contents

This collection consists diaries of mother and daughters from New York (State). There are seven diaries of Lidorna A. Rogers, 1895-1896, 1896-1897, 1900-1901, 1912 and 1914-1915, and five diaries of her daughter Una L. Angevine for the years 1916 and 1921-1923.

Acc. 2009.047 consists of two diaries, 1902-1903, 1904,  of L. A. Rogers (Lidorna A. Rogers) living near Maine, New York.  Many of her entries deal with weaving, particularly carpets and curtains.  Other entries concern household routines, visitors, children, family and local events.

Acc. 2009.080 is a set of 6 diaries. Two volumes 1912, 1914-1915, were kept by the mother Lidorna A. Rogers of Vestal, Broome County, NY, and four volumes, 1916 and 1921-1923, were kept by her daugther, Una L. Angevine, from Union, NY. Both women record daily housework, like cooking, washing, and sewing, social visits, health, and weather.

Acc. 2009.175 consists of three diaries, 1895-1896, 1896-1897 and 1900-1901 kept by Lidorna A. Rogers and one diary, 1921-1922 kept by Una L. Angevine. This volume is the second part to her 1921 diary in Acc. 2009.080. Entries are of a similar nature as described in earlier accessions.

Acc. 2012.188 consists of three diaries, 1901-1902, 1910-1911, and 1912-1913 kept by Lidorna A. Rogers. Entries are of a similar nature as described in the earlier accessions.

Dates

  • Creation: 1895-1923

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Lidorna A. Rogers lived in Vestal, Broome County, NY. Her diary entries suggest she was a homemaker at the time the diaries were written. The entries further suggest that she was the mother of Una L. Angevine, whose diaries are filed under Mss. Acc. 2009.080 and 2009.173.

In 1900, she was living with her daughter and family, Harry Angevine, in Owego, Tioga County, New York. In 1910, she and her husband were in Owego, Tioga County, New York. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: http://scdb.swem.wm.edu/wiki/index.php/Lidorna_A._Rogers

Extent

0.50 Linear Feet

Acquisition Information:

Acc. 2009.080 was purchases in March 2009, Acc. 2009.173 was purchases in April 2009. Acquisition information for material received after 7/13/2009 is available by consulting a Special Collections Research Center staff member.

Physical Description

15 vols.

Processing Information:

Acc. 2009.047 processed by Anne Johnson, March 2009. Acc. 2009.080 accessioned and processed by Ute Schechter, March 2009. Acc. 2009.173 accessioned and processed by Ute Schechter, May 2009. Acc. 2012.188 accessioned and processed by Benjamin Bromley in May 2012.

Title
Guide to the Rogers-Angevine Diaries
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Research Center Staff.
Date
2009-03-16
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: