Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Essays

 Subject
Subject Source: Art & Architecture Thesaurus

Found in 12 Collections and/or Records:

Edward Ashby Armstrong Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.001
Scope and Contents Papers of William and Mary student Edward Ashby Armstrong, including poems, essays and homilies; certificates of distinction; letters of recommendation from Thomas Jefferson Stubbs and Lyon Gardiner Tyler; and grade reports.

James Henry Bailey II Essay

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.118
Scope and Contents This collections consists of an essay by James Henry Bailey II titled "Peter Francisco: Washington's One-Man Regiment." A note  handwrittien on the title page states:  "This essay won the Cincinnati Prize in 1939."

Barbara Ruth Bevan Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.116
Scope and Contents This collection consists of a typewritten one-page essay about "The College Bell" by Barbara Bevan and pages from the August 1941 issue of Mademoiselle magazine. The magazine "drafted" female undergraduates from different universities to serve as guest editors for this issue. The pages included in the collection are specific to Bevan, who served as the issues Beauty Editor.

Herman Blankenship

 Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.084
Scope and Contents This collection consists of an essay signed on the back of its last page "The Teacher's Opportunity. H. Blankenship. June 17, 1904. L.J. Essay."

James Branch Cabell Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 00/05/UA 5.003
Scope and Contents Collection concerning James Branch Cabell who was a student at the College of William and Mary, 1894-1898. Includes biographical material, pictures, essays from the American Spectator, short stories (in magazines), essays (in magazines), clippings of reviews by Cabell, reviews of works by or about Cabell, book jackets of books by or about Cabell and clippings from periodicals and newspapers concerning Cabell. The collection also includes his first novel, The Eagle's Shadow. The inventory for...

Fletcher Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00216
Scope and Contents Three letterpress copy books of the Fletcher Family.  The books are written by a woman, possibly from Georgia. The writer is an ancestor of the donor, Dr. John S. Fletcher.  Partial signatures suggest Joan and Hownick. Msv. 1 has some water damage and much faded ink.  Cover unattached.  Includes a few pages of transcript from letters written from Richmond, Virginia from July 22-26, 1861.  Carbon paper in back of book.  July-September 1861. Describes traveling from...

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations.  Includes...

Elizabeth E. Hoyt Composition Book

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00936
Scope and Contents Composition book of Elizabeth Hoyt of Hell Gate, N.Y. Her essays cover a variety of topics and date from 1838-1843. A number of pages from the middle of the volume have been cut out.

Literary Addresses, Articles, Essays, Poetry and Short Stories

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.4 Lit
Scope and Contents Artificial collection composed of original material, handwritten or typed, of addresses, articles, essays, poetry and short stories. Most material was received in the 1930s or 40s.

Robert Nelson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 N34
Scope and Contents Correspondence, sermons, essays and accounts of Robert Nelson, Protestant Episcopal missionary to Shanghai, China. The collection Includes two account books, a lettercopy book, and articles written by Nelson as well as two manuscript Chinese-English dictionaries compiled by Nelson. Some items, such as a "Count of Missionaries and Staff in China, 1807-1874" illuminate the history of missionaries in China. There is one letter written to Nelson in which the writer has used Wade-Giles...