Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Practice of law--Virginia--History

 Subject
Subject Source: Local sources

Found in 19 Collections and/or Records:

Addison Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Ad2
Scope and Contents Letters, 1890-1899, from Walter E. Addison, lawyer of Big Stone Gap, Wise County, Va. to his father E.B. Addison of Richmond, Va. concerning his financial problems. Also, includes bank statement, 1892; and letter, 1899, of John S. [Fleming ?] to E.B. Addison.

James Lewis Anderson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 An1
Scope and Contents Legal and business papers of James Lewis Anderson, lawyer of Richmond, Va. Includes certificate, 1919, signed by Westmoreland Davis relieving him of his duties on the Legal Advisory Board because of the end of World War I; his appointment, 1908, signed by Claude A. Swanson appointing him as a delegate to the American Prison Association; and accounts, 9 September 1916-22 January 1917, of the Hermitage Country Club.

Benjamin Waller Letter to Walter King

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00590
Scope and Contents Letter from Benjamin Waller, Williamsburgh [Virginia] to Walter King, Merchant in Bristol, about a legal case Waller is handling for King. Mentions that the courts can't meet "because the Governor was not in the Countrey" but "since I am under so many Seals certified by the Governor to be Clerk of the General Court...if you give them copies...will not put you and themselves to the great expence of new records..." Mentions King's judgement against Hunter, creditors of James Bray obtained a...

Andrew Steele Fulton Account Books

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Al4-MsV Al5
Scope and Contents Account books (ledger and cash book), 1825-1834, of Andrew Steele Fulton, Wythe County, Va. One volume includes recipes for English champagne and for current wine.

B. F. Garrett Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Al6
Scope and Contents Account book, 1842-1849, of B. F. Garrett, attorney, Williamsburg, Va. Includes account with John Tyler, Jr.

George E. Dennis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 D42
Scope and Contents Letters, 1874-1883, to George E. Dennis, lawyer, in Rocky Mount (Franklin County, Va.) concerning the collection of debts.

J.T. McAllister Notebook, II

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Lev18
Scope and Contents Notebook of typescript of abstracts of titles, 1852-1904, kept by J[oseph] T . McAllister, lawyer of Warm Springs, Va. The titles are to land in Bath County, Va. and include supporting documents and surveys, descriptions of maps, copies of correspondence, list of assessed lands in various districts of Bath County (1904), separated by race; and a broadside, ca. 1904, for the sale of a Bath County farm.

James City Legal Form Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Lev9 Oversize
Scope and Contents This book is a compilation of legal forms intended for use by a Virginia lawyer and by others associated with the early Virginia courts. It is not currently a bound book, but there are surviving front and back covers, and holes in many of the pages showing how the book had once been assembled. Neither the compiler of these forms nor the owner (or owners) of the form book is known. There does appear, however, a name on the back cover (V. Peyton), written twice. Different styles of...

James Turner Clarke Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad43 Oversize
Scope and Contents Includes accounts as a doctor in Augusta County, Virginiaa. with members of the Blakemore family and with Jedediah Hotchkiss (p. 33) and accounts of drawing up legal documents, surveying, and selling merchandise (including books, papers, and school supplies). Also contains register of births of slaves, free blacks, and whites (1857-1897).

John Dandridge Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 D19
Scope and Contents Papers; 1767-1825; of John Dandridge and John Hopkins. Include letters of Dandridge to Hopkins concerning his law practice; courtship; financial matters; a trip to the Sweet Springs (Monroe County, Va.) for his health; and "Providence Forge," New Kent County, Va. Includes papers (legal documents and accounts) concerning John Dandridge, Bartholomew Dandridge, John Armistead, William Armistead and John Hopkins.