Skip to main content

James Turner Clarke Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad43 Oversize

Scope and Contents

Includes accounts as a doctor in Augusta County, Virginiaa. with members of the Blakemore family and with Jedediah Hotchkiss (p. 33) and accounts of drawing up legal documents, surveying, and selling merchandise (including books, papers, and school supplies). Also contains register of births of slaves, free blacks, and whites (1857-1897).

Dates

  • 1854-1897

Language of Materials

English

Physical Description

622 p.

Conditions Governing Access:

The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.30 Linear Feet