Skip to main content

Littlebury Mason Law License

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00927

Scope and Contents

License for Littlebury Mason to practice law in the county courts of Virginia, signed by George Wythe and John Randolph.  James City County Court. June 10, 1775.

Two letters written by Oscar Shewmake, professor in the Marshall-Wythe School of Government and Citizenship, to Carrie B. Mason and John Y. Mason thanking Miss Mason for depositing the law license of Littlebury Mason to the College of William and Mary.

Dates

  • 1775 June 10

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Acquisition Information:

Deposited by Miss Carrie B. Mason via Oscar L. Shewmake, a member of the faculty and Board of Visitors, with the library in 1922. Found in Swem Library Correspondence, Accession 1980.115, 1920-1952, Martin-Massachusetts, Box 17. The license was previously listed as a gift of Mr. Shewmake. This was due to a letter of 1948 thanking him for this and other items donated to the library. This letter, in 3 parts, is from Office of the President, Edwin Pomfret Records, Series 1, Box 11, folder 4, which is microfilm LD6051 .W517, reel 14.
Title
Guide to the Littlebury Mason Law License
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff Member.
Date
2012-06-01
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: