Skip to main content

Financial records

 Subject
Subject Source: Unspecified ingested source

Found in 286 Collections and/or Records:

Robert E. Lee Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 L52
Scope and Contents

Letter, 4 May 1861, to Robert E. Lee from T. Rowland of Fairfax County, Va. desiring a commission with the Virginia forces, bearing endorsement of Lee. Includes printed material regarding Lee, such as his farewell address to the Army of Northern Virginia, his will, and  photographs and engravings of Lee.

Dates: 1829-1937

Leven Powell papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 P87
Scope and Contents This collection is largely comprised of the correspondence of Leven Powell, who served in American Revolutionary War as well as the Virginia House of Delegates, and the U. S. House of Representatives.The letters reflect military and civilian events in Virginia during the Revolutionary war, United States and Virginia politics, and foreign relations in the early national period. The collection also includes financial records concerning the Revolutionary War and Loudoun County,...
Dates: 1774-1806

Dangerfield Lewis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L58
Scope and Contents Letters, accounts, and legal papers of Dangerfield Lewis of "Marmion" and "Chatterton," King George County, Northern Neck, Virginia. His correspondence concerns plantation management. The collection includes account books, 1821-1829 as well as agreements with overseers, bonds for the hiring of slaves and papers concerning runaway slaves. Also includes accounts, 1816-1846, of his father George Lewis, son of Col. Fielding Lewis and Betty Washington (sister of George Washington). There is a...
Dates: 1799-1854

Philip Lightfoot Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L62
Scope and Contents Note to researchers: Due to the fragile condition of the originals, this collection has to be used in microfilm format;[ CS71 .l718, available in the open stacks and by ILL]. Papers of Philip Lightfoot of Culpeper County, Virginia including his commissions as lieutenant in the Second Battalion, 5th Regiment, Virginia militia and as captain in the 8th U. S. Infantry Regiment and papers relating to his service in the U. S. Army including records of a recruiting party, enlistment pledges,...
Dates: 1778-1800

Andrew Lindamood Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 L64
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1768-1817, of Andrew Lindamood, Shenandoah County, Va. Includes accounts and a deed, 18 August 1789, signed by Beverley Randolph, governor of Virginia, granting land in Shenandoah County.

Dates: 1768-1817

Francis Little Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01294
Scope and Contents

An artificial collection of manuscripts collected by Francis Little. Includes contract, 1770, binding William Byrd III to payment of money in a case involving Robert Carter (signed by William Byrd, John Jameson, George Wythe and Thomas Walne); letter, 1812, of William Henry Harrison to Return Jonathan Meigs concerning an expedition against Tecumseh; grant, 1822, for land in Ohio signed by James Monroe; grant, 1837, for land in Ohio; and two Civil War letters.

6 items.

Dates: 1770-1864

R. H. Logan Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 L83
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1895-1899, of R. H. Logan, an attorney, in Salem, Va. Includes correspondence concerning his law practice.

Dates: 1895-1899

Luttrell-Cooke Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 L97
Scope and Contents Personal papers and business accounts; 1820-1900; of the Luttrell and Cooke families of Rappahannock and Culpeper Counties. Includes correspondence (personal and business) between Luttrell and Cooke families, the Garth family, Ficklen family, and family in West Virginia. Papers discuss Buchanan's inauguration, Sons of Temperance, and the difficulties of a doctor trying to establish a practice at Bridgewater, Va. Also includes letters; 1853-1859; from family in Missouri which discuss living...
Dates: 1820-1900

Office of Management and Budget Records, 1972-1988

 Collection
Identifier: UA 320
Scope and Contents

Acc. 1997.007: contains subject files from the Office of Management and Budget from 1972 to 1997.

Acc. T2000.003: contains subject files from the Office of Management and Budget from 1988-1998.

Dates: 1972-1998

Manuscripts - People and Family Names

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.2 Man3a
Scope and Contents

An artificial collection of papers created from material acquired during the 1930's and 1940's.  Mostly letters, financial records, published material and official records of individuals in Virginia and elsewhere.  Includes documents and signatures of well known people, such as Benjamin Harrison, John Randolph and Franklin D. Roosevelt.

Dates: 1621-1949; Majority of material found in 1800's

Martin Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 M36
Scope and Contents

This collection contains papers of the Martin family of North Carolina. It is primarily composed of papers and correspondence with relatives in North Carolina and Virginia, 1862-1868, belonging to Major Thomas Alston Martin who served in the 13th North Carolina Infantry. Several letters date to the Civil War and refer to camp conditions. It includes letters, 1862, of R. C. Martin written while serving in the Confederate Army. Many of the letters were written by women.

Dates: 1862-1868

George Mason Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 M38
Scope and Contents Letters, 1779-1792, from George Mason at "Gunston Hall," Fairfax Co., Va. to his son John in Bordeaux, France and to Richard Henry Lee commenting on Maryland's claim to Virginia's western lands; and a political essay, post 24 January 1791 by Mason on representation in Fairfax Co., Va. Includes papers and letters of other members of the Mason and Thomson families, in particular, Stevens Thomson Mason (his will and a letter to James Monroe on Alien and Sedition Laws), Armistead Thomson Mason...
Dates: 1706-1858

William Massie Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 M39
Scope and Contents

Letters and accounts of William Massie, farmer, plantation owner, slave owner, and miller of Pharsalia and Tye River Mills, Nelson County, Virginia. Correspondents include Nathaniel Francis Cabell and Chiswell Dabney. Letters discuss life in Nelson County, agriculture, slavery, milling, and other subjects.

Dates: 1810-1870

Matron's Circle of Mount Independence. Grange No. 482 (Falmouth, Me.), Minute Book

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01031
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of a bound notebook that contains the bylaws, minutes, and other material related to the Matron's Circle of Mount Independence Grange, a social and sewing circle located in Falmouth, Maine. The bulk of the notebook contains the minutes of the organization, but also includes a list of members of the circle, as well as a loose treasurer's report. A description of the notebook provided by the seller can be found in the Finding Aid/Box List section below.

Dates: 1910-1913

Maury Family papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 97 M44
Scope and Contents The Maury family papers contains materials documenting the lives of the Maury Family of Virginia, New York City and Liverpool, England from 1777-1977. The collection includes the letters and business papers of James Maury (1746-1840), the first American consul to Liverpool, England, and the letters of his second wife, Margaret Rutson Maury (1805-1882), of Liverpool. Letters, business papers, legal papers, and diaries of  the next two generations of the Maury family, including Ann Maury...
Dates: 1777-1977

McAden-Hicks Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 M11
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1859-1898, of the McAden and Hicks families of Brunswick County, Va. Includes letters, 1880-1898, accounts and legal documents.

Dates: 1859-1898

McDowell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 M16
Scope and Contents

Chiefly invitations received by Sally McDowell. Includes printed invitations, 1839, to [George] Washington "Birthnight Ball" held by students at the College of William and Mary; invitation, 1839, to attend a party given at the Bell Tavern; silhouettes, n. d., of Sally McDowell and Dr. [?] McDowell; program, 1851, of entertainment given in London for [Abbott Lawrence]; and account, 1861-1865, of Lilly McDowell.

Dates: 1839-1865

McGavock Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 M17
Scope and Contents Papers (including correspondence, legal documents, and accounts) of James McGavock (1728-1812), his son James McGavock (1764-1838) and his grandsons James McGavock (1804-1839) and Stephen McGavock (1807-1880). Many of the papers concern lead mines at Fort Chiswell, Va, slavery, agriculture, aspects of the Revolutionary War, and other.  Included are a list of parish levies before 1776; receipts for supplies issued at Fort Chiswell, Wythe County, Va. and at Fort Patrick Henry, Tenn. for an...
Dates: 1760-1888

Merritt Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 M55
Scope and Contents Papers (including business and personal correspondence and accounts) of William H.E. Merritt, of Brunswick and Greensville counties, Va. who was a lawyer, member of the Virginia House of Delegates and editor of the "Richmond Whig"and his brothers Dr. Alexander T.B. Merritt of Hicksford, Greensville County,Va. and John F.W. Merritt of Vicksburg, Miss. The collection includes letters, 8 January and 29 March 1857, written by John Minor Botts and accounts of William H.E. Merritt &...
Dates: 1780-1909

Mongle-Hughes Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 M74
Scope and Contents Correspondence, 1857-1895, of members of the Mongle and Hughes families of Holston, Washington County, Va. and Evergreen, Tenn. Among the correspondents are J.J. Hughes, his sons William A. Hughes and Oliver F. Hughes and his daughter Sarah A. Hughes Mongle; and Samuel A. Mongle and James Mongle of Abingdon, Va. Includes papers, 1874-1884, concerning the registration of voters in Washington County, Va.; and accounts, 1832-1916, of Hughes & Co., Mongle & Hughes and J.B. Mongle &...
Dates: 1832-1916

John Murray, 4th Earl of Dunmore Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01295
Scope and Contents Papers concerning John Murray, 4th Earl of Dunmore, and last royal governor of Virginia. There are three Virginia-related items: a land grant, 1773; account, 1774-1776, of Lord Dunmore concerning one of his plantations; and letter, 1775, written by Lord Dunmore while on board the Royal William. Papers also include a letter, 1768, concerning Lord Dunmore's desire to be elected one of the Scottish peers of Parliament and a letter, 1770, concerning his brother-in-law. The majority of the items...
Dates: 1768-1804

Cornelius Nash Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 N17
Scope and Contents

Letter, 8 Aug[us]t 1818, from James Tatum, n.p., to Cornelius Nash, n.p., concerning money; accounts, 1808-1809, of Cornelius Nash with William Smith; and account, 1830, for goods bought by D. Nash & Co.

Dates: 1808-1830

Robert Nelson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 N34
Scope and Contents Correspondence, sermons, essays and accounts of Robert Nelson, Protestant Episcopal missionary to Shanghai, China. The collection Includes two account books, a lettercopy book, and articles written by Nelson as well as two manuscript Chinese-English dictionaries compiled by Nelson. Some items, such as a "Count of Missionaries and Staff in China, 1807-1874" illuminate the history of missionaries in China. There is one letter written to Nelson in which the writer has used Wade-Giles...
Dates: 1845-1897; Majority of material found in 1845-1885

Newcastle-Macon Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 N43
Scope and Contents

Accounts, 1868-1889, of Doctor W. H. Macon as agent for the Newcastle estate ["Newcastle," Hanover County, Va. ?] Includes an agreement, his account sheets and accounts with farm laborers.

Dates: 1868-1889

Norfolk Division Records

 Collection
Identifier: 00/01/UA 86
Scope and Contents Acc. 1984.070: This accession includes the 1958-1960 budget, capital outlay requests from 1959, and annual financial reports for 1953, 1954, 1958, and 1960. Acc. 1984.078: This accession includes reports by the Commonwealth Auditor of Public Accounts to determine the extent to which the Commonwealth of Virginia was subsidizing education at William and Mary and its branch campuses in Richmond and Norfolk for the period 1942-1950. The collection also includes material...
Dates: 1942-1966; Majority of material found in 1953-1960