Skip to main content

Notebooks

 Subject
Subject Source: Art & Architecture Thesaurus

Found in 164 Collections and/or Records:

John Lesslie Hall, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 H14
Scope and Contents Papers, 1937-1973, of Admiral John Lesslie Hall, Jr. of Williamsburg and Alexandria, Va. and while stationed at Pearl Harbor, San Francisco and Norfolk, Va. The papers are both personal and professional. The collection contains material concerning World War II Operations TORCH (North Africa), BIGOT-HUSKY, AVALANCHE (Salerno), NEPTUNE-OVERLORD, and as well as the Army-Navy joint agreement on Normandy. Also includes material pertaining to his work with the USO, the Naval War College, Army War...
Dates: 1893-1973

John Lesslie Hall Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.021
Scope and Contents

Collection of John Lesslie Hall, a William and Mary faculty member from 1888-1928. The collection includes biographical material; notebooks; publications; pictures; speeches and addresses; Notes on Bruton Parish Church; correspondence; and tax levies.

Dates: 1885-1928

Elise B. Hardy Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.016
Scope and Contents

The collection includes assignments, tests, sample catalog cards, and notebooks from Library Science courses, 1933-1935.

Dates: 1933-1935

Warren Harris Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nm4
Scope and Contents

Arithmetic book, 1795, of Warren Harris which includes several pages of verse and genealogical data, circa 1795-1868, concerning the Harris and Weaver families.

Dates: 1795

Fairfax Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H25
Scope and Contents Papers, 1736-1945, of and collected by Fairfax Harrison. Papers collected include colonial era documents, deeds, surveys, the diary of Sally Fairfax (1771-1772), legal papers, a copy of the Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) vestry book which contains minutes, indentures, and other (1745-1802), and photostat copy of the letterbook (1801) of Col. John Tayloe of Mount Airy, Va. Fairfax Harrison's papers include his correspondence with individuals and institutions concerning his...
Dates: 1736-1945

Helen Jones Campbell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 C15
Scope and Contents Papers; 1936-1973; of author and Yorktown, Va. resident Helen J. Campbell (1894-1979). Includes photographs, notes, correspondence, clippings, photostats, and manuscript versions of short stories, essays, articles, and books. Her papers concern Yorktown and York County, Va., such as Yorktown National Park, Coleman Bridge, Bruton Parish, the Syms & Eaton School, and other local interest topics. Material also relates to Abraham Lincoln's assassination surrounding Mary E. J. Surratt, John...
Dates: 1936-1973

Henkel Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 H38
Scope and Contents Correspondence, papers, and ledgers of the Rev. Paul Henkel (1754-1825), who was a Lutheran missionary, and David Henkel, Ambrose Henkel, and Solomon Henkel of New Market, Shenandoah Co., Va. Includes woodcuts and watercolor sketches, Ambrose Henkel's account ledger (1807-1813), notebooks on the study of Hebrew, memorandum book, indentures, certificates, and other. Topics include Lutheranism, printing, Shenandoah County, immigration, merchants, and education. Mss poem with a hand...
Dates: 1783-1874

Hoban Law Digest

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nla3
Scope and Contents

Law digest, 1801-1835, of [?] Hoban which contains reports of cases in the United States.

Dates: 1801-1835

Holland Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 H72
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1795-1835, of the Holland family of Nansemond County, Va. and Jasper County, Ga. Includes a manuscript volume, ca. 1795-1800, used by George Washington Holland for arithmetic exercises; diary, 1832- 1835, kept by William S. Holland to record farming activities, descriptions of Fourth of July celebrations, a meeting concerning states' rights, and the sighting of a comet. Also includes genealogical information of the Holland family.

Dates: 1795-1835

Gray G. Holloway Surgeon's Case Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV M1
Scope and Contents

Case book, 1896-1924, of Gray G. Holloway, a physician, of Portsmouth, Virginia.

Dates: 1896-1924

David Hunter Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nla12
Scope and Contents

Notes, circaa. 1830-1840, taken by David Hunter (perhaps in England) and concerning law.

Dates: 1830-1840

J. Paul Hudson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.29
Scope and Contents Historical notes compiled by J. Paul Hudson. Papers relate to colonial churches in Virginia. Primary focus is on the history of Bruton Parish Church and the church at Jamestown, Virginia and the people associated with them.Includes box of index notes entitled "Church Notes" which is organized by subject, name of church and county and/or author.Accession 2004.37:Material regarding Church of St. Mary the Virgin, Bruton, England. Poem and...
Dates: 1930-1998

J.T. McAllister Notebook, II

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Lev18
Scope and Contents

Notebook of typescript of abstracts of titles, 1852-1904, kept by Joseph T . McAllister, lawyer of Warm Springs, Virginiaa. The titles are to land in Bath County, Virginia and include supporting documents and surveys, descriptions of maps, copies of correspondence, list of assessed lands in various districts of Bath County (1904), separated by race; and a broadside, circa. 1904, for the sale of a Bath County farm.

Dates: 1852-1904

Jack and Jill Nursery and Kindergarten Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.58.2
Scope and Contents

Administrative records, programs and working materials for plays, attendance records and financial records of the Jack and Jill Nursery and Kindergarten, operated by Cary Wynne Boelt in Williamsburg, Virginia.

A rough draft inventory and a history of the Jack and Jill Nursery and Kindergarten Records by Frederick W. Boelt are filed at the beginning of the collection.

Dates: 1949-1975; Majority of material found in 1950's

Mildred Jackson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2000.67
Scope and Contents

Papers of Mildred Jackson of Williamsburg, Virginia. She was a private piano instructor in Williamsburg, a performer with the William and Mary Music Department, and the wife of Dr. Jess Jackson, a professor of English at William and Mary. Includes lesson plans, music books, financial records, correspondence, newspaper articles, photographs, programs, and address books.

Dates: 1938-1976

James Henderson Fitzgerald Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nas2
Scope and Contents

Notes, 1837-1838, of James Henderson Fitzgerald of Nottoway County, Virginiaa. taken from the lectures of Dr. John W. Draper at Hampden-Sydney College. The notes concern astronomy, optics, electricity, and hydrostatics.

Dates: 1837-1838

James Lewis Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nf1
Scope and Contents

Notes, circa 1779-1844, of James Lewis [Gloucester County, Virginiaa. ?] concerning farming and math (using farming examples). The book contains some dated entries ranging from about 1779 to 1847 and includes loose newspaper clippings.

Dates: 1779-1844

John C. Stubbs Notebook, I

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nc1
Scope and Contents

Notes, 1872-1873, taken by John C. Stubbs, student at Washington University, Baltimore, Md. The notes concern chemistry and medicine.

See also John C. Stubbs Notebook (MsV Nme10) and letters of Stubbs in the Thomas Jefferson Stubbs Papers (Mss. 65 St9).

Washington University in Baltimore became defunct in 1877. See Baltimore: Its History and Its People (New York, 1912), Vol. I, pp. 595-596.

Dates: 1872-1873

John Kennedy Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nla2
Scope and Contents

Notes, circaa. 1840-1850, concerning law made by [John Kennedy, a British student ?]  On page 598, law regarding negroes and slaves.

Dates: 1840-1850

John Posie Mathews Saunders Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Na1
Scope and Contents

Notebook, 1854-1859, of John Posie Mathews Sanders of Jackson's Ferry, Wythe County, Virginiaa. at Emory and Henry College, Abingdon, Virginia. The notes concern Latin, Greek, chemistry, music, and accounting.

Dates: 1854-1859

Pearl H. Jones Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.043
Scope and Contents

This collection includes a family Bible, ration books from World War II, correspondence, a diary, stenographers' notebooks, and other personal materials.

Dates: 1930-1970

William Gustavus Jones Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.008
Scope and Contents

This collection contains letters written by Jones; invitations to final celebrations of Phoenix and Philomathean literary societies; and notes for classes in Greek, Latin, German, French, and English, all dated after the time Jones was at William and Mary.

Dates: 1876-1890

Michael Kelly Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 90 K29
Scope and Contents

Four mathematical copybooks, 1841-1849 and n.d., with handwritten entries belonging to Elizabeth Gernet[s] and Isaac Knecht. Also included are S. Augustus Mitchell's First Lessons in Georgraphy for Young Children (1870) and Peter Parley's Method of Telling About Georgraphy to Children (1840).

Dates: 1840-1870

Catherine B. Kinney Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01170
Scope and Contents

Typescript by Catherine B. Kinney and collected comments from passengers aboard Pan American Flight #154 enroute to Lisbon when the plane narrowly escaped landing in the Atlantic Ocean and landed safely in Newfoundland, 25 July 1958. Included are notes Kinney took during the four hour ordeal as well as correspondence with publishers.

Dates: 1958-1959

L. D. Switler Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nge1
Scope and Contents

Notes, 1870, taken by L. D. Switler while a student at the Webster Institute, Norfolk, Virginiaa. The notes concern history, mathematics, philosophy, geography, and Latin.

Dates: 1870-1870