Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Slavery--Southern States--History

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 16 Collections and/or Records:

Abolitionist Movement Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01101
Scope and Contents Letters, a speech, and a photograph relating to the abolitionist movement in the United States. Correspondents include: Theodore Dwight Weld (1803-1895) of Lane Seminary, Elizur Wright (1804-1885), Secretary of the American Anti-Slavery Society, Gerrit Smith (1797-1874), philanthropist and reformer, Henry Grew (1782-1862), Quaker abolitionist, William Lloyd Garrison (1805-1879), prominent abolitionist, and Parker Pillsbury (1809-1898), abolitionist author. Subjects include abolition tactics...

Baytop-Fitzhugh Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00111
Scope and Contents The inventory includes letters, 1851-1861, and accounts, 1840-1866, of Rufus King Fitzhugh and his wife Henrietta Ellen (Baytop) Fitzhugh of Stanardsville, Greene County, Virginia. Most letters to Henrietta are from her mother Lucy Taliaferro (Catlett) Baytop, and her sisters Rowena, Lucy Ann, and Eugenia, all of Springfield, Gloucester County, Virginia. The collection also includes letters from her sister-in-law Mary F. Fitzhugh of Fredericksburg, Virginia. The letters relate...

Beverley Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 B46
Scope and Contents Chiefly letters written to Robert Beverley (1769-1843) of "Blandfield," Essex County, Virginia and Georgetown, D.C. from his sister Lucy (Beverley) Randolph, her husband Brett Randolph and their son Richard Randolph, Jr. (1795-1885). The letters concern slaves given to Lucy Beverley Randolph and her children by her father Robert Beverley (d. 1800), and held in trust by her brother Robert Beverley, some of which were sold to pay debts incurred by her husband. Also includes letters...

James D. Blackwell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B57
Scope and Contents Letters and accounts of James DeRuyter Blackwell, Sr., lawyer and poet, his wife Judith Emma (Edmonds) Blackwell of Warrenton, Virginia and of members of their family including their son, James De Ruyter Blackwell, Jr. There are letters written from Richmond and Petersburg, Virginia concerning social life, and letters concerning the hiring of slaves and the illnesses of female slaves. Collection includes genealogy of Blackwell family and three bound manuscript volumes of poetry by James De...

Britt Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01206
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1801-1860, of the Britt family of Pasquotank County, North Carolina. Includes documents, deeds, accounts, and bills of sale for slaves and references to John Cartwright.

First folder contains an admission ticket to the "La Fayette Ball Room" with a notation on the reverse, "card of invitation to the ball ... to be given for LaFayette at Yorktown...did not take place until afterwords and at Williamsburg."  Signature illegible.

Charles Brown Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B84
Scope and Contents Letters, accounts, and legal papers of Dr. Charles Brown. Collection includes letters, 1813-1818, concerning patients (including slaves). Includes land signed by Henry Lee and John Tyler, items relating to "Actonplace" [Acton] English estate of William Jennings and plats of land in Albemarle County, Virginia; as well as letters of members of the Brown family. Charles Brown Papers 1792-1888, Albemarle County Virginia is available on microfilm in Swem Library’s...

M.E. Griffin Letter

 Collection — Small Collections Box 124, Folder: 1
Identifier: SC 01765
Content Description A letter from M. (possibly Margaret) E. Griffin to her cousin John Davis. In the letter, Griffin asks Davis to hire out or sell all of the enslaved people working on the plantation she inherited. She mentions that an enslaved man by the name of Henry struck her son Jordan, and left the plantation to go to Lynchburg without permission. Griffin states that Henry has been "increasing in insolence, till his presence can no longer be endured."Content warning for derogatory language...

Eliza Jones Memorandum Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af7
Scope and Contents

Kept by Eliza Jones of "Concord," Gloucester Co., Va. containing household and farm accounts, 1831-1843. Includes names of slaves and clothing purchased for them. 93 p. : bound volume ; 16 cm.

Manuscripts - People and Family Names

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.2 Man3a
Scope and Contents An artificial collection of papers created from material acquired during the 1930's and 1940's.  Mostly letters, financial records, published material and official records of individuals in Virginia and elsewhere.  Includes documents and signatures of well known people, such as Benjamin Harrison, John Randolph and Franklin D. Roosevelt. Documents from this collection are currently being transferred to the Small Collection  as individual items with SC identification numbers. ...

Bruce A. McConachie Papers, 1978-1995

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.045
Scope and Contents

Signed typescript of "Goin' Home to Freedom," McConachie's adaptation of Uncle Tom's Cabin (Acc. 1986.013). Correspondence, student references, teaching evaluations, a draft and offprints of "Goin' Home to Freedom" (Acc. 1999.016).

Merchant's Ledger, III

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame9u
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1819-1837, of an unidentified merchant, including notes concerning the birth of a black child and the purchase of slaves.

Merritt Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 M55
Scope and Contents Papers (including business and personal correspondence and accounts) of William H.E. Merritt, of Brunswick and Greensville counties, Va. who was a lawyer, member of the Virginia House of Delegates and editor of the "Richmond Whig"and his brothers Dr. Alexander T.B. Merritt of Hicksford, Greensville County,Va. and John F.W. Merritt of Vicksburg, Miss. The collection includes letters, 8 January and 29 March 1857, written by John Minor Botts and accounts of William H.E. Merritt &...

Nicolson Family Ledgers and Journals

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 N52, 76 N52 and 93 N52
Scope and Contents Collection contains account journals, some papers and other items of James M. Nicolson, a general merchant in Gloucester County, Virginia (1802-1869), an account book kept by Nicolson and Capt. John L. Hibble as Assistant Quarter Masters of the 26th Virginia Regiment, 1861-1864 (discusses slaves labors); a letter book of H. Yeatman & Co., merchants of Gloucester Court House, 1869-1870, which also contains some of Nicolson's correspondence; and ledger accounts, 1892-1899, for farming at...

Daniel G. Smith Journal

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame114 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Journal, 1853-1857, of Daniel G. Smith, merchant, of Leesburg, Va., which includes a list of slaves with a record of provisions and shoes; sketch of lime kiln; recipes; and medical cures.

"The Gospel As Preached in the South"

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00873
Scope and Contents

Account by Henry Cooke, a runaway slave belonging to Robert C. Nicholas, of a Gospel Meetings in Louisiana, led by William Ellis, another slave, of Virginia. Title, “The Gospel as preached in the South.”  The account was  given as testimony in New Haven (Connecticut) on January 30, 1844. Cooke epxplains how meetings were arranged, when they were held, how many people attended and what happened if slaves were caught. For excerpts see folder link below.

Wier Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65s W63
Scope and Contents Papers, 1840-1883, of members of the Wier family and McCully family. Includes correspondence of Peter Wier of Gainesville, Ala., Armistead Wier of Danville, Va., John McCully of Bridgeport, Conn., James McCully, Petersburg, Va. and William McCully of Newark, N. J. Subjects covered by the correspondence are farming, the value of slaves and of land as investments, the Mexican War, and business. The collection also includes contracts for the hiring and sale of slaves; and a roster of Company C,...