Beverley Papers
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
Chiefly letters written to Robert Beverley (1769-1843) of "Blandfield," Essex County, Virginia and Georgetown, D.C. from his sister Lucy (Beverley) Randolph, her husband Brett Randolph and their son Richard Randolph, Jr. (1795-1885). The letters concern slaves given to Lucy Beverley Randolph and her children by her father Robert Beverley (d. 1800), and held in trust by her brother Robert Beverley, some of which were sold to pay debts incurred by her husband.
Also includes letters concerning the lawsuit Beverley v. Pickett, Scott et al. in chancery; the will of John Randolph of Roanoke; and letters, 1830, from John H. Peyton and William Augustine Washington concerning litigation over claims to George Washington's Kanawha lands; and William Byrd's lottery.
Dates
- Creation: 1796-1834
Creator
- Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Biographical Information:
The following biographical sketch is not meant to be exhaustive but merely a brief genealogical sketch of the main contributors/creators of this collection. A more definitive source on the Beverley genealogy can be found in the book, The Beverley family of Virginia; descendants of Major Robert Beverley, 1641-1687, and allied families, by John McGill.
Robert Beverley (d.1800) was born in "Blandfield" Virginia. He received his education in England and was elected to the state legislature in 1780 but never took his seat. He married Maria Carter (1745-1817) of "Sabine Hall" Richmond County, Virginia. Together they had the following sixteen children: William Beverley (1763-1823), Maria Beverley (1764-1824), Robert Beverley (1766-1767), Robert Beverley (1769-1843), Lucy Beverley (1771-1854), Burton Beverley (1772-1781), Carter Beverley (b. 1774), Byrd Beverley (b. 1775), James Mills Beverley (1776-1779), Anna Munford Beverley (1778-1830), Munford Beverley (1779-1820), Peter Randolph Beverley (b. 1780), Evelyn Byrd Beverley (1782-1836), McKenzie Beverley (b. 1783), Jane Bradshaw Beverley (1784-1814), Harriet Beverley (1786-1829).
The fourth child of Robert Beverley (d.1800), Robert Beverley (1769-1843), like his father, was also educated in England. He married Jane Tayloe (1774-1816) and lived in "Blandfield." Together they had the following six children: William Bradshaw Beverley (1791-1866), Maria Beverley (d. 1822), Rebecca Tayloe Beverley (d. 1822), James Bradshaw Beverley (b. 1797), Jane Bradshaw Beverley (1805-1822), and Roberta Beverley. Three of the children contracted typhoid fever and died in 1822 upon a visit home to "Blandfield" to visit their parents.
The fifth child of Robert Beverley (d.1800), Lucy Beverley (1771-1854) married Brett Randolph (1766-1828) of "Curles Neck," Henrico County, Virginia in 1789. They had the following eleven children: a son Randolph (1790-1790), Capt. Edward Brett Randolph (1792-1848), Dr. Robert Carter Randolph (1793-1854), Richard Randolph (1795-1885), Victor Moreau Randolph (1797-1876), John Thomson Randolph (1800-1819), Benjamin Franklin Randolph (1801-1802), Benjamin Franklin Randolph (1803-1890), Ryland Randolph (1805-1853), Theoderick Bland Randolph (b. 1807), and Ann Maria Randolph (1811-1845). Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .
Extent
0.02 Linear Feet
Arrangement of Materials:
Organization: This inventory is organized into one series of letters. All other material not included these series is listed separately. Arrangement: Series 1, containing letters, is arranged chronologically by date with those items lacking a date located at the end of the series.
Acquisition Information:
Purchased: 73 items, 5/01/1927.
- Title
- Guide to the Beverley Papers
- Author
- Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
- Date
- 2007-06-11
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository