Subject Source: Art & Architecture Thesaurus
Found in 6 Collections and/or Records:
Batesville Printing Company Records
Identifier: MS 00204
Scope and Contents Records and samples, circa 1910s-1930s, of the Batesville Printing Company of Batesville, Albemarle County, Virginia. Consists almost exclusively of samples of their printing jobs, like broadsides, stationary, envelopes, fliers, etc., thus providing the names and often addresses of a variety of businesses that existed in the area at the time and of the kind of events that were advertised. Especially prominent are announcements and stationary for traveling Vaudeville shows such as the Dandy...
Pierre Etienne Duponceau papers
Collection — Manuscripts Group 2 Box 10, Folder: 1
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 D94
Scope and Contents Letter, 1781 August 29, from Baron von Steuben, Charlottesville, Virginia, to Pierre Etienne [Peter Stephen] Duponceau, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; and Duponceau's Carte de Visite. The letter is written in French and von Steuben states he has had no reply to letters sent to Pres. Washington and to the Secretary of the Congress; von Steuben plans to leave for Carolina to join Gen. Greene. In French. ALS. Four newspaper clippings concerning Duponceau. 1844-1845.Carte de...
Identifier: 01/Mss. 1.02
Scope and Contents
The Ephemera Collection contains material primarily acquired for teaching. It includes material in various formats, most of which have been previously published. The collection is currently being processed and new items will be added on an ongoing basis. For this reason, the indicated date range is approximate at this point.
Eleanor H. Fredricks Papers
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.206
Scope and Contents
Papers, circa 1930s-1950s, of Eleanor H. Fredricks of Chicago, Illinois. Included are a scrapbook, correspondence, photographs, clippings, postcards and fliers, as well as drafts of articles authored by her. Some of the papers relate to the American Fireside Club, of which Eleanor Fredricks was the organizer.
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881. The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...
Frances G. Hoppin Papers
Identifier: MS 00121-Mss. Acc. 2007.108
Scope and Contents The papers, 1917-1918 of Frances G. Hoppin who opened the Red Cross Grenelle Dispensary in Paris, France in 1917, which was one of about 30 civilian dispensaries administered by the Red Cross in Paris at that time. This accession consists of both personal papers and records relating to the dispensary.Included are two journals in which Frances Hoppin recorded both her personal experiences as well as business items relating to the dispensary. Also included is a 3-page report on the...