Skip to main content

Yorktown (Va.)--History--20th century

 Subject
Subject Source: Local sources

Found in 11 Collections and/or Records:

Leonard Born Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.048
Scope and Contents The collection includes papers written by Born during the course of his attendance at William & Mary, mainly for English classes. There is also correspondence from 1985 and loose pages from a photo album believed to have been assembled by Born, while a student at William & Mary. The contents are primarily photographs of campus and Williamsburg area from the 1926-1927. Additional photographs relate to life in rural, early twentieth century Virginia, the Newport News Shipyard,...
Dates: 1924-1927, 1985
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

B. Floyd Flickinger Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.341
Scope and Contents Papers of B. Floyd Flickinger, Superintendent of the Colonial National Historic Park.  Letters, memos, reports, speeches, documents, photographs, and other material related to the creation and operation of the Colonial National Historic Park in Yorktown, Virginia.  Material on archaeology at Jamestown and the expansion of the National Park Service.  Personal papers which include Flickinger's position at the Technical Training Service at the Quartermaster School during World War II, his...
Dates: 1927-1950
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Gil and Connie Granger papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00038
Scope and Contents Papers, circa 1980s-2000s, of Gil and Connie Granger of Williamsburg, Virginia. Gil Granger was mayor of Williamsburg from 1996 to 1998. The papers primarily deal with local political issues in Williamsburg and Yorktown, including land development, the visits of foreign dignitaries, and the Williamsburg Regional Library. Mss. Acc. 2012.321 primarily concerns Gil Granger's term as mayor of Williamsburg as well as the operations of Virginia Broadcasters, an organization run by Gil...
Dates: 1944-2022
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Helen Jones Campbell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 C15
Scope and Contents Papers; 1936-1973; of author and Yorktown, Va. resident Helen J. Campbell (1894-1979). Includes photographs, notes, correspondence, clippings, photostats, and manuscript versions of short stories, essays, articles, and books. Her papers concern Yorktown and York County, Va., such as Yorktown National Park, Coleman Bridge, Bruton Parish, the Syms & Eaton School, and other local interest topics. Material also relates to Abraham Lincoln's assassination surrounding Mary E. J. Surratt, John...
Dates: 1936-1973
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Morecock Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 M81
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1881-1937 and n.d., relating to the history of Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Yorktown, Va. collected by members of the Morecock family of Williamsburg, Va. Includes photographs, pamphlets, Christmas cards, postcards, and wood-cut prints depicting the Powder Magazine, Bruton Parish Church, the Courthouse of 1770, the Yorktown Monument, the church tower at Jamestown as well as souvenirs of the Yorktown Centennial, 1881 and the Jamestown Exposition, 1907.

Dates: 1881-1937
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Mss. 39.4 V82ci Yorktown, 1824-1983

 Sub-Series
Identifier: id109300
Scope and Contents

Papers, ca. 1824-1983, relating to Yorktown, Va. Includes articles concerning Yorktown; materials relating to the surrender of Cornwallis and to the celebrations [1824, 1881, 1930-1937 and 1981], documents concerning Yorktown National Military Park  [now Colonial National Historical Park] and the Navy Mine Depot [now Naval Weapons Station].

Dates: 1824-1983
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Virginia Cities Collection / Series 35: Yorktown

N. F. McNorton Record of Whiskey Dispensed

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV M2
Scope and Contents Record ranging in date from 1928-1932, entitled "Physicians Record of Prescriptions" kept by Nelson F. McNorton. The record contains an account of whiskey dispensed for medicinal purposes at Yorktown, Williamsburg, Richmond, and other locations in the Tidewater region of Virginia during Prohibition. Books such as these were supplied by the Treasury Department as part of the National Prohibition Act. Physicians recorded a serial number, date, name and address of patient, the quantity and...
Dates: 1928-1932
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

J. Randolph Ruffin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1998.58
Scope and Contents

Papers of J. Randolph Ruffin. Newspaper clippings, brochures, drafts of speeches, correspondence about Virginia history, the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, and tours directed by J. Randolph Ruffin, Director of Special Events for the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. Accessions 1998.58 and 1999.22 WHRA.

Dates: 1956-1993
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

University Archives Scrapbook Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 335
Scope and Contents This collection contains scrapbooks related to faculty, students, and various programs and events at the College of William and Mary. Acc. 1983.075: twenty-seven scrapbooks, 1934-1943, of newspaper clippings about the College, events, and programs. Acc. 1983.081: scrapbooks, 1919-1938, with clippings about the College, students, and faculty. Acc. 1983.083: two scrapbooks, 1934-1942, with invitations to programs, concerts, plays, parties, and other events...
Dates: 1915-1989; Majority of material found in 1919-1943
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Williamsburg (Va.) Area Ephemera Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.09
Scope and Contents This collection covers the Greater Williamsburg Area, including Williamsburg, Yorktown, Jamestown, James City County, York County and other nearby communities. It includes gifts and purchases whose contents are ephemeral in nature and not well-suited as stand-alone collections.  The items are usually transient documents of everyday life and can include menus, flyers, advertisements, and programs but can also be postcards, games, ticket stubs, and the like. The majority of...
Dates: 1858-2015
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, Yorktown Branch Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 72 A57
Scope and Contents

This collection contains the records of the Yorktown Branch of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities (APVA). Included in the collection are minutes, correspondence, treasurer's records, photographs, and scrapbooks.

Dates: 1921-2013; Majority of material found in 1975-2005
Found in: Special Collections Research Center