Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results
New Search
Search all record types where
  • keyword(s): George Washington

Showing Results: 126 - 150 of 1079

George Washington Hall Rededication, 1991

 File — Box 7, Folder: 3
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Material on William & Mary events (both on and off campus), dedications, William & Mary President inaugurations and Christmas cards, Plumeri House renovations, and Campaign for William & Mary. Includes programs and planning material. Audio-visual material on William & Mary events (DVD's, VCR tapes, cassette tapes and floppy disks), and 2 medallions.

Dates: 1991
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Office of the President. Records / Acc. 2019.130 / Dedications

George Washington Hall Rededication, 1991 October 18

 File — Box 7, Folder: 9
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Material on William & Mary events (both on and off campus), dedications, William & Mary President inaugurations and Christmas cards, Plumeri House renovations, and Campaign for William & Mary. Includes programs and planning material. Audio-visual material on William & Mary events (DVD's, VCR tapes, cassette tapes and floppy disks), and 2 medallions.

Dates: 1991 October 18
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Office of the President. Records / Acc. 2019.130 / Dedications

Euology to George Washington., undated

 File — Box 6, Folder: 27
Identifier: id140555
Scope and Contents

AMs. 1 p.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Myers-Burrage-Graham Papers (I) Group A / Myers Family Papers / 1907-1923 and undated

George Washington Letter, 1773

 Digital Record
Identifier: 065aeed8-4308-4111-b539-693228b245ad
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / George Washington Letter to Jonathan Boucher / Letter, 1773 January 7

George and Martha Washington

 Item — Box 7: Series id287030, Item: 127
Identifier: id291669
Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collection contains stereoviews, lantern slides, and other photographic materials collected by Kelvin Ramsey. The stereoviews were distributed by various companies, including Melander and Brothers, Keystone and Company, Bell and Brother, and D.H. Anderson. The images cover various historic sites and monuments in Washington, D.C. and Virginia, such as Arlington National Cemetery, Harper's Ferry, the White House, the William & Mary, Jamestown, and Fort Monroe.The bulk of the lantern...
Dates: 1874-1938 and undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Dr. Kelvin Ramsey Collection of Stereoviews / Series 2: Stereoviews / Sub-series 2.2: Underwood and Underwood, New York, London, Toronto, Ottawa, Kansas / Box 7

George Washington Historical Data

 File — Box 6, Folder: 8
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series consists of cheifly newspaper clippings concerning topics and geographic informational articles of interest to Schuyler Otis Bland as a member of Congress and the Committees on which he served.

Dates: 1862-1950
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Schuyler Otis Bland Papers / Series 1: Topical and Geographical Research

St. George Tucker to General George Washington, circa 1781 October or November

 Item — Box 9: Series id216780, Folder: 5
Identifier: id228328
Scope and Contents

In obedience to his request offers particulars relative to suggested reduction of Bermuda. Describes dangers of coast of Bermuda and means of avoiding them.Tucker's writing (not signed.)

Dates: circa 1781 October or November
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Folder 5: Correspondence

George Tucker, Washington, to St. George Tucker, 1820 February 12

 Item — Box 38: Series id216780, Folder: 2
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

Enclosing the bill reported for the bank of this district. Will be several weeks before the bill will be acted upon. Discussion of the Missouri question will occupy a long time. George has returned to Central College in Albemarle. Have little time to write as I spend 4 or 5 hours every day in the houses or in committee.

Dates: 1820 February 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 38 / Folder 2: Correspondence

George Tucker, Washington, to St. George Tucker, 1820 November 15

 Item — Box 38: Series id216780, Folder: 11
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

Your brother is better. We have no speaker.

Dates: 1820 November 15
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 38 / Folder 11: Correspondence

George Tucker, Washington, to St. George Tucker, 1820 November 20

 Item — Box 38: Series id216780, Folder: 12
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

Your brother is better. His chief clerk has been authorized by the President to act for him while he is sick.

Dates: 1820 November 20
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 38 / Folder 12: Correspondence

George Tucker, Washington, to St. George Tucker, 1820 November 22

 Item — Box 38: Series id216780, Folder: 12
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

Your brother is still improving. He was snatched from the grave. I think the class of natural philosophy will benefit George.

Dates: 1820 November 22
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 38 / Folder 12: Correspondence

George Tucker, Washington, to St. George Tucker, 1820 December 5

 Item — Box 38: Series id216780, Folder: 13
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

Your brother is not too well after sitting up and walking. He should take his tonic , but refuses.

Dates: 1820 December 5
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 38 / Folder 13: Correspondence

George Tucker, Washington, to St. George Tucker, 1820 December 6

 Item — Box 38: Series id216780, Folder: 13
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

Your brother is much better. He went downstairs today.

Dates: 1820 December 6
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 38 / Folder 13: Correspondence

George Tucker, Washington, to St. George Tucker, 1820 December 9

 Item — Box 38: Series id216780, Folder: 13
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

Your brother coninues to regain his strength. His fever was very slight last night. I plan to visit Mr. Lewis this evening.

Dates: 1820 December 9
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 38 / Folder 13: Correspondence

George Tucker, Washington, to St. George Tucker, 1822 May 7

 Item — Box 39: Series id216780, Folder: 11
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

Delivered to Mr. Bassett a copy of my Essays. Shall leave the bank notes with Mr. Robinson.

Dates: 1822 May 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 39 / Folder 11: Correspondence

George Tucker, Washington, to St. George Tucker, 1823 January 28

 Item — Box 40: Series id216780, Folder: 3
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

A letter from Maria informs me that my wife has had to go to bed with a pain in her side. She is expecting to increase her family next month. I must go home and see about her. Your brother is in good health.

Dates: 1823 January 28
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 40 / Folder 3: Correspondence

George Tucker, Washington, to St. George Tucker, 1824 December 12

 Item — Box 41: Series id216780, Folder: 9
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents

Sorry not to see you. Your brother is well. Will you sign the record of bankrupt and send it to Baltimore. Great uncertainity on the subject of election of President. Mr. Crawford's case is hopeless.

Dates: 1824 December 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 41 / Folder 9: Correspondence

George and Martha Washington pins

 File — Box 1, Folder: 12
Identifier: id14319
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

This collection contains college catalogs, commencement programs, form letters about registration, and other college publications; receipts for post office box and tuition; membership cards for Women Students' Cooperative Government Association and student activities; buttons with busts of George and Martha Washington honoring the bicentennial of Washington's birth; and other material from Nettles' college years.

Dates: 1931-1935
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Frances C. Cosby Nettles Papers / Box 1

George Washington Birth Bi-Centennial, 1932

 File — Box 1, Folder: 13
Identifier: id64953
Scope and Contents

Invitation to celebration given for the Governor's of the United States in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1932
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough Collection

George Washington, publications relating to., 1926-1932

 File — Box 4: Series id149908, Folder: 13
Identifier: id149593
Scope and Contents

Article in American Legion Weekly, notes on Washington in Williamsburg, "Mr. Bruce on Washington", "Map of Washington's Travels", "Washington Celebration in 1932", Washington issue of School Library Bulletin, Washington poastage stamps. "Washington Meets New Ordeal." 1926-1927, 1931-1932. 11 items.

Dates: 1926-1932
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Richard Lee Morton Papers / Series 1: Mss. 90 M84 / Box 4

Washington, Bushrod Wilmer, George Thornton

 File — Box 2: Series id10742, Folder: 20
Identifier: id10803
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

This collection contains materials relating to Robert Hunt Land's work on the history of the College of William and Mary. It includes a published description of Land's proposed history of the college, notes and correspondence about the proposed history, and biographical information about alumni (1814-1881). It also contains correspondence between Herbert Ganter, Earl Gregg Swem, and Robert Hunt Land about Ganter's research on William and Mary at the Library of Congress.

Dates: 1938-1942
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Robert Hunt Land Papers / Series 1: Papers / Box 2

George Washington University Update 1993, August 10, 1993

 Item — Box Series 5, Box 95: Series id3289
Identifier: id36274
Scope and Contents

Two VHS videotapes of the 1993 edition of The George Washington University Update. Each tape has length approximately 11:50.Tape is produced by the Penelope Maunsell & Associates. No other tape details are provided. Acc. 2008.108

Dates: August 10, 1993
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / University Archives Audiovisual Collection / Series 5: Videotapes / VHS Videotapes

George Washington Statue at UVA

 File — Box 5: Series id59473, Folder: 13
Identifier: id101694
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Post card collection documenting pre-restoration Williamsburg, restored Williamsburg, Jamestown, the College of William and Mary, the University of Virginia, and cities, towns, and holidays in Virginia. Also includes clippings, articles, photographs, programs, and souvenir publications. Wherever possible, the original folder names given by the creator have been maintained.

Dates: 1894-1999
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Carlton Casey Papers / Series 1: Acc. 1999.48 / Virginia Postcards

Budget--George Washington Memorial Bridge, 1932 - 1934

 File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id153586
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series documents the administration of College of William and Mary President J. A. C. Chandler for the years 1919-1934. The contents are available on microfilm in the library microforms collection on the ground floor of Swem Library. See call number LD6051 .W517 1919 C43, reels 1-46.

Dates: 1932 - 1934
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Office of the President. Julian Alvin Carroll Chandler Records / Acc. 1982.045 / Box 3

Fredericksburg Bicentennial Celebration, George Washington Hall, Mary Washington College, 1975 October 15

 File — Box 21: Series id182730, Folder: 85
Identifier: id206753
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Boxes 17-24. arranged chornologially: This series contains Godwin's official speeches, as well as other formal speeches made as a private citizen from 1957 through 1977. Although Godwin was a popular speaker prior to 1957, especially during his active participation in Ruritan National and early days in the General Assembly, no copies of speeches given during that period have survived.

Dates: 1975 October 15
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Mills E. Godwin, Jr. Papers / Series 5: Speeches / Box 21: Speeches

Filtered By

  • Repository: Special Collections Research Center X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Type
Archival Record 959
Collection 111
Digital Record 9
 
Subject
Correspondence 61
Financial records 22
Legal documents 18
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 18
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 16
∨ more
Photographs 15
Letters (correspondence) 9
Receipts (financial records) 9
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 9
Poems 8
Manuscripts (document genre) 7
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 6
Diaries 6
Genealogy 6
Minutes 6
Account books 5
College of William and Mary--Students 5
Notebooks 5
Scrapbooks 5
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 5
World War, 1939-1945 5
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 4
American poetry--19th century 4
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 4
Lawyers--Virginia--History 4
Pamphlets 4
Photocopies 4
Reports 4
United States--History--War of 1812 4
United States--Religious History--Christianity 4
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 4
Certificates 3
Deeds 3
Invitations 3
Ledgers (Accounting) 3
Programs 3
Speeches 3
Speeches, addresses, etc. 3
Surveys (documents) 3
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 3
United States--Slavery 3
Virginia--Militia 3
Virginia--Religious history 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 3
World War, 1914-1918 3
African Americans--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Agendas (administrative records) 2
Agriculture--Southern States--History--19th century 2
Anti-slavery movements 2
Artifacts 2
Athletics 2
Berkeley County (W.Va.)--History 2
COVID-19 (Disease) 2
Class materials 2
College of William and Mary--Students--Social life and customs 2
Commonplace books 2
Coronavirus infections 2
Design drawings 2
Diplomas 2
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Fauquier County (Va.)--History 2
Frederick County (Va.)--History 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 2
Indians of North America 2
Indians of North America--History--19th century 2
Land grants--Virginia 2
Loudoun County (Va.)--History 2
Mecklenburg County (Va.)--History 2
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Nansemond County (Va.)--History 2
Ohio County (W. Va.)--History 2
Painters--America 2
Petitions 2
Poetry 2
Quarantine 2
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877)--Virginia 2
Richmond (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Slavery--United States--History--19th century 2
Slavery--Virginia--History 2
Slavery--West Virginia--History 2
Sound Recordings 2
Southampton County (Va.)--History 2
Surveying--Virginia--History 2
Taxation--Virginia--History 2
Transcripts 2
Typescripts 2
United States-- History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Veterans 2
United States--Presidents 2
United States--Revolutionary War--1775-1783 2
University of Virginia--History--19th century 2
Video recordings 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Virginia--Governors 2
Virginia--History 2
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Virginia--Militia--History--War of 1812 2
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 150
French 2
Latin 2
Spanish; Castilian 2
Greek, Modern (1453-) 1
 
Names
Washington, George, 1732-1799 12
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 9
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 6
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 5
Washington family 5
∨ more
Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 5
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 4
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 4
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 4
Madison, James, 1749-1812 4
Scott, Winfield, 1786-1866 4
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 3
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 3
Coalter family 3
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 3
Coleman family 3
College of William and Mary. 3
Dew, Thomas R. (Thomas Roderick), 1802-1846 3
Jones, Warner Throckmorton 3
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 3
Office of the President 3
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 3
Tucker 3
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Braxton family 2
Brown family 2
Cheek, Leslie, 1908-1992 2
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 2
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 2
Cocke, John Hartwell, 1780-1866 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 2
Custis family 2
Custis, George Washington Parke, 1781-1857 2
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 2
Fitzhugh family 2
Harrison family 2
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 2
Madison, James, 1751-1836 2
Mason, Stevens Thomson, 1760-1803 2
Page family 2
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 2
Tucker, John Randolph, 1823-1897 2
Tucker-Coleman Family 2
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 2
Upshur, A. P. (Abel Parker), 1790-1844 2
Washington, Bushrod, 1762-1829 2
Washington, Lawrence, 1791-1875 2
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 2
Adams, John Quincy, 1767-1848 1
Adams, John, 1735-1826 1
Alexandra, Queen, consort of Edward VII, King of Great Britain, 1844-1925 1
Alexandria gazette 1
Alston Family 1
American Red Cross 1
Archer, William Segar, 1789-1855 1
Armistead, John 1
Armistead, William 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities--History. 1
Augusta, Princess, wife of Prince Adolphus Frederick, Duke of Cambridge, d. 1889 1
Badgley, John 1
Baker family 1
Bancroft, George, 1800-1891 1
Barber, Levi 1
Barraud, Philip, 1758-1830 1
Belk, George Washington, III 1
Belt, John Benjamin 1
Bland family 1
Blow family 1
Bolling, Maurice Landon 1
Bond, Herbert George, 1846-1928 1
Bowden, Lemuel Jackson. 1
Branch, Emma R. 1
Bright, Robert Anderson, 1839-1904 1
Bright, Samuel Francis 1
Brooks, Phillip, 1835-1983 1
Brown, Cassie Dallas Tucker 1
Brown, Henry James, 1811-1855 1
Brown, John Thompson, 1861-1921 1
Brown, John Willcox, 1886- 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bryan, Elizabeth Tucker Coalter, b. 1805 1
Bryan, John Randolph, 1806-1887 1
Buchanan, James, 1791-1868 1
Burke, Arleigh A., 1901-1996 1
Burton Family 1
Byrd, William, 1674-1744. 1
Calhoun, John C. (John Caldwell), 1782-1850 1
Call, Daniel, 1765 (ca.)-1840 1
Cambridge, Adolphus Frederick, Duke of, 1774-1870 1
Campbell, Malcolm E. 1
Catron, Louis E. 1
Cheever, John 1
Childress, Cecil Marcia 1
Choir and Chorus 1
Clark family 1
Coalter, Judith H. Tomlin, d. 1859 1
Cocke, John Hartwell 1
Coke, Richard, 1790-1851 1
Coleman, Charles Washington, 1826-1894 1
+ ∧ less