Skip to main content

George Washington Letter to Jonathan Boucher

 Collection
Identifier: UA 75

Scope and Contents

Letter dated 7 January 1773, from George Washington of Mt. Vernon to Rev. Jonathan Boucher (tutor to John Parke Custis, Washington's step-son) regarding Washington's suggestions for where Custis should attend college. It includes the following comments about William and Mary:

"...I cannot think William and Mary College a desirable place to send Jack Custis to -- the in-attention of the Masters, added to the number of Hollidays is the subject of general complaint... These considerations, added to a desire of withdrawing the mind of my ward as much as possible from the objects which seem at present to have engrossed too much of his attention...I have, I think, determined to send him to the Philadelphia College, which from the best information I have been able to get...stands equally fair with any other, and being nearer is more agreeable to his mother..."

Dates

  • 1773 January 7

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

This collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

George Washington (February 22, 1732 - December 14, 1799) led America's Continental Army to victory over Britain in the American Revolutionary War (1775-1783), and in 1789 was elected the first President of the United States of America. He served two four-year terms from 1789 to 1797. Washington served as the first American Chancellor of the College of William and Mary from 1788 to 1799.

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Acquisition Information:

Purchase

Accruals:

Acc. 1976.002

Related Materials:

39.1 W25: George Washington Papers
Title
Guide to the George Washington Letter to Jonathan Boucher
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Kay Domine.
Date
2007-06-23
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: