Special Collections Research Center

Scope and Contents

Ulster County Gazette, January 4, 1800 and The Virginia Gazette and Virginia Ad (Richmond, Virginia) February 1, 1800.

Scope and Contents

Thank you for taking care of my box. If you go soon to Bermuda, remember me to all. Though affairs in Bermuda are circumstance I think, they must soon be in a distressed situation, they should have attended to the fishery and become a flourishing people. I commend your prudence in your political silence.

Scope and Contents

No news from Bermuda except the death of your Grandmother. A most uncomfortable winter here. There are parts of the world, I think, more desirable than New York. I can almost fancy Bermuda one of them. Have you heard of the Princess Dowagers death or of the Queen of Denmark's supposed incontinency.

Scope and Contents

I enclose you a subject which please acknowledge service of. Also a bill to which you can draw an answer and forward to me together with the bill so that a decree may be obtained in March.

Scope and Contents

Lists important measures adopted by Congress during the present session.

Scope and Contents

Mr. Dearborn, son of the Secretary of War, intends to finish his studies at William and Mary. I received your subscription paper.

Scope and Contents

Charles W. Goldsborough of the Navy Department will be on business to the American Squadron in Hampton Roads. He will come through Williamsburg and expects to spend a day or two there viewing the old seat of government.

Scope and Contents

Thank you for the information.

Scope and Contents

I received your letter stating your acceptance of the appointment offered you by the President. The difficulty respecting the adminstration of the oath was new to me. My brother and I concur that any judge or tribunal qualified to administer an oath may do. Judge Livingstone says he was qualified by a judge of the state of New York.

Scope and Contents

While in Richmond, the business of the convention occupied most of my time. I was also a member of the standing committee. Have followed the author you mentioned in the pise? buildings. Tells of a barn he has had built.

Scope and Contents

Met the alleged Miss Brent at son-in-law's (Joseph Cabell) and ascribed changes in her to time and ill health. Had not seen her since 1801. Heard rumors and then proof that this woman was Polly Fagan, an impostress. Regrets any trouble caused to real Miss Brent. Regards of family.

Scope and Contents

Your son Henry Tucker is now out of all danger. His injury is only temporary. The Convention of Bank Directors at Philadelphia have resolved to resume their payment on the 20th of this month. Tucker copies part of a letter from Henry Taylor, 1817 January 31.

Scope and Contents

Mr. Coalter writes me about your health. I wish you would come here instead of going to Norfilk. The change of scenery will help you. Returning the letter from our sister Jane who is in great distress. had a letter from our sister Elizabeth.

Scope and Contents

Sends Tucker copies of public documents. Asks for acknowledgement of their receipt.

Scope and Contents

Sends Tucker a copy of reports of cases argued and adjudged in the Supreme Court of the United States at February term 1817. Asks acknowledgement of its receipt.

Scope and Contents

This is to introduce my worthy friend Governor Stone and his lady. They are passing on to North Carolina.

Scope and Contents

I wish I could help your health. Tells him some things for his health. George Tucker has lost his dear wife. He did not get home in time to see her.

Scope and Contents

As soon as the appropriations for the Civil list are made, your request will be handled.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Requests that he [JT] pardon John C. Sharpe, who was dismissed from the Navy, and restore him to his position. 1 p. ALS.

Scope and Contents

Published in September 25, 1983 Washington Post. Includes typescripts and newspaper article copies.

Scope and Contents

Will endeavor to get a board to meet with Woods on the subject of the note.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1921-1967, of A. Willis Robertson, U. S. Congressman and Senator from Virginia. Chiefly his senatorial office files, 1946-1966. Robertson was a conservative Democrat, serving at the same time as Harry F. Byrd, Sr. Subjects in the collection include national defense, agriculture, taxation, banking, government employees, the Moral...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1921-1967, of A. Willis Robertson, U. S. Congressman and Senator from Virginia. Chiefly his senatorial office files, 1946-1966. Robertson was a conservative Democrat, serving at the same time as Harry F. Byrd, Sr. Subjects in the collection include national defense, agriculture, taxation, banking, government employees, the Moral...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Congressional records of Herbert Bateman, William & Mary Class of 1949, House of Representatives, 1982-2000, First Virginia District.  Includes records relating to congressional sessions such as budget, appropriations; local subjects including NASA, King William Reservoir, wetlands; weekly columns; speeches; schedule books, press releases, briefing books; campaign papers and other papers relating to his work in the House of Representatives.  Herbert Bateman served on the Armed Services...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1921-1967, of A. Willis Robertson, U. S. Congressman and Senator from Virginia. Chiefly his senatorial office files, 1946-1966. Robertson was a conservative Democrat, serving at the same time as Harry F. Byrd, Sr. Subjects in the collection include national defense, agriculture, taxation, banking, government employees, the Moral...