- keyword(s): "williamsburg historic records association"
Showing Results: 26 - 50 of 126
John N. Bozarth Account Books
Nine account books of John Bozarth, 1925-1932.
December 5, 1930 to November 11, 1931: Includes Hartford Fire Insurance policy for Mary C. Taylor and Lois S. Nixon, Indemnity Insurance policy for John N. Bozarth and banking information.
Robert Anderson Letter to U.S. Customs
A.L.S. of Robert Anderson, Williamsburg, Virginia, to Collector of U.S. Customs, Savannah, Georgia, concerning the brig "Helen" formerly owned by Alexander Macaulay of Yorktown in 1798. Dated 20 December 1825. 2 pp.
The Byrd (Bird) Book and Tidewater Poems
Ann Little Papers
Letter, April 28,1967, from Ethel Rowell to Ann Little. Letter, October 1947, written in Shanghai China from Ellen Douglas Oliver to Courtney [Ward] and Archie; child's school project "Explorers in the New World"; and list of feature articles by Courtney S. Ward.
Stryker Papers
Material about and by Mayor Henry Stryker and Colonial Williamsburg hostess Fannie Stryker including reminiscences of Mrs. Stryker, photographic album on Mayor Stryker's retirement, scrapbook, 1957, of Jamestown Festival and visit of Queen Elizabeth. Mss. Acc. 1989.37a
Thelma Pedersen Collection
Publications and newspaper clippings concerning the Williamsburg area, including College of William and Mary material. Programs, pamphlets, fans and newspapers.
Guest Book (Williamsburg, Va.)
Guest book, possibly for a Williamsburg, Virginia guest house or tourist home. One entry reads, "As a guest in the home of Dr. and Mrs. A. R. Armstrong". 84 entries.
This Century Art Gallery Records
F. H. Ball Papers
Minutes of the Williamsburg Board of Trade, January-June 1908, F.H. Ball, Secretary; print of John Randolph House; program of the SAR (Sons of the American Revolution) at the Randolph-Peachy House, Oct. 16-19, 1931 (printed leaflet).
Glenna G. Shiflett Papers
Glenna Shiflett's papers concerning the Twentieth-Century Gallery (This Century Gallery) of Williamsburg, her teaching career in public schools and tax and other documents for property on Richmond Road in Williamsburg, Virginia owned by her and her husband, Thomas Shiflett.
Josef Roy Geiger Papers
The papers of Professor Josef Roy Geiger include lecture notes and proofs from his tenure at the College of William & Mary. Topics include philosophy and religion, efficiency, salesmanship, and related areas. At least some of the lectures appear to have been a series Professor Geiger presented to an undetermined group.
Mary Elizabeth McGinnis White Papers
Magruder School Parent Teacher Association Scrapbook
Scrapbook of the Magruder School Parent Teacher Association (PTA). Magruder School is located on Penniman Road in York County, Virginia. Includes history of the School Improvement League of Magruder School, the precursor to the PTA, certificates and newspaper clippings.
Frances H. Hamilton Collection
Items relating to Norge and Williamsburg, Virginia.
"Map of Norway, VA." which belonged to Ellen A. Huckstep. Torn. Undated. Photograph and photocopies of same map.Newspaper article about the founding of Norge. Undated. Photograph of the site of the Capitol and photograph of "Washington's Headquarters."
Leonard Henley, Jr. Account Book
Williamsburg Area Biographical Sketches by William T. Bryant
Typescripts of biographical sketches, 1981-1984, of 142 citizens of the Williamsburg, Virginia area written by William "Bill" Bryant. These profiles were originally published in the Williamsburg Advantage, a local tabloid shopper and were commissioned by Dr. Janet C. Kimbrough.
Includes an index and an introduction by Bill Bryant where he explains the beginnings of the profile series idea and how it was organized between him and the publisher.
Toano High School Library Association Record Book
One volume of the Toano High School Library Association, 1908-1934, including minutes of Board meetings, treasurer's reports, lists of visitors, lists of members and other organizational material. Includes newspaper article which lists the histories and biographies at the library (undated). This high school library also functioned as a local public library for the community.
WHRA.
Armistead Journal and Broadside
Broadside, "A Card from the Engineer of The E.L. Asylum" by Galba Vaiden, late engineer of the Eastern Lunatic Asylum, about favoritism in firing and hiring employees. Possibly 1890.
Small notebook, belonging to an Armistead Family member, which includes names of a circa 1910 football team following family account information from 1901. Handwriting is different.
Christian-Charles Family Photographs
Deed between H. D. and Carrie Cole to Lucy R. Brooks
Deed from H.D. and Carrie D. Cole, his wife, to Lucy R. Brooks for property on the southeast corner of Scotland and Henry Streets, Williamsburg, Virginia. Lot is portion of what is known as the Armistead Homestead. March 10, 1913.
WHRA.
Bell Hospital Records
Business ledgers of receipts and expenditures for Dr. Baxter I. Bell for Bell Hospital in Williamsburg, Virginia and one folder of loose business papers (25 items). 1926 to 1970. (Acc. 1995.61 and 1999.11)
Thomas R. Daley Papers
J. Kenneth Graham Collection
Collection of items relating to Williamsburg, Virginia and the personal papers of J. Kenneth Graham, particularly genealogy of his ancestor, James Graham of Pennsylvania.
King's Daughters. Kate Custis Circle (Williamsburg, Va.) Records
Sanborn Insurance Atlas, Williamsburg, Virginia Collection
Consists of materials related to the
Sanborn Insurance Atlas of Williamsburg (Rare Book-Double Folio G 1294 .W5 G495), which had beeen originally accessioned as 2006.039 before being transfered to the Rare Book collection.
Acc. 2007.100 consists of 2 DVDs with images from the Atlas (located in the Mss. Audio-Visual Collection.)
Acc. 2021.047 consists of 9 color reprodctions depicting maps dated June, 1960 in mapcase 55 drawer 13.