This Century Art Gallery Records
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
The records of This Century Art Gallery include office, financial, and personal files from various board members and officers, board minutes, printed material such as promotional material and newsletters, artist and exhibit information, inventory notebooks, daily logs, and loose papers.
Because Roger Sherman had made notes on many of the papers he gathered to help him write the history of the Gallery, they have been left together, but filed within the categories used for the rest of the collection, with his name as part of the folder heading. The exceptions are his actual drafts of the history, which are filed under his name.
Dates
- Creation: 1958-2009
Creator
- Sherman, Roger (Person)
- Shiflett, Glenna Graves (Person)
- Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) (Organization)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Historical Note:
This Century Art Gallery - Williamsburg exhibits a wide variety of contemporary paintings, sculpture, and crafts by outstanding regional and national artists. The Gallery, adjacent to Merchants Square and the Historic Area in Williamsburg, Virginia, occupies a unique 1920 Sears Roebuck house that was modernized in the 1980s. The Gallery is a nonprofit organization that is wholly volunteer-operated. Members give their time generously to manage Gallery business and to run the many programs it offers. The Gallery was named Twentieth Century Gallery when it was organized in 1958 and is affiliated with the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .
Extent
5.60 Linear Feet
Arrangement of Materials:
The collection has been arranged into six series: Office Files, Financial Records, Board of Directors, Roger Sherman’s Files, Artists and Exhibits, and Additions.
Acquisition Information:
Acc. 1997.47 gift of This Century Art Gallery through the Williamsburg Historic Records Association; Acc. 2004.17 gift of Glenna Shiflett through the Williamsburg Historic Records Association; Acc. 2005.52 gift of Glenna Shiflett through the Williamsburg Historic Records Association; Acc. 2009.281 gift of Glenna Shiflett through the Williamsburg Historic Records Association on 6/23/2009. Acc. 2010.644 gift of Miles Chappell and others.
Processing Information:
Processed by Anne Johnson in 2007.
Subject
- Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (Organization)
- Williamsburg Arts Council (Williamsburg, Va.) (Organization)
Genre / Form
Geographic
Occupation
Topical
- Title
- Guide to the This Century Art Gallery Records
- Author
- Finding Aid Authors: Anne T. Johnson.
- Date
- 2007-01-01
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository