Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 14

Dora and Cara Armistead Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2004.24, 2006.54
Scope and Contents Papers from the household of Dora Travis Armistead (1890-1979) and Rowland Cara Armistead, sisters of Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes letters, personal, financial and business papers of Cary Peyton Armistead (1856-1901), father of Dora and Cara, Steward of Eastern Lunatic Asylum (now Eastern State Hospital), and prominent local Episcopal Church and school leader; Eudora Ester Armistead (d. 1940), mother; Cary Champion Armistead (d. 1944), brother, and lawyer for a time in Detroit, Michigan;...

Charles H. Bell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B41
Scope and Contents The collection includes the correspondence, certificates, photographs, accounts, and journals of Rear Admiral Charles H. Bell. Naval journals cover Bell's service in the Mediterranean Sea from 1855-1858. The photographs are a mix of personal and souvenirs, which largely depict men and women from Peru. There is also material related to his role as executor for the estate of Samuel Swartwout. The collection also includes papers related to the Smith family, particularly Bell's executor and...

Bozarth Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2003.13
Scope and Contents Business and family papers of the Bozarth family. Acc. 2003.13 Scrapbook of Mary Hockaday Bozarth, Worthy Grand Matron of the Virginia Order of the Eastern Star with a list of Matrons and Patrons from 1941 to 1942 and certificates of membership for members of the Pocahontas Chapter 103 located in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1941.  Other related items in the collection is a photograph of Eastern Star women on the way to Bermuda and the Proceedings of the Grand Chapter...

Bright Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1996.24
Scope and Contents Papers of the Bright Family of Williamsburg, Virginia and Philadephia, Pennsylvania.  Correspondence and business papers of Robert Anderson Bright of Williamsburg, Virginia and his son Robert Southall Bright, College of William and Mary class of 1891 and a Philadelphia lawyer.  Personal and professional correspondence, bills and receipts, photographs and legal papers. Includes letters between Robert Southall Bright while a student at William and Mary to his father and letter...

Bucktrout-Braithwaite Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 98 B85
Scope and Contents Chiefly business correspondence and receipts, 1890-1920, of members of the Bucktrout and Braithwaite families of Williamsburg, Va. Among the correspondents are Hypolite Repiton, R. W. Bucktrout, D. Braithwaite, Richard M. Bucktrout and James Braithwaite. Descriptions of selected accessions: Acc. 1995.25: Bucktrout-Braithwaite Papers including copy of "Family Sites and the Restoration of Williamsburg" and an account of Christmas wedding of Delia Bucktrout to William...

Henry Denison Cole Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F....

Galt Papers (III)

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 78 G73
Scope and Contents The collection covers the dates 1750-1982 and consists chiefly of the personal and business correspondence, financial and legal documents, literary documents, and family history and genealogy notes of the Galt family. The collection also contains clippings, photographs, and personal mementos such as artifacts. Negatives have been added to Galt III, Group XI, Box IV, folder 44. Some material pertaining to William R. Galt is filed in 78 G73 Galt Family Papers III,...

Hall Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...

King's Daughters. Kate Custis Circle (Williamsburg, Va.) Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 71 K61, 2008.134, 2010.330
Scope and Contents Mss. 71 K61 includes the records of the Kate Custis Circle of the King's Daughters of Williamsburg, Virginia: a printed history of the circle by Estelle H. Smith; minutes of the circle meetings; correspondence; newspaper clippings; photographs; minutes of state convention meetings; programs of state conventions; scrapbooks; and leaflet concerning Estelle H. Smith. Mss. Acc. 2008.134 (Box 5) includes journal records from 1913-1933. Mss. Acc. 2010.330 (Box 6) includes...

Lee Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01 and Mss. Acc. 1995.27
Scope and Contents Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01, Series 1 - 4: Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Lee graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children.  An album has photos of a May Pole in front of the Williamsburg Court House on Duke of Gloucester St. The papers include material for some of his children, particulary Elizabeth Mallory Lee (Mrs. John Walston Henderson), Peticolas Lee (Mrs. Robert Edward Lee), Mary King Lee, and Edward M. Lee. ...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century X
  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Photographs X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 9
Financial records 7
Legal documents 6
Certificates 4
Account books 3
∨ more
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 3
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 3
Diaries 3
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 3
Genealogy 3
Manuscripts (document genre) 3
Notebooks 3
Reports 3
Checks (bank checks) 2
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 2
Minutes 2
Newspapers 2
Poems 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
Scrapbooks 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 2
Women--Education--Virginia 2
African Americans--Virginia--Suffrage 1
American Revolution--Veterans 1
Bank statements 1
Business records 1
Charities--Virginia 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Crab fisheries--Middle Atlantic States 1
Democratic Party (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Diplomas 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 1
Engravings (Prints) 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--19th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Fisheries 1
Harvard University--History--19th century 1
Invitations 1
Journals (accounts) 1
Lawyers--Pennsylvania--Philadelphia 1
Lawyers--Virginia--Correspondence 1
Marriage--Virginia 1
Mental illness--Treatment--History 1
Mental illness--Treatment--United States 1
Mental illness--United States 1
Mentally ill--Care 1
Music--Virginia--Williamsburg. 1
Orange County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Orange County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Oysters--Culture 1
Pamphlets 1
Pen drawing--19th century. 1
Photography, Stereoscopic 1
Pirates -- History 1
Plantation life 1
Plantations 1
Programs 1
Publications 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Schools--Virginia--James City County 1
Shipbuilding 1
Slides (photographs) 1
Tax records 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 1
United States. Navy--History--19th century 1
Video recordings 1
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 1
Virginia. Constitutional Convention (1901-1902) 1
Virginia. Militia. Wise Light Infantry 1
Voting--Virginia--History 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Colonial Period--History 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Post Office 1
Women college students 1
Women teachers 1
Women--History--Virginia 1
World War, 1914-1918 1
∧ less
 
Language
German 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 5
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 2
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert 2
∨ more
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 2
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Armistead Family 1
Armistead, Cary Champion, d. 1944 1
Armistead, Dora Travis, 1890-1979 1
Armistead, Rowland Cara 1
Beale family 1
Bell, Charles Heyer, 1798-1875 1
Blackstone Female Institute (Va.) 1
Bozarth family 1
Braithwaite family 1
Braithwaite, Adelia Bucktrout 1
Bright family 1
Bright family. 1
Bright, Robert Anderson, 1839-1904 1
Bright, Robert Southall, 1872-1943 1
Bucktrout family 1
Charles, John S., 1851-1930 1
Cole Family 1
Cole, Henry Denison, 1856-1938 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 1
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 1
Galt family 1
Galt, Alexander D. II, 1827-1863 1
Galt, Elizabeth Judith, 1816-1854 1
Galt, James, 1741-1800 1
Galt, John Minson, 1744-1808 1
Galt, John Minson, 1819-1862 1
Galt, Mary Meares, 1885-1978 1
Galt, Sallie, 1822-1880 1
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 1
Goodrich, E. E., (Mrs.) 1
Hall, Channing Moore, III 1
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 1
Hall, John Lesslie, Jr., 1891-1978 1
Jenkins, Minnie Braithwaite 1
Kate Custis Circle (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
King's Daughters (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Lee Family 1
Lee family 1
Lee, Edward Myers 1
Lee, Elizabeth Mallory, 1902- 1
Lee, Peticolas, 1904- 1
Madison, James, 1749-1812 1
Madison, James, 1751-1836 1
Madison, James, Jr., 1751-1836 1
Madison, James, Sr., 1723-1801 1
Order of the Eastern Star. Grand Chapter of Virginia 1
Page family 1
Paradise-Barziza family. 1
Powell, William Devens 1
Quincy, Josiah 1
Roberts, William Thomas 1
Rockefeller, Abby Greene Aldrich 1
Rockefeller, John D. (John Davison), 1874-1960 1
Rockefeller, Jr., John D. (Davison), 1874-1960 1
Saunders family 1
Saunders, Robert, 1805-1868 1
Smith, Israel, Jr 1
Southall family 1
Swartout, Samuel, 1804-1867 1
The Model School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Tidewater Weekly Review (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Tyler, Samuel 1
Virginia Polytechnic Institute. 1
Walsh, Robert, 1784-1859 1
Washington, Booker T., 1856-1915 1
Williams, Lloyd H. (Williams, Lloyd Haynes), 1905-1959 1
Williams, Ruth Elizabeth 1
Williamsburg Weekly Gazette (Va.) 1
∧ less