Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 434

A Portrait of Her photographs

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01863
Content Description

A series of 32 black and white self-portraits and nature photography by Prasanna Patel taken in 2023 to create a portrait of the artist's great-grandmother.

Dates: 2023 September 20

Abolitionist Movement Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01101
Scope and Contents Letters, a speech, and a photograph relating to the abolitionist movement in the United States. Correspondents include: Theodore Dwight Weld (1803-1895) of Lane Seminary, Elizur Wright (1804-1885), Secretary of the American Anti-Slavery Society, Gerrit Smith (1797-1874), philanthropist and reformer, Henry Grew (1782-1862), Quaker abolitionist, William Lloyd Garrison (1805-1879), prominent abolitionist, and Parker Pillsbury (1809-1898), abolitionist author. Subjects include abolition tactics...
Dates: 1834-1888

Abraham Family photographs

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01862
Content Description A collection of 27 8x10 silver gelatin prints that includes photographs of Dana Abraham's family. Each photograph is black and white with white borders, and spans from Fall 2022 to Spring 2023. Most of the photographs are of young women and girls of the Abraham family, with some elderly members of the family also included. The photographs are representative of the Abraham family's bond. Statement from creator and donor Dana Abraham: "The bond my family shares is something truly...
Dates: 2022-2023

African American Cabinet Cards

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: MS 00066
Scope and Contents 53 cabinet cards depicting African Americans from the 1880s-1890s. Photography studios' information is printed on the cards, but personal information concerning those photographed is not included. One cabinet card was taken by a C. E. Cheyne photography in Hampton, Virginia. The back of the cabinet card reads Carrie E. Stules, January 14, 1896. Three cabinet cards are of the medicine show duo "Pete and Lize," photographed by E. R. Rose, Oswego, Kansas. Geo Hamtpon...
Dates: circa 1880s-1890s

African American Family Photo Album

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00229
Scope and Contents A photo album, circa 1940-1950, of an unidentified African-American family, most likely of Richmond, Virginia. The album contains snapshots of multiple family members, taken at schools and colleges including Maggie L. Walker High School and Virginia Union University. Holiday and other events are depicted in the photographs along with shots of the Bell Tower, Kingsley Hall, Pickford Hall, and Moore Street Baptist Church. Several Richmond streets and landmarks are also featured in the photos,...
Dates: Circa 1940-1950

African American Family Photographs

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00230
Scope and Contents Photographs of an African-American family, circa 1880-1960, most likely of Richmond, Virgina. Included are snapshots, studio portraits and photo postcards of family members and also a postcard of the "Barracks of Colored Recruits, Camp Lee, Petersburg, Va." (addressed to Eliza Chatman, Richmond, Va.).  Some photos are identified by first names or location. Names include Pearl, Russell, Constance, Berkley, Allen, Beverley Boxyem, Samuel, Mary, James, Horace, Sarah, Mother Booker, Julie,...
Dates: circa 1880-1960

African American Stereoview Collection

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00129
Scope and Contents

This collection contains numerous stereograms taken throughout the Jim Crow Era. The stereograms portray the racist attitudes of the time period. Stereograms are an early form of photography which was often used for educational purposes. When a view finder is used to look at the stereograms, the images appear to be three dimensional.

Dates: 1860-1901 and undated

Alumni Association Photograph Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 47
Scope and Contents This collection contains black and white as well as color prints, negatives, and slides of photographs collected by the William & Mary Alumni Association for various events on the William & Mary campus. The bulk of the photographs concern events related to Homecoming including the parade, class reunions, and the Sunset Ceremony. The collection also contains photographs of Commencement, athletic events, photographs produced for the Alumni Gazette and...
Dates: 1960-2010; Majority of material found in 1970-1990

Alumni Band Organization Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 271
Scope and Contents This collection contains a substantial record of the administrative aspects of the Alumni Band Organization (ABO). Although the bulk of the records are related to this aspect of the ABO, the records are incomplete in several areas. However, the organization is in the process of collecting their records for donation to the University Archives and these gaps will likely be filled in the future. The records of the group are exhaustive in regards to the newsletters published by the group....
Dates: 1986-2012; Majority of material found in 1986-2000

Don Amador Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.562
Scope and Contents Papers of gay rights activist Don Amador of Los Angeles. Included are personal papers, papers relating to research and teaching, as well as papers relating to his political activities.  Included in this collection is a book titled, Homosexual Subculture 497.  It is a self published manuscript from June, 1976.  It is the cumulation of 14 term papers from his first course offering of a gay studies course at California State University, Long Beach.  Sociology 497 was the first of its kind.  The...
Dates: 1944-1983 and undated

Anne and Alan Morledge Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.23 and Additions
Scope and Contents

Collections of programs, pamphlets and other items from the Williamsburg, Virginia area. Biography and photograph of Comer Clarke Jackson, Manager of Casey's Department Store.

Dates: 1969-2005; Majority of material found in 1969-1988

W.A. Archer Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Tr8
Scope and Contents

Typescript copy of diary, 1931, of W. A. Archer's anthropological and biological expedition to El Choco, Colombia. The volume includes black and white photographs of the region and of its people.

Dates: 1931

Dora and Cara Armistead Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2004.24, 2006.54
Scope and Contents Papers from the household of Dora Travis Armistead (1890-1979) and Rowland Cara Armistead, sisters of Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes letters, personal, financial and business papers of Cary Peyton Armistead (1856-1901), father of Dora and Cara, Steward of Eastern Lunatic Asylum (now Eastern State Hospital), and prominent local Episcopal Church and school leader; Eudora Ester Armistead (d. 1940), mother; Cary Champion Armistead (d. 1944), brother, and lawyer for a time in Detroit, Michigan;...
Dates: 1880-1950

Art Matsu photograph

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.324
Content Description

A portrait photograph of Art Matsu. The back of the photo reads "Art Matsu, Coll. William and Mary. Reference Dept. Jan. 9, 1926. NEA."

Dates: 1926 January 9

Art Song of Williamsburg Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.58
Scope and Contents This collection contains the records and paperwork related to Art Song of Williamsburg.  This organization existed from 2000 through 2007 and was responsible for an average of three concerts a year.  Their records include papers relating to their creation and termination, financial and tax records, biographies and contracts for the artists they featured, as well as inter-organizational correspondence between board members.  Genevieve McGiffert was the founder and features prominently in the...
Dates: 2000-2007

Ash Lawn-Highland records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 189
Scope and Contents Ash Lawn-Highland is the home of James Monroe, the fifth president of the United States, and is located in Charlottesville, Virginia. Ash Lawn-Highland is owned and operated by The College of William and Mary, Monroe's alma mater.Ash Lawn-Highland is a historic museum with a 535-acre working farm, and performing arts site in Albermarle County, Virginia. President James Monroe and his wife, Elizabeth Kortright Monroe of New York, owned Ash Lawn-Highland from 1793 to 1826 and made...
Dates: 1978-1998

Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, Colonial Capitol Branch Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 82 A7
Scope and Contents Records of the Colonial Capitol Branch of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities(APVA), Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence, financial and legal documents, minutes and photographs. The long run of minutes, 1900-1976, document the development and work of this preservation group which took an interest in the historical sites of Jamestown and Williamsburg, Va. There is material relating to the Branch's work to preserve and restore the Capitol grounds, the...
Dates: 1896-1989

Lady Nancy Astor Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00631
Scope and Contents

18 Letters and notes, 1927-1956, from Nancy Astor, London, Taplow, and Plymouth, England, to Lilly Harrison Hill Smith Bradbury in Upperville, Virginia. Collection includes two photos of Nancy Astor, not originating with the correspondence. Lilly Harrison Hill Smith Bradbury and Nancy Astor were childhood friends.

Dates: 1927-1956

Doris C. Baker Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.115
Scope and Contents

Photographs and photograph albums, circa 1950s-1980s, of Doris C. Baker, author and poet of Virginia Beach, Virginia. The photographs document her travels throughout Europe, Africa, and Asia and include images of scenery, people with whom she met, and people with whom she traveled. Baker was from Muskegon, Michigan and went to work teaching in Department of Defense schools in Europe in the 1950s.

Dates: 1950-2013; Majority of material found in 1950-1986

Ball Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.674
Scope and Contents Papers, 1887-1976, of the Ball family, chiefly Hugh Ball and Mary Pierce Ball who operated a dairy farm in Vergennes, Vermont. Dairy farming account books and receipts are included in the collection. Mary Ball (née Mary Lucy Pierce) grew up in Shelbourne, Vermont and her eleven diaries, written between the ages of eighteen and thirty-two, detail the weather, social engagements, sewing projects, books read, school, and in the last diary, baby care. Also in the collection are...
Dates: 1887-1976

Harlan H. Ballard, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.091
Scope and Contents Set of 5 journals and a few single letters, poems, postcards and photographs. The journals document vacations and visits to Harlan H. Ballard, Jr.'s  cabin, referred to in one of the journals as 'Arbutus Lodge.' Arbutus Lodge was located in Nichewaug, near Barr, both Worcester County, Massachusetts. The entries were written both by the host and guests and detail their visits and activities. Several of the volumes contain photographs. Some of the names mentioned are: ...
Dates: 1921-1946; Majority of material found in 1921-1946

Barbara N. Moore Photograph Albums, circa

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2015.214
Scope and Contents

7 photograph albums related to several trips abroad made by Barbara N. Moore, circa 1970s-1990s.  While cities/towns may be identified, specific sites visited and individuals are not.  Places visited include the former Soviet Union, Germany, and Italy.

This collection is stored off-site. A minimum of 72 hours advanced notice is required for use.

Dates: 1970s-1990s

Martha Barksdale Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.004
Scope and Contents [NOTE: Since the Martha Barksdale diary is fragile, researchers are required to use either the digital verison, the photocopy, or the transcription of the diary.]The papers include Martha Barksdale's diary for 1918-1919, recording her experiences as a member of the first class of women at William and Mary. The bulk of the collection consists of photographs that document student activities and women's sports at the college from her student years to her teaching career. The bulk of...
Dates: 1918-1974; Majority of material found in 1918-1922

Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.29
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1909-1966, relating to institutions in Williamsburg, Virginia including William and Mary, Matthew Whaley School and Bruton Parish Church collected by Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough.

Dates: 1909-1966

Cynthia Barlowe Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2001.19 and 2002.63
Scope and Contents

Collection of photographs, newspaper clippings, publications, postcards and other items relating to Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1902-2001

Filtered By

  • Subject: Photographs X
  • Subject: Photographs X
  • Subject: Photographs X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Photographs 400
Correspondence 203
Scrapbooks 89
Programs 61
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 57
∨ more
College of William and Mary--Students 55
Diaries 52
Clippings (information artifacts) 50
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 49
Financial records 48
Letters (correspondence) 37
Legal documents 36
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 34
Reports 33
Certificates 29
Minutes 29
Postcards 28
Printed ephemera 28
Publications 28
Notebooks 27
Newspapers 26
Receipts (financial records) 24
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 23
World War, 1939-1945 23
Fliers (printed matter) 21
Pamphlets 21
Genealogy 19
Negatives 18
Account books 17
Slides (photographs) 17
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 17
Manuscripts (document genre) 16
Speeches 16
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 16
Virginia--Genealogy 15
Women college students 15
Invitations 14
Newsletters 14
Poems 14
Photocopies 13
Agendas (administrative records) 12
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 12
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 11
World War, 1914-1918 11
Athletics 10
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 10
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 10
Typescripts 10
Women--Diaries 10
Carte de visite photographs 9
Maps 9
Posters 9
Speeches, addresses, etc. 9
Video recordings 9
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 9
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 9
African Americans 8
African Americans--Virginia--Photographs 8
Business records 8
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 8
Jamestown Festival (1957) 8
Sound Recordings 8
Student Life--1920s 8
United States--Politics and Government 8
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 8
Broadsides 7
Cabinet photographs 7
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 7
Greeting cards 7
Obituaries 7
Photograph albums 7
Playbills 7
Press releases 7
Research notes 7
Stereoscopic photographs 7
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 7
Virginia--History--20th century 7
Virginia--Religious history 7
Women--Education--Virginia 7
Women--History--Virginia 7
Women--Travel 7
Yearbooks 7
Booklets 6
Class materials 6
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 6
Engravings (Prints) 6
Plays (document genre) 6
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 6
Student Activities--Dances 6
Student Life--1930's 6
Student Life--1940's 6
Theater 6
Transcripts 6
Virginia--History--19th century 6
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 6
Virginia--Social life and customs--20th century 6
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 6
World War, 1939-1945--European Front 6
World War, 1939-1945--Women--United States 6
Yorktown (Va.)--History--20th century 6
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 430
German 10
French 8
Chinese 3
Japanese 3
∨ more  
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 45
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 42
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 13
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 13
College of William and Mary. 11
∨ more
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 9
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 9
College of William and Mary 8
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 7
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 7
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 5
Choir and Chorus 4
College of William and Mary. School of Business Administration 4
College of William and Mary. School of Education 4
Democratic Party (U.S.) 4
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 4
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 4
Republican Party (U.S.) 4
Scammon, Howard, 1911-1999 4
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
American Red Cross 3
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities 3
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 3
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 3
Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 3
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 3
Landrum, Grace Warren, 1876-1951 3
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 3
Office of the President 3
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 3
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Swem family 3
Verkuil, Paul R 3
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Barksdale, Martha, 1900-1974 2
Barlowe, Cynthia Beverly Tucker Kimbrough 2
Bland family 2
Booth family 2
Boy Scouts of America 2
Bozarth family 2
Bushnell, David Ives, Jr., 1875-1941 2
Catlett family 2
Cheek, Leslie, 1908-1992 2
Close, Glenn, 1947- 2
College of William and Mary--Baseball 2
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors. 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Biology 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Fine Arts 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Psychology 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Sociology 2
College of William and Mary. Staff 2
Colonial Echo 2
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 2
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969 2
Episcopal Church 2
Ford, Gerald R., 1913-2006 2
Galt family 2
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 2
Gary Alonzo Barranger 2
Godwin, Edwin Mills, Jr., 1914-1999 2
Goodwin, William Archer Rutherfoord, 1869-1939 2
Green, Paul, 1894-1981. Common Glory 2
Gregg family 2
Grigsby, Hugh Blair, 1806-1881 2
Guy family 2
Hall, John Lesslie, Jr., 1891-1978 2
Hamilton, Frances H., 1928-2008 2
Hampton College (Hampton, Va.) 2
Hansbrough family 2
Harrison, William Henry, 1773-1841 2
Hart, John, 1860-1937 2
Holton, A. Linwood (Abner Linwood), 1923- 2
Hunt, Althea, 1890-1971 2
Jackson, Comer Clarke 2
Jamestown Corporation 2
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 2
Jones, W. Melville, 1901-1992 2
Joseph and Margaret Muscarelle Museum of Art 2
Kimbrough, Janet C 2
King's Daughters (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Lee Family 2
Lee, Elizabeth Mallory, 1902- 2
Luce family 2
Myers, Barton, 1853-1927 2
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 2
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 2
Readjuster Party of Virginia 2
Roosevelt, Franklin D. (Franklin Delano), 1882-1945 2
Rouse, Parke Shepherd, Jr. 2
Saunders family 2
School of Education 2
Skipwith, Robert 2
Smith family 2
Society of the Alumni 2
Sons of the American Revolution 2
Space Shuttle Program (U.S.) 2
Student Organizations--Colonial Echo 2
Swem Library 2
+ ∧ less