Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 26 - 50 of 57

Evelyn M. Hailey Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.425, 2011.517, and 2011.623
Scope and Contents Papers, circa 1970s-1990s, of Evelyn Momsen Hailey (1922-2011) of Norfolk, Virginia. Hailey served as a member of the Virginia House of Delegates from 1974 to 1981 and as a member of the State Senate from 1981 to 1982. She was active with women's rights organizations and environmental protection and an avid supporter of  Equal Rights Amendment legislation.  Her papers include correspondence, clippings, speeches, and printed material, campaign materials, and other materials related to her...
Dates: circa 1970s-1990s; Majority of material found in 1974-1986

Channing M. Hall III Williamsburg, Virginia Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1999.19a and Additions
Scope and Contents

The collection includes personal as well as offical papers of Channing M. Hall III of Williamsburg. Hall was a member of the Williamsburg City Council and most of the collection concerns the government of the Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1996-2004

John Lesslie Hall, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 H14
Scope and Contents Papers, 1937-1973, of Admiral John Lesslie Hall, Jr. of Williamsburg and Alexandria, Va. and while stationed at Pearl Harbor, San Francisco and Norfolk, Va. The papers are both personal and professional. The collection contains material concerning World War II Operations TORCH (North Africa), BIGOT-HUSKY, AVALANCHE (Salerno), NEPTUNE-OVERLORD, and as well as the Army-Navy joint agreement on Normandy. Also includes material pertaining to his work with the USO, the Naval War College, Army War...
Dates: 1893-1973

John Lesslie Hall Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.021
Scope and Contents

Collection of John Lesslie Hall, a William and Mary faculty member from 1888-1928. The collection includes biographical material; notebooks; publications; pictures; speeches and addresses; Notes on Bruton Parish Church; correspondence; and tax levies.

Dates: 1885-1928

Thomas W. Harris Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 H24
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1837-1889, of Thomas W. Harris, Littleton, Warren County, N. C. Included is correspondence from William H. Harris of Yalabusha County, Miss. and C.A. Harris of Baltimore, Md.; and a speech, 5 June 1889, given by Thomas W. Harris before the Alumni Association of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill at the Centennial Anniversary Celebration.

Dates: 1837-1889

Lawrence I'Anson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 85 Ia6
Scope and Contents

Papers, circa 1938-1983, of Lawrence I'Anson, lawyer and justice of the Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals. Includes correspondence, invitations, programs, speeches, judicial opinions, certificates, newspaper clippings, magazine articles, photographs and scrapbooks.

Dates: 1938-1983

William Lamb Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L16
Scope and Contents Diaries, 1855, 1859-1861, 1864-1909, (52 volumes) of Col. William Lamb (1835-1909), written while a student at the College of William and Mary, newspaper editor, Civil War commander of Fort Fisher, N.C. (1862-1865), coal merchant, Norfolk businessman and mayor (1880-1886), and member of the Board of Visitors and Rector of William and Mary. Collection also includes diary, 1861, and some letters of his wife Sarah Annie Chaffee Lamb as well as page proofs and other material relating...
Dates: 1835-1909

Grace Warren Landrum Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.013
Scope and Contents

This collection contains biographical materials, correspondence, notebooks, scrapbooks, and other material related to former College of William and Mary Dean of Women Grace Warren Landrum from 1890-1995. Also included in the collection are dance and banquet programs; information about the dedication of Landrum Hall; and programs, news clippings, and photographs relating to the Matthew Whaley School from 1931-1932.

Dates: 1890-1995

Lassiter Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L33
Scope and Contents Papers (including correspondence and speeches); 1861-1928; of Francis Rives Lassiter and Charles Trotter Lassiter. Correspondence concerns Virginia Democratic Party, Prohibition, the Good Roads Movement, agriculture, and the presidential campaign of 1928. The collection includes a list of Petersburg, Va. volunteers in the American Civil War; letter copybooks of both men; and papers, 1910, relating to the death of Francis Rives Lassiter.  962 items and 8 volumes. Acc. 2011.613...
Dates: 1861-1928

Fitzhugh Lee Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01268
Scope and Contents Letters written from Lee to Manning Marius Kimmel, a fellow Confederate officer and to other acquaintances concerning former Confederate officers, Reconstruction and Kimmel's experiences fighting as a mercenary with Maximilian in Mexico. Includes letter, 4 November 1875, discussing the participation of blacks in the dedication of the equestrian statue of Stonewall Jackson on Monument Avenue in Richmond and the typescript of the speech, 11 August 1875, made by W. H. Payne when nominating Lee...
Dates: 1866-1887

Robert E. Lee Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 L52
Scope and Contents

Letter, 4 May 1861, to Robert E. Lee from T. Rowland of Fairfax County, Va. desiring a commission with the Virginia forces, bearing endorsement of Lee. Includes printed material regarding Lee, such as his farewell address to the Army of Northern Virginia, his will, and  photographs and engravings of Lee.

Dates: 1829-1937

John M. Levy Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.107
Scope and Contents

The papers of William & Mary Law School Professor Emeritus John M. Levy include speeches given at various events by Dr. Levy, newsclippings either written by Levy or pertaining to Levy, as well as coursework and research during his tenure at the Law School.

Dates: 1993-2007 and undated

Cotesworth P. Lewis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1997.26
Scope and Contents Papers of the Reverend Cotesworth P. Lewis of Bruton Parish Church, Williamsburg, Va. More than one-half of the collection consists of letters written to Lewis relating to a sermon he gave 12 November 1967 with President Lyndon B. Johnson in the congregation. Lewis questioned United States policy in Vietnam. Most of the letters in the collection are favorable to Lewis' sermon. The rest of the collection consists of other sermons, 1938, 1947-1995 (1200 sermons), eulogies given by Lewis;...
Dates: 1938-1995

Carter Lowance Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 94 L95
Scope and Contents The personal and professional papers of Carter Lowance, executive assistant to six governors of Virginia: William M. Tuck, John S. Battle, Thomas B. Stanley, J. Lindsay Almond, Albertis S. Harrison and Mills Edwin Godwin. Papers also concern Harry F. Byrd, Sr. and Harry F. Byrd, Jr., and John N. Dalton. There are speeches, papers relating to Lowance's military career (including correspondence with his wife, Elizabeth Austin Lowance), awards received by Lowance, photographs, and papers...
Dates: 1860-1993; Majority of material found in 1942-1988

Virginia Taylor McCormick Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 M13
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1887-1953, of Virginia Taylor McCormick, Norfolk, Va. poet, literary critic, essayist, lecturer, and editor of The Lyric magazine, 1921-1929. Includes manuscript and printed poems; essays; lectures; diaries, and correspondence with other poets and writers. Correspondents include Franklin Pierce Adams, Lady Astor, Lord Beaverbrook, Gamaliel Bradford, Van Wyck Brooks, Walter de la Mare, Ellen Glasgow, Rupert Hughes, Amy Lowell, H. L. Mencken and Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings.

Dates: 1873-1957

Richard Lee Morton Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 M84
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1930-1969, of Richard Lee Morton, professor of history at the College of William and Mary from 1919 to 1959. Series 1 includes personal and professional correspondence, lectures and notes relating to his research on Virginia history, and material relating to his community activities in Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence of his wife Estelle (Dinwiddie) Morton, land grants, 1756 and 1774, signed by Robert Dinwiddie and Lord Dunmore, Confederate currency and bonds,...
Dates: 1756-2006; Majority of material found in 1930-1969

Myers-Burrage-Graham Papers (I) Group A

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 98 M99 Group A
Scope and Contents

Group A;  Papers of Moses Myers, and his sons Samuel Myers (1790-1829) lawyer in Norfolk and Pensacola, Fla. and John Myers (1787-1830) merchant of Norfolk. Includes papers of Barton Myers (1853-1927), mayor of Norfolk, Va. and his family.

Dates: 1776-1925

Robert Nelson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 N34
Scope and Contents Correspondence, sermons, essays and accounts of Robert Nelson, Protestant Episcopal missionary to Shanghai, China. The collection Includes two account books, a lettercopy book, and articles written by Nelson as well as two manuscript Chinese-English dictionaries compiled by Nelson. Some items, such as a "Count of Missionaries and Staff in China, 1807-1874" illuminate the history of missionaries in China. There is one letter written to Nelson in which the writer has used Wade-Giles...
Dates: 1845-1897; Majority of material found in 1845-1885

Blake T. Newton, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 84 N42
Scope and Contents Papers, 1939-1985, of Blake Tyler Newton, Jr., lawyer and insurance company executive. Mostly correspondence which cover his professional life. The letters concern Virginia State Bar Association, American Council of Life Insurers, American Law Institute, Bank of Virginia, Bell System, Institute of Life Insurance, Jefferson-Pilot Corporation, Mayor's Overall Economic Advisory Committee (Washington, D. C.), National Center for State Courts, Shenandoah Life Insurance Corporation,...
Dates: 1939-1985

Office of the President. Paul R. Verkuil Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.17
Scope and Contents

This collection is composed of files from the College of William and Mary Office of the President during the administration of Paul Verkuil. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventories available here.

Dates: 1984-1992

Davis Young Paschall Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.14
Scope and Contents This collection is composed of material collected by and about College of William and Mary President Davis Y. Paschall including articles and speeches, biographical material, material related to his inauguration as College President, news clippings, and subject files. The collection documents Paschall's life from his days as a student at the College of William and Mary, his tenure as Superintendent of Public Instruction for the Commonwealth of Virginia (1957-1960) and President of the...
Dates: 1931-2001; Majority of material found in 1931-2001

Office of the President. Thomas A. Graves, Jr. Records

 Collection
Identifier: 00/02/UA 2.16
Scope and Contents

The collection includes subject files, speeches, and other material from the administration of College of William and Mary President Thomas Ashley Graves with some overlap with his predecessor Davis Y. Paschall and his successor Paul Verkuil. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventories available here.

In addition, there are two unprocessed boxes. Consult a staff member for assistance.

Dates: 1940-1985; Majority of material found in 1971-1985

Robert D. Calkins Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.165
Scope and Contents

Letters, speeches, publications, and other materials, circa 1930s-1990s, of Robert D. Calkins, economist and president of the Brookings Institution. Includes speeches and publications by Calkins about the role and future of higher education, business education, and economic matters. There are also letters from throughout his career, including letters from members of state and federal governments, other academics, and business leaders.

Dates: 1930-1992, undated; Majority of material found in 1944-1976

A. Willis Robertson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 66 R54
Scope and Contents This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1921-1967, of A. Willis Robertson, U. S. Congressman and Senator from Virginia. Chiefly his senatorial office files, 1946-1966. Robertson was a conservative Democrat, serving at the same time as Harry F. Byrd, Sr. Subjects in the collection include national defense, agriculture, taxation, banking, government employees, the Moral...
Dates: 1921-1971, 1988; Majority of material found in 1946-1966

J. Randolph Ruffin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1998.58
Scope and Contents

Papers of J. Randolph Ruffin. Newspaper clippings, brochures, drafts of speeches, correspondence about Virginia history, the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, and tours directed by J. Randolph Ruffin, Director of Special Events for the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. Accessions 1998.58 and 1999.22 WHRA.

Dates: 1956-1993

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Speeches X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 56
Speeches 35
Speeches, addresses, etc. 22
Photographs 21
Financial records 13
∨ more
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 12
Legal documents 12
Publications 12
Reports 12
Diaries 9
Agendas (administrative records) 8
Scrapbooks 8
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 7
United States--Politics and Government 7
Certificates 6
Clippings (information artifacts) 6
Minutes 6
Notebooks 6
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 6
Account books 5
Manuscripts (document genre) 5
Virginia--Governors 5
Virginia--Politics and Government 5
Memorandums 4
Pamphlets 4
Programs 4
Receipts (financial records) 4
Typescripts 4
Video recordings 4
Virginia--History--20th century 4
Virginia--Politics and government--20th century 4
Virginia--Religious history 4
World War, 1914-1918 4
World War, 1939-1945 4
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 3
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 3
Genealogy 3
Invitations 3
Letter books 3
Letters (correspondence) 3
Newspapers 3
Poems 3
Press releases 3
Segregation in education--Virginia 3
United States--Lawyers 3
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 3
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 3
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 2
American diaries--Women authors 2
Banks and banking--United States--History 2
Charter Day 2
Class materials 2
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 2
Communism--Post 1945 2
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 2
Essays 2
Graduation (School) 2
Invoices 2
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Lecture notes 2
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Oral histories 2
Patronage, Political--United States--History 2
Photostats 2
President's House (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Roads--Virginia 2
Slides (photographs) 2
Technical reports 2
Transcripts 2
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 2
United States--History--War of 1812 2
United States--Religious History--Christianity 2
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 2
Virginia--Biography 2
Virginia--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Colonial Period--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 2
Women college students 2
Women--Education--Virginia--History 2
Wren Building (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Yorktown (Va.)--History--20th century 2
AIDS (Disease)--Research--United States 1
Abolitionists 1
African Americans 1
Agriculture--United States 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
American literature--20th century 1
American newspapers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Animal welfare--United States 1
Anti-slavery movements 1
Art (sketches) 1
Art History 1
Artists--United States 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
Chinese 1
German 1
Latin 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 9
Democratic Party (U.S.) 5
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 5
Virginia State Senate 5
United States Congress 4
∨ more
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 3
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 3
Democratic Party (Va.) 3
Godwin, Edwin Mills, Jr., 1914-1999 3
Office of the President 3
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 3
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 3
Republican Party (U.S.) 3
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 3
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Associated and Branch Campuses--Virginia Associated Research Campus 2
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 2
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 2
College of William and Mary. School of Education 2
Currie, Clifford W. 2
Development Office--Endowment Association 2
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969 2
French, Samuel Bassett, 1820-1898 2
Galt family 2
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 2
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 2
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr., 1924- 2
Holton, A. Linwood (Abner Linwood), 1923- 2
Order of the White Jacket 2
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia 2
Tyler Family 2
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 2
University of Virginia 2
Verkuil, Paul R 2
Virginia Institute of Marine Science 2
Adams, John, 1735-1826 1
Alpha Delta Gamma 1
American Anti-Slavery Society 1
American Association of University Women 1
American Freedman Aid Commission, Philadelphia, Pa 1
American Library Association 1
American Red Cross 1
Associated and Branch Campuses--Richard Bland College 1
Ballard family 1
Ballard, James William, 1875-1920 1
Barron, James, 1769-1851 1
Bateman, Herbert Harvell, 1928-2000 1
Beeckman, Margaret Gardiner, d. 1857 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman 1
Brown, Henry James, 1811-1855 1
Burke, Arleigh A., 1901-1996 1
Cady, Daniel 1
Cameron, William Evelyn, 1842-1927 1
Carrington family 1
Chandler, Alvin Duke 1
Chandler, Alvin Duke, 1902-1987 1
Christian, Joseph Allan, 1880-1968 1
Clark, Graves Glenwood, 1894-1967 1
College of William and Mary. 1
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Biology 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 1
College of William and Mary. Medieval and Renaissance Studies Program 1
College of William and Mary. Project Plus 1
College of William and Mary. School of Business Administration 1
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 1
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 1
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 1
Cook, Margaret C. 1
Copland, Charles 1
Dalton, John N 1
Dalton, John N. 1
Davis, Donald W. 1
DeVita, Vincent T. 1
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 1
Dromgoole family 1
Dromgoole, Edward Jr., d. ca. 1848 1
Dromgoole, Edward, 1838-1897 1
Dromgoole, Edward, Jr., d. ca. 1848 1
Dromgoole, Edward, fl., 1838-1897 1
Dromgoole, George Coke, 1797-1847 1
Dromgoole, W. E 1
Dromgoole, W. E. 1
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 1
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 1
Eastern Publishing Co 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 1
Economic Development 1
Ellis, Pearl Tyler, 1860-1947 1
Fairbanks, Douglas, 1909- 1
Flickinger, B. Floyd, 1905-1992 1
Ford, Gerald R., 1913-2006 1
Galt, Alexander D. II, 1827-1863 1
Galt, Elizabeth Judith, 1816-1854 1
Galt, John Minson, 1744-1808 1
Galt, John Minson, 1819-1862 1
Galt, Rogers Harrison 1
+ ∧ less