Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 17 of 17

Art Song of Williamsburg Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.58
Scope and Contents This collection contains the records and paperwork related to Art Song of Williamsburg.  This organization existed from 2000 through 2007 and was responsible for an average of three concerts a year.  Their records include papers relating to their creation and termination, financial and tax records, biographies and contracts for the artists they featured, as well as inter-organizational correspondence between board members.  Genevieve McGiffert was the founder and features prominently in the...
Dates: 2000-2007

Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.29
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1909-1966, relating to institutions in Williamsburg, Virginia including William and Mary, Matthew Whaley School and Bruton Parish Church collected by Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough.

Dates: 1909-1966

Birchwood Estates Garden Club Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1995.30
Scope and Contents

Scrapbooks, 1960-1990, of the Birchwood Estates Garden Club in Williamsburg, Va. Contains minutes, announcements of programs, photographs, newspaper clippings, correspondence and cartoons.

Dates: 1960-1990

Carlton Casey Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1999.48
Scope and Contents

Papers of Carlton Casey.

The inventory is a guide to Mss. Acc. 1999.48 which is the postcard collection documenting pre-restoration Williamsburg, restored Williamsburg, Jamestown, the College of William and Mary, the University of Virginia, and cities, towns, and holidays in Virginia. Also includes clippings, articles, photographs, programs, and souvenir publications.

Additions to the collection are described individually.

Dates: 1894-1999

Henry Denison Cole Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F....
Dates: 1786-1939

W. C. Ewing Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Ew4
Scope and Contents

Correspondence, programs, minutes, reports, and clippings; 1935-1936; concerning the Virginia Court season in Williamsburg for 1935 and plans for 1936.

Dates: 1935-1936

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates: 1900-1988

Mildred Jackson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2000.67
Scope and Contents

Papers of Mildred Jackson of Williamsburg, Virginia. She was a private piano instructor in Williamsburg, a performer with the William and Mary Music Department, and the wife of Dr. Jess Jackson, a professor of English at William and Mary. Includes lesson plans, music books, financial records, correspondence, newspaper articles, photographs, programs, and address books.

Dates: 1938-1976

Jamestown Corporation Records

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 77 C73
Scope and Contents

Records, 1946-1979, of the Jamestown Corporation which was responsible for two of Paul Green's outdoor dramas, "The Common Glory," and "The Founders." Includes certificate of incorporation, by-laws, minutes, yearbooks, scripts, programs, ground plans, costume designs audio-visual materials, photographs, music and loose papers (correspondence and budgets).

Dates: 1946-1979

Janet C. Kimbrough Williamsburg Area History Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1985.50, 1991.36 and 1993.06
Scope and Contents

Collection of material about Williamsburg, Virginia area history including Colonial Williamsburg Foundaton, Williamsburg Public Library, "Model" school of Williamsburg, Yorktown Bicentennial, Bundles for Britain and more.  Includes photographs of family and friends, many set in Williamsburg, and photograph of dedication of the Confederate Monument on the Palace Green.

Dates: 1873-1994

Cotesworth P. Lewis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1997.26
Scope and Contents Papers of the Reverend Cotesworth P. Lewis of Bruton Parish Church, Williamsburg, Va. More than one-half of the collection consists of letters written to Lewis relating to a sermon he gave 12 November 1967 with President Lyndon B. Johnson in the congregation. Lewis questioned United States policy in Vietnam. Most of the letters in the collection are favorable to Lewis' sermon. The rest of the collection consists of other sermons, 1938, 1947-1995 (1200 sermons), eulogies given by Lewis;...
Dates: 1938-1995

Person Family papers

 Collection
Identifier: MSS ACC 2005.56
Scope and Contents The collection contains papers ranging in date from 1872 to 2002 documenting the Person family. Materials includes account books including those of both Charles Person and William Person, Sr. Other papers and photographsd illustrate family life in the city of Williamsburg, Virginia in the early-to-mid 1900s. Artifacts, including fans, Williamsburg Laundry thermometer and a charcoal drawing of a residence are also included.Box 5 (oversize) includes material from the addition...
Dates: Circa 1872-2002

Sons of the American Revolution. Virginia Society. Williamsburg Chapter Records

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00199
Scope and Contents

Minutes, yearbooks, photographs, printed matter and organizational files, 1969-2017 of the Williamsburg Chapter of the Virginia Society of the Sons of the American Revolution. Includes 5 CDs of digital files.

Dates: 1969-2013; Majority of material found in 1980-2000

Lloyd H. and Ruth Elizabeth Williams Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1998.21-2007.66-2015.146
Scope and Contents Mss. Acc. 1998.21: Papers, (bulk 1947-1959), of Lloyd Haynes Williams, photographer and journalist. The largest part of the collection is financial in nature. Includes newspaper clippings concerning Williams, including an obituary and editorial at his death. Includes papers of Mrs. E. E. Goodrich. Also includes notes on sailing, shipbuilding, fishing, oystering and crab industries. There are many notes concerning piracy and a manuscript by Williams called "Blackbeard's Account."...
Dates: 1917-2008 and undated; Majority of material found in 1947-1959

Williamsburg Arts Council Scrapbook

 Collection — Box: 1, Bound Volume: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.029
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook, 1967-1974 of the Williamsburg Arts Council, consisting of programs, news clippings, photographs, financial records, fliers and correspondence.

Dates: 1967-1974

Williamsburg Bibliophiles Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 W67
Scope and Contents

Papers of the Williamsburg (Va.) Bibliophiles. Includes articles of organization, minutes, membership lists, accounts and budgets, newsletters, correspondence, programs, donations and contributions, and materials relating to a student book collecting contest sponsored by the organization. Includes first accession ((Mss. 90 W67))and additions.

Dates: 1974-1991

Williamsburg Reunion Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.01
Scope and Contents

The collection includes programs, booklets, and various material from the Williamsburg Reunion. The Williamsburg Reunion is a series of activities designed to celebrate the common heritage and shared memories of everyone who lived in the Williamsburg area 40 or more years ago.

Dates: 1968-2010

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Programs X
  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 16
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 15
Photographs 13
Financial records 7
Minutes 7
∨ more
Clippings (information artifacts) 4
Fliers (printed matter) 4
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
Scrapbooks 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 4
Account books 3
Broadsides 3
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 3
Printed ephemera 3
Reports 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 3
Booklets 2
Business records 2
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 2
Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Invitations 2
Newspapers 2
Notebooks 2
Obituaries 2
Pamphlets 2
Postcards 2
Publications 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 2
Address books 1
African Americans--Virginia--Suffrage 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
Announcements 1
Art centers 1
Book collecting--Virginia--Williamsburg--Societies 1
Books 1
Cartoons 1
Certificates 1
Christmas cards 1
College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
Crab fisheries--Middle Atlantic States 1
DVDs 1
Democratic Party (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Design drawings 1
Diaries 1
Drama--20th century 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History 1
Essays 1
Fisheries 1
Garden Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Gardening--History--20th century 1
Gardening--Societies, etc.--Virginia 1
Gardening--Virginia 1
Gradebooks 1
Green, Paul, 1894-1981. The Founders 1
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
James City County (Va.)--Tercentenary 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History--Drama 1
Journals (periodicals) 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Mailing lists 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Medicine--Prescriptions--19th century 1
Membership lists 1
Music 1
Music--Instruction and study--United States 1
Music--Virginia--Williamsburg. 1
Negatives 1
Newsletters 1
Norge (Va.)--History 1
Oral histories 1
Ordinance 1
Oysters--Culture 1
Photographic prints 1
Photography, Stereoscopic 1
Pirates -- History 1
Playbills 1
Postcards--Virginia 1
Posters 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Schools--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Shipbuilding 1
Slides (photographs) 1
Sound Recordings 1
Speeches 1
Speeches, addresses, etc. 1
Stereographs 1
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783--Societies, etc 1
Video recordings 1
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 1
+ ∧ less
 
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 5
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 2
College of William and Mary. School of Education 2
American Association of University Women 1
∨ more
American Red Cross 1
Art Song of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Barlowe, Cynthia Beverly Tucker Kimbrough 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Bright, Robert Southall, 1872-1947 1
Bundles for Britain, Inc 1
Casey, Carlton 1
Cole Family 1
Cole, Henry Denison, 1856-1938 1
Coleman family 1
College of William and Mary. 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 1
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 1
Goodrich, E. E., (Mrs.) 1
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 1
Green, Paul, 1894-1981 1
Green, Paul, 1894-1981. Common Glory 1
Guy family 1
Guy family. 1
Guy, Gladys Elizabeth Bennett 1
Guy, William George 1
Jamestown Corporation 1
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 1
Kimbrough, Janet C 1
Kimbrough, Janet C. (Janet Coleman) 1
Kimbrough, Raymond, 1889-1993 1
Lewis, Cotesworth P. 1
Literary Societies--Philomathean Literary Society 1
Marshall, John, Pageant (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
McGiffert, Genevieve 1
McGuffin, Stephen 1
Nicholson High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Nott, Edward (Governor) 1
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Roberts, William Thomas 1
Rockefeller, Abby Greene Aldrich 1
Rockefeller, John D. (John Davison), 1874-1960 1
Rockefeller, Jr., John D. (Davison), 1874-1960 1
Sons of the American Revolution 1
The Model School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 1
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 1
University of Virginia 1
Verkuil, Paul R 1
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 1
Washington, Booker T., 1856-1915 1
Williams, Lloyd H. (Williams, Lloyd Haynes), 1905-1959 1
Williams, Ruth Elizabeth 1
Williamsburg Community Council (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Female Institute (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Reunion 1
Williamsburg Reunion (Va.) 1
Woman's Club of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
+ ∧ less