Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 28

Art Song of Williamsburg Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.58
Scope and Contents This collection contains the records and paperwork related to Art Song of Williamsburg.  This organization existed from 2000 through 2007 and was responsible for an average of three concerts a year.  Their records include papers relating to their creation and termination, financial and tax records, biographies and contracts for the artists they featured, as well as inter-organizational correspondence between board members.  Genevieve McGiffert was the founder and features prominently in the...
Dates: 2000-2007

Kenneth E. Brigham Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.412
Scope and Contents

Papers of Kenneth E. Brigham (1921-1970) of Newport News, Virginia, consisting of correspondence, photographs and ephemera.

Dates: 1941-1975; Majority of material found in 1960-1975

Brown Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00025
Scope and Contents This accession contains letters, receipts, sermons, legal documents and other material related to the Brown family of Madison and Schoharie Counties in New York, and Fairfax County, Virginia. The bulk of the papers concern clergymen farmers Rev. Jesse Brown and his sons, the Rev. Joseph Brown and the Rev. Augustus Americus Brown. Most of the collection is made up of ephemera related to the Brown's farm, including the buying and selling of items for the family, selling timber from their land,...
Dates: 1836-1908

Caley Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.192
Scope and Contents The collection is mostly personal correspondence and diaries, chiefly 1895-1968, collected and written by Mary Davidson Caley, her two daughters, Maybelle Caley Barker and Hilda Caley Noble, and Hilda’s daughter, Nadine Noble Sondergard. The Caley’s were white middle class women who lived in Sierra Madre, California for the majority of their lives.  The personal letters and diaries of three generations of women contain topics related to the household operations, Spanish Flu 1918, farm...
Dates: circa 1895-1968

Carlton Casey Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1999.48
Scope and Contents

Papers of Carlton Casey.

The inventory is a guide to Mss. Acc. 1999.48 which is the postcard collection documenting pre-restoration Williamsburg, restored Williamsburg, Jamestown, the College of William and Mary, the University of Virginia, and cities, towns, and holidays in Virginia. Also includes clippings, articles, photographs, programs, and souvenir publications.

Additions to the collection are described individually.

Dates: 1894-1999

Waverly M. Cole Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.176
Scope and Contents

This collection contains photographs, letters, and ephemera related to the life and career of Dr. Waverly M. Cole, an anesthesiologist from Richmond, Virginia. Included in the papers are awards and school diplomas, photographs of Cole while a student at the College of William and Mary and the Medical College of Virginia (MCV), and letters written to Human Rights organizations.

Dates: circa 1935-2007

Edward C. Dyer Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2014.024
Scope and Contents This collection contains correspondence, ephemera, and financial documents related to Edward C. Dyer's business as an auctioneer and importer of cigars (segars) from Havana, Cuba. The majority of the documents are dated between 1853-1865 with the full scope of the collection ranging from 1808-1897. The bulk of the letters were written by John Benjamin Belt, a cigar exporter in Havana, detailing the Cuban import-export cigar trade including suppliers, brands, quality of various tobacco...
Dates: 1808-1897 and undated; Majority of material found in 1853-1865

Griswold Gardening Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.209
Scope and Contents Collection of printed material mostly concerning the Rachel McMasters Miller Hunt Botanical Library at the Carnegie Institute of Technology in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Includes some printed material on the Pittsburgh Bibliophiles. Brochures, programs and books: Dedication of the Rachel McMasters Miller Hunt Botanical Library, part of the Hunt Library, 1961. On large brochure and two small ones. Guide to the Ananson Exhibition, Hunt Botanical Library at...
Dates: 1961-1965

Hamilton Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.139
Scope and Contents

Papers pertaining to the Hamilton Family of Norge, James City County, Virginia and related families. Among the formats included are diaries, scrapbooks,  correspondence, Norge High School records, church records, photographs, slides, CD-Roms, certificates, financial records, a Langley Air Force base photo album, and news clippings and ephemera. Mss. Acc. 2009.139 and 2011.520.

Dates: 1892-2003; Majority of material found in 1930-2003

John Turner Henley Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 H39
Scope and Contents Chiefly letters, 1916-1921, received by John Turner Henley, while a student at the College of William and Mary and the University of Virginia Law School. The letters are from female and male friends from Williamsburg, The College of William and Mary, and The University of Virginia.  They write about their studies, student life, fraternity activities, work, and social life.  Other correspondents include Turner Henley's father, Novell L. Henley, Virginia Congressman and Williamsburg, Virginia...
Dates: 1857-1921; Majority of material found in 1918-1921

Helen M. Hoskins Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2013.226
Scope and Contents The collection contains correspondence, receipts, poems, and other material concerning Helen M. Hoskins and her family of Sheffield, Massachusetts. Most of the correspondence is between Helen and her mother, Sabra Hoskins, but also includes letters written by Helen's husband, H.T. Wheeler, her son, Horace Wheeler, siblings, numerous cousins, and friends. Included in the collection are poems, compositions, and other ephemera related to Helen's time as a teacher at female academies in...
Dates: 1839-1868; Majority of material found in 1845-1860

Ivy House Restaurant Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.51
Scope and Contents

The records of the Ivy House Restaurant in Williamsburg, Virginia include business records, guest registers, customer and business correspondence, legal documents, and a variety of ephemera from the local business including menus. This mid-20th century collection documents the history of this restaurant during a time when Williamsburg was going through changes and growth in the tourism industry.

Dates: 1906-1985; Majority of material found in 1948-1960

Owen G. Jarboe Scrapbooks

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.145
Scope and Contents The following description was excerpted from a note by the seller: "Two scrapbooks, 1928-1948, of  Owen Jarboe, General Traffic Supervisor of the Associated Telephone Co. and later of the US Army Signal Corps.  Included are newspaper clippings, greeting cards, correspondence and photographs. There are original Signal Corp photographs that are duplicated in magazine articles, some of which include Owen Jarboe, who also wrote some of the articles.  There are also Rotarian items in the books...
Dates: 1928-1948

Helen L. Johnson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.305
Scope and Contents

Papers of Helen L. Johnson, circa 1925-1940, covering her activities with the Methodist Episcopal Church Woman's Home Missionary Society. Materials include letters addressed to Johnson, photographs, programs, fliers, prayers and religious songs and other ephemera of a religious nature. Geographic areas covered include Ohio, Pennsylvania, Nebraska, and New York State.

Dates: 1900-1982; Majority of material found in 1925-1940

Norman E. Lau Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2015.076
Scope and Contents The bulk of this collection consists of letters to and from Norman E. Lau, who served as an aviation metalsmith for the U.S. Navy during World War II, and his family. The correspondence was written before and after the war, and concern Lau's search for a job in Chicago during the Depression, his training, his time spent overseas during the war stationed in the Philippines, and his life after the war in California. Many of the letters were written to or by his wife, "Kitty." Correspondence...
Dates: 1929-1950

Manuscripts - People and Family Names

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.2 Man3a
Scope and Contents

An artificial collection of papers created from material acquired during the 1930's and 1940's.  Mostly letters, financial records, published material and official records of individuals in Virginia and elsewhere.  Includes documents and signatures of well known people, such as Benjamin Harrison, John Randolph and Franklin D. Roosevelt.

Dates: 1621-1949; Majority of material found in 1800's

Mozelle DeVonne McNeil Papers, circa 1940-1960

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.594
Scope and Contents

Papers, circa 1940s-1960s, of Mozelle DeVonne McNeil, includes correspondence, photographs, diaries, educational records, newspaper and magazine clippings, and other ephemera. These papers represent a view of everyday life in mid-twentieth century America from the perspective of a soldier's wife.

Dates: circa 1940-1960

Barton Myers Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2010.306
Scope and Contents

Papers of and relating to Barton Myers (1853-1927) and the Myers house in Norfolk, Virginia. Included are photographs, letters, sketches of  the house and floor plans, biographical and genealogical notes, magazines and printed ephemera and a limited edition of the 1907 Jamestown Tercentennial Exposition book.

Dates: 1878-1925 and undated

Person Family papers

 Collection
Identifier: MSS ACC 2005.56
Scope and Contents The collection contains papers ranging in date from 1872 to 2002 documenting the Person family. Materials includes account books including those of both Charles Person and William Person, Sr. Other papers and photographsd illustrate family life in the city of Williamsburg, Virginia in the early-to-mid 1900s. Artifacts, including fans, Williamsburg Laundry thermometer and a charcoal drawing of a residence are also included.Box 5 (oversize) includes material from the addition...
Dates: Circa 1872-2002

S. Cole Bradley Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00024
Scope and Contents

The collection consists of letters, ephemera, and original art work created by S. Cole Bradley while stationed in the Philippines as a staff sergeant in the United States Air Force during World War II. The bulk of the letters are addressed to Eudora Lampman, whom he would later marry. The sketches are done in pencil as well as pen and ink with watercolors. The drawings depict everyday military life in the Philippines including ships, landscapes, and servicemen at work and leisure.

Dates: circa 1941-1945, 1991-1994

S. F. (Bill) Royall, Jr. papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.351
Scope and Contents

The papers of S.F. Bill Royall, Jr. contain a variety of personal material and ephemera, much of it related to Williamsburg, Virginia. The collection includes samples of printing from Bill Royall's press relating to Williamsburg organizations and events such as tags, calendars, posters, programs, stickers, flyers, bulletins and other items.

Dates: 1883-1979

Marie Katherine and Oliver E. Seegelken papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00389
Scope and Contents The papers of Marie Katherine and Oliver Seegelken consist of a 1934 diary of the couple's South American sea voyage kept by Marie Seegelken, and of love letters between husband and wife, 1918, 1943, and undated. During WWI, Oliver Seegelken served in the USNRF (United States Naval Reserve Force) in San Pedro, California.The diary is filled not only with an account of each day, but with hand-drawn illustrations of passengers, crew, and ports.  Marie Seegelken also wrote vignettes...
Dates: 1918-1943; Majority of material found in 1934

Denise Sellers Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.168
Scope and Contents

Papers, circa late 1960s- early 1970s, of Denise Trasatti Sellers while a student at the College of William & Mary. Includes class material, letters from the College, postcards, Greek life publications, orientation guides, registration guides, academic requirements, tuition information, and other related material.

Dates: circa 1968-1972; Majority of material found in 1969-1970

Rodney B. Taylor Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00001
Scope and Contents Consists of correspondence, printed matter, monographs, ephemera, photographs, and photo negatives relating to Virginia history, with an emphasis on Jamestown. There is also material related to the Matthew Whaley School in Williamsburg, Virginia, and material relating to Taylor's involvement in the Sons of the American Revolution and the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities. Includes materials related to Lady Astor, Queen Elizabeth's 1957 visit to Jamestown, and...
Dates: 1868-2007; Majority of material found in 1939-2000

Thomas L. Williams collection

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00254
Scope and Contents

The collection includes photographs, negatives, slides, film, postcards, ephemera, correspondence and artifacts belonging to Thomas L. Williams, photographer for William & Mary for 35 years. He was also a photographer for Camp Peary and Colonial Williamsburg prior to working for William & Mary.

Dates: Circa 1940-1990

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Printed ephemera X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 16
Photographs 13
Letters (correspondence) 12
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 7
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 6
∨ more
Diaries 5
Programs 5
Financial records 4
Scrapbooks 4
College of William and Mary--Students 3
Legal documents 3
Pamphlets 3
Receipts (financial records) 3
Slides (photographs) 3
Account books 2
Clippings (information artifacts) 2
Ledgers (Accounting) 2
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Medical practice--Virginia--History 2
Menus 2
Newspapers 2
Playbills 2
Postcards 2
Publications 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 2
Women--Diaries 2
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 2
World War, 1939-1945 2
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 2
African Americans--Religion 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agriculture--History--19th century 1
Almanacs 1
Anesthesiologists--United States 1
Announcements 1
Apprenticeship programs--Virginia 1
Architecture, Domestic--Virginia 1
Art (sketches) 1
Artifacts 1
Auctioneers--Washington (D.C.) 1
Booklets 1
Books 1
California--History--1850-1950 1
California--Social life and customs 1
Card games (game sets) 1
Catalogs 1
Church records 1
Clubs--United States--Minutes 1
College of William and Mary--Maps, Pictorial 1
Colonial Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Colonial Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.)--Maps, Pictorial 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 1
Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Cookery--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Cotton trade--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Cuba--Description and travel 1
Cuba--History--19th Century 1
DVDs 1
Debt 1
Decedents' estates 1
Deeds 1
Diplomas 1
Dogs 1
Dogs--Pictorial works 1
Drawings (visual works) 1
Dyes and dyeing 1
El Salvador--Description and travel 1
Farm life--New York (State) 1
Finances 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Gardening Literary collections. 1
Goochland County (Va.) 1
Goochland County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Greeting cards 1
Guatemala--Description and travel 1
Guestbooks 1
Hampton (Va.)--History--19th century 1
High school students--United States--Social life and customs--20th century 1
Honduras--Description and travel 1
Horses--Virginia 1
Horticultural literature 1
Horticulture 1
Hymns 1
Insurance, Fire--Virginia--History 1
James City County (Va.)--History 1
James City County (Va.)--Tercentenary 1
Jamestown (Va.) 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Jamestown (Va.)--Photographs 1
Jefferson County (W.Va.)--History--18th century 1
Jefferson County (W.Va.)--History--19th century 1
Jews--United States--Archival resources 1
Jews--United States--Genealogy 1
Kingdom of the Two Sicilies 1
Korean War, 1950-1953 1
Latin America--Description and travel 1
Lectures 1
Logging--Virginia 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 26
Norwegian 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
Undetermined 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 3
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 2
United States. Army. Signal Corps 2
University of Virginia 2
∨ more
Allison White and Company 1
Art Song of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities 1
Belt, John Benjamin 1
Bowers, Rosina 1
Brigham, Kenneth E., 1921-1970 1
Caley family 1
Casey, Carlton 1
Centenary Church 1
Clark, Barbara 1
Collins, Grace Shipley 1
Dyer, Edward C. 1
Exchange Bank of Virginia 1
Forrest Family 1
Fraternities--Social--Kappa Sigma 1
Grace Line 1
Hamilton family 1
Hamilton, Frances H., 1928-2008 1
Henley, John Turner, 1900-1974 1
Hilda Caley Noble, 1917-1968 1
Hoskins, Helen M. 1
Ivy House Restaurant (Williamsburg, VA) 1
Johnson, Helen L. 1
Lampman, Eudora Grace 1
Lau, Norman E., 1915-1999 1
Literary Societies--Philomathean Literary Society 1
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 1
Marshall, John, Pageant (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Mary Davidson Caley, 1895-1962 1
Maybelle Caley Barker, 1897-1968 1
McGiffert, Genevieve 1
McNeil, Mozelle DeVonne, 1934- 1
Methodist Episcopal church. Woman's home missionary society 1
Myers family 1
Myers, Barton, 1853-1927 1
Nadine Noble Sondergard (1952-1967), 1952-1967 1
Nicholson High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Pittsburgh Bibliophiles (Society) 1
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Rachel McMasters Miller Hunt Botanical Library 1
Rutledge, David 1
Rutledge, Emily 1
Seegelken, Marie Katherine 1
Seegelken, Oliver 1
Sellers, Denise Trasatti 1
Taylor, Rodney B. 1
Titanic (Steamship) 1
Trice family. 1
Tuskegee Normal and Industrial Institute 1
Valentine, Edward Virginius, 1838-1930 1
West, Francis 1
West, John 1
Williams, Thomas L. 1
Williamsburg Reunion (Va.) 1
Woman's Christian Temperance Union (Ft. Smith, Arkansas) 1
Woman's National Christian Temperance Union 1
+ ∧ less