Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 51 - 75 of 124

Samuel Henley Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.023
Scope and Contents Collection includes the Henley-Horrocks Inventory of books received by the College December 8, 1772, a letter from Thomas Jefferson to Henley (June 9, 1778) concerning Henley's books left in storage at the College of William and Mary (also includes notes by James Madison), a letter dated December 14, 1774 from Henley to the Reverend Dr. Percy, Northumberland House, London, in which Henley laments the actions of the patriots, and a letter dated October 1804 Henley to T.J. Mathias, Esq. of...

Information Resources Study Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 235
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of an IBM analysis of the College of William and Mary's computer needs in 1975.

Institute of Inter-American Affairs Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 238
Scope and Contents

This collection contains schedules from the Third and Fourth Annual Conferences on Inter-American Affairs. The conferences were sponsored by the College of William and Mary in cooperation with the Office of the Coordinator of Inter-American Affairs, located in Washington, DC. The conferences were held sometime in the 1930's. The schedules include the speakers at the conferences.

Institute of International Affairs Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 239
Scope and Contents

This collection includes invitations and schedule for conferences on international affairs held at the College of William and Mary circa 1931-1932.

Institute of Law, Government, and Citizenship Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 240
Scope and Contents

This collection includes brochures for the conference "Building Political Leadership" held at the College of William and Mary in 1960.

Institute on the Teaching of Latin Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 241
Scope and Contents

This collection contains booklets describing the summer institute classes held at the College of William and Mary. From 1936 to 1938, the name of the institute was changed twice, from the Institute on the Teaching of Foreign language in 1936, to the Institute for Teaching of Latin in 1938. In 1971, they changed their name again and became the Institute in Latin and the Humanities.

Intercollegiate Debate Council Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 243
Scope and Contents

This collection contains fliers to announce debates at the College of William and Mary. Also included is a booklet for the Marshall-Wythe Debate Tournament.

More digital material related to The William & Mary Law School may be found in the William & Mary Law School Repository"

Office of Internal Audit Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 244
Scope and Contents

This collection includes a 1988 Management Improvement Proposal by the Office of Internal Audits at the College of William and Mary.

James Semple's Views on Promoting the Good of the College

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.117
Scope and Contents On July 6, 1825, William & Mary law professor, James Semple, submitted his views on how to promote the good of the College to Board of Visitors member and alumnus John Tyler. He's responding to what appears to be a call by the Board of Visitors to the faculty to offer suggestions for how to improve the state of the school and bring it back to its "former standing." His views are submitted in draft form and include strikeouts and changes he made. He suggests ending the term in early...

Jamestown Celebration Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 247
Scope and Contents

The collection includes fliers, invitations, and booklets from the Jamestown Celebrations in 1957 and 2007.  The collection contains a scrapbook compiled by the staff of the Virginia 350th Anniversary Commission for College of William and Mary President Alvin Duke Chandler of photographs, invitations, and programs and material provided to participants of the World Forum on the Future of Democracy (2007).

John B. Weston Pledge to Teach Fulfillment Form

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.274
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of one form, completed by John B. Weston, reporting how he fulfilled his pledge to the State Male Normal College and William & Mary to teach.

Pledges such as this were required of Virginia students who attended William and Mary receiving financial assistance with the understanding they would teach in Virginia upon graduation.

John Marshall Pageant Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 249
Scope and Contents

This collection contains a souvenir program from a "Community Celebration and John Marshall Pageant."  This was a joint venture between the College of William and Mary as well as the Churches and Civic Organizations of Williamsburg.

John S. Davison Progress Report

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.282
Scope and Contents

Progress report of William & Mary student John S. Davison. The report is a typeset form completed in hand by W&M faculty member Ferdinand S. Campbell.

John W. Eppes Permission to Board Off-Campus

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.251
Scope and Contents

This note was written by John C. Page of Cumberland to William & Mary President Adam Empie, stating that Mrs. Eppes gives her permission for her son, John W. Eppes, to board off-campus.

Hugh Jones Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.010
Scope and Contents

This collection includes biographical materials and photocopies of correspondence, manuscripts, and the inventory of Hugh Jones' estate.  The collection also contains material written about Hugh Jones, including correspondence and  a copy of Grace Warren Landrum's 1943 article "Which Hugh Jones?"

W. Melville Jones Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.026
Scope and Contents This collection documents activities and events at the College of William and Mary during the career of W. Melville Jones. It is primarily composed of material collected in scrapbooks. The first scrapbook was digitized and the original returned to the donor. For the digital scans of the first scrapbook, the papers are arranged as a model of the original volume. The papers are arranged chronologically with two loose photographs without a date filed at the end. Identification...

William Gustavus Jones Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.008
Scope and Contents

This collection contains letters written by Jones; invitations to final celebrations of Phoenix and Philomathean literary societies; and notes for classes in Greek, Latin, German, French, and English, all dated after the time Jones was at William and Mary.

Alexander Kallos Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.011
Scope and Contents Acc. 1986.22: This collection contains files dealing primarily with Professor Kallos' role in special events like commencements, Charter Days, homecomings, convocations, etc. Box 1 contains materials on Charter Days, convocations, and graduation ceremonies. Box 2 contains materials on graduation ceremonies and homecomings. Box 3 contains materials on inaugurations and the dedication of Phi Beta Kappa Memorial Hall.Acc. 2008.145 includes papers and articles from the career of...

A. Edwin Kendrew Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01234
Scope and Contents

Pamphlets and brochures from Colonial Williamsburg, plus various invitations and programs for Williamsburg area events.

Land Indenture between Thomas Jones and the College of William & Mary

 Collection
Identifier: UA 383
Scope and Contents

Land indenture between Thomas Jones and the College of William & Mary, dated 1723. The indenture covers a tract of land in Prince George and Surry Counties. The revenue from this land was to be used for maintaining and educating scholars at the College.

Land Indenture between William Stith and the College of William & Mary

 Collection
Identifier: UA 382
Scope and Contents

Indenture between William Stith and the College of William & Mary, covering two lots, numbers 314 and 315, in the City of Williamsburg. Dated May 4, 1738.

Robert Hunt Land Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.012
Scope and Contents

This collection contains materials relating to Robert Hunt Land's work on the history of the College of William and Mary. It includes a published description of Land's proposed history of the college, notes and correspondence about the proposed history, and biographical information about alumni (1814-1881). It also contains correspondence between Herbert Ganter, Earl Gregg Swem, and Robert Hunt Land about Ganter's research on William and Mary at the Library of Congress.

Learning Odysseys Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 374
Scope and Contents

Contains subject files from programs conducted by Learning Odysseys for the 2012-2013 fiscal year. Also included are negatives and slides of William and Mary buildings and Colonial Williamsburg.

Mason E. Lee Scholarship and Attendance Report, 1906 December 21

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.279
Scope and Contents

Scholarship and attendance report for Mason E. Lee. It provides his class grade (ex. fair, good) for different classes as well as a remark by and signature of H. L. Bridges.

Charles Post McCurdy, Jr. Papers, 1942-1956

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.066
Scope and Contents

This collection contains correspondence and other material of Charles P. McCurdy about the election of John Edwin Pomfret as President in 1942, the football scandal of 1951, and development of graduate and professional programs at the college in 1955.

Filtered By

  • Names: College of William and Mary. X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
College of William and Mary--Students 28
Correspondence 27
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 26
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 21
Reports 15
∨ more
Fliers (printed matter) 12
Minutes 12
Photographs 11
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 10
Scrapbooks 8
Booklets 7
Invitations 7
Memorandums 7
Pamphlets 7
Programs 7
Charter Day 6
Announcements 5
Newsletters 5
Notebooks 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 5
College of William and Mary Anniversaries, etc 4
Financial records 4
Graduation (School) 4
Newspapers 4
Agendas (administrative records) 3
Athletics 3
Buttons (information artifacts) 3
Certificates 3
Clippings (information artifacts) 3
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 3
College of William and Mary--History--17th century 3
College of William and Mary--History--21st century 3
College of William and Mary--Presidents 3
Fundraising campaigns 3
Homecoming 3
Manuscripts (document genre) 3
Printed ephemera 3
Receipts (financial records) 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 3
World War, 1939-1945 3
Athletics--Football--Scandal of 1951 2
Awards and scholarships 2
Banners 2
Buildings and Grounds 2
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 2
Diplomas 2
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 2
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 2
Essays 2
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Jamestown Festival (1957) 2
Maps 2
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Plays (document genre) 2
Registration instructions and schedules 2
Report cards 2
Universities and Colleges--Finance 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 2
Women college students 2
Women--Education--Virginia--History 2
Wren Building (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Abolitionists--Periodicals 1
Advertising 1
African Americans--Education 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg--History 1
Albums 1
Alumni and Alumnae 1
American Literature--20th century--Periodicals 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
American poetry--19th century 1
Anniversary Celebration--1968 1
Apprentices--United States--History 1
Apprenticeship programs--Virginia 1
Athletics--Football 1
Authors, English 1
Awards and Scholarships--Jones, Tiberius Gracchus, Prize 1
Baptists--Virginia--History 1
Beanie cap 1
Blueprints (reprographic copies) 1
Broadsides 1
Buildings and Grounds--Jefferson Hall 1
Buildings and Grounds--Phi Beta Kappa Hall (1957) 1
Buildings and Grounds--Tucker Hall 1
COVID-19 (Disease) 1
Cartoons 1
Catalogs 1
Chaplains, Military--United States--20th century 1
Charter 1
Charter Day--1968 1
Church bulletins 1
Class materials 1
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
College campuses -- Virginia 1
College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
College of William and Mary--Students--Sanitary Affairs 1
College sports--United States--History--20th century 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 1
Commencement--1935 1
∧ less
 
Language
French 1
Greek, Ancient (to 1453) 1
Hebrew 1
Latin 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 28
College of William and Mary 19
State Male Normal College of Virginia 13
College of William and Mary--Faculty 10
College of William and Mary. School of Education 8
∨ more
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 6
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors. 5
Office of the President 5
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 4
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 4
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Mathematics 3
Chandler, Alvin Duke 2
Chandler, J. A. C. (Julian Alvin Carroll), 1872-1934 2
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 2
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 2
Elderhostel 2
Empie, Adam, 1785-1860 2
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 2
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 2
Landrum, Grace Warren, 1876-1951 2
Mary II, Queen of England, 1662-1694 2
Office of the Vice President for Administration 2
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 2
Pollard, John Garland, 1871-1937 2
Rogers, William Barton, 1804-1882 2
Smith, John Augustine, 1782-1865 2
Society of the Alumni 2
Stewart, Ferdinand Stewart Campbell 2
Sullivan, Timothy J. 2
Swem Library 2
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 2
Verkuil, Paul R 2
Virginia Institute of Marine Science 2
William III, King of England, 1650-1702 2
William and Mary Quarterly 2
American Association of University Women 1
American Red Cross 1
Bagby, George William, 1828-1883 1
Baird, Solon Lee 1
Barksdale, Martha, 1900-1974 1
Baytop family 1
Belk, George Washington, III 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Birckhead, Edward Francis 1
Bishop James Madison Society 1
Blair, James, 1656-1743 1
Blair, John, 1732-1800 1
Board of Supervisors of James City County (Va.) 1
Bolling, Maurice Landon 1
Boy Scouts of America. 1
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 1
Calkins, Emily Eleanor 1
Camp Peary (Va.) 1
Catron, Louis E. 1
Childress, Cecil Marcia 1
City Council of Williamsburg (Va.) 1
College of William and Mary. Auxiliary Services 1
College of William and Mary. College Women's Club 1
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 1
College of William and Mary. Committee on Degrees 1
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Chemistry 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Government 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Home Economics 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
College of William and Mary. Elderhostel. 1
College of William and Mary. Facilities Management Department 1
College of William and Mary. General Cooperative Committee 1
College of William and Mary. Learning Odysseys. 1
College of William and Mary. Office of Academic Advising 1
College of William and Mary. Office of University Development 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the Bursar. 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the Registrar 1
College of William and Mary. Parking Services 1
College of William and Mary. University Relations. 1
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 1
College of William and Mary. Women Students' Cooperative Government Association 1
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 1
Croghan, John, 1790-1849 1
Democratic Party (U.S.) 1
Dennis, Catherine 1
Dept. of Parking Services 1
Dew, Thomas R. (Thomas Roderick), 1802-1846 1
Digges, Dudley 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 1
Elizabeth II, Queen of Great Britain, 1926- 1
Episcopal Church 1
Eppes, John W. 1
Eppes, Peter 1
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 1
Faculty--Meetings 1
Forum, The 1
Garrett, Robert M., 1807-1885 1
Gates, Robert Michael, 1943- 1
Gibson, Edmund, Bp. of London, 1669-1748 1
Godson, Susan H. (Godson, Susan Hall), d. 2013 1
Gregg, G. 1
∧ less