Hugh Jones Collection
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
This collection includes biographical materials and photocopies of correspondence, manuscripts, and the inventory of Hugh Jones' estate. The collection also contains material written about Hugh Jones, including correspondence and a copy of Grace Warren Landrum's 1943 article "Which Hugh Jones?"
Dates
- Creation: circa 1716-1943
Creator
- Jones, Hugh, 1669-1760 (Person)
- Landrum, Grace Warren, 1876-1951 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Biographical Information:
Hugh Jones was a faculty member at the College of William and Mary in 1716 and 1717.
Extent
0.20 Linear Feet
Physical Characteristics or Technical Requirements:
When available, microfilm, photocopies, digital surrogates, or other reproductions must be used in place of original documents.
Acquisition Information:
Materials donated by Richard L. Morton on 08/10/1956 and 10/02/1958.
Subject
- College of William and Mary. (Organization)
Genre / Form
- Title
- Guide to the Hugh Jones Collection
- Author
- Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
- Date
- 2007-04-12
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository